GPGT - Singapore's outsized defence spending

tripleme

Bar chart of Military expenditure per capita in 2023 (US$) showing Singapore’s outsized defence spending

https://www.ft.com/content/a8ff87ff-a99f-4b7b-9ef8-682b287b4b8b

Irenicus91

Actually already got so many underpaid conscripts, the cost should be reduced drastically already what.

How come still so high?

dambio

Army regulars pay r high. Plus all those high tech machinery ain't cheap either.

Orionz

Jin song mens... meanwhile gov whole day blame spending on aging population.
gaslighting shiatizens day n night into paying ever higher gst, coe, hdb, etc.

kebinu

Glad that we have such budget to spend on national defense. If not, we would have been pushed around a lot.

Chisaigyu

Reservist is a bladdy waste of money. 60% of the time waiting for things to happen or sleeping in bunk

wwenze

Actually already got so many underpaid conscripts, the cost should be reduced drastically already what.

How come still so high?
USA spends about half on salaries and benefits

Singapore spends less than 5%?

You divide 5% by 2 also not much difference

magna_strike

It's not like with that kind of power we can easily do things our way. Covid time wanna shut off India route to sg also so difficult.

Mechafanboy

Alot of that money is funnelled to the local defense industry, I suppose... but I am not seeing any innovations turned into actual marketable / sellable products.

Chisaigyu

Ok lah. Pay you to sleep, mai complain.

Or you rather something happen so you can get deployed to see action?
It's good, get paid to do nothing! But coming purely from a defence spending point of view it's not optimal hahaa

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.