GPGT - Singapore's outsized defence spending

Nainai

I agree with your statement above on "deterrence and defence" but your last statement (all of us would be holding malaysian or Indonesian passports by now.) is too exaggerating lah.
Exaggerating? Both Indonesia and Malaysia will be at our door step if we are not what we are interm of military. Only fools think they are friend.

Nainai

I am well aware of the history but the situation today is quite different from the past. Back then, Singapore's dependence on Malaysia for water was a critical vulnerability and LKY's assertive stance was aimed at safeguarding the country's survival.

However, times have changed. Singapore has invested heavily in water self-sufficiency, with technologies like desalination and NEWater, reducing the reliance on external sources. Additionally, the global political environment, the development of international law, and diplomatic relations make military action over such disputes highly unlikely today.

While the historical threats were real and understandable in that context, the idea of launching an attack now over water supply is highly unlikely scenario. is it not? :ROFLMAO:

Diplomacy, international pressure, and legal mechanisms would come into play before anything escalated to that level.
Diplomacy start will.a strong military. No one will talk to you if you are weak.

Countries around us are not the most friendly.

Elnoxv

Exaggerating? Both Indonesia and Malaysia will be at our door step if we are not what we are interm of military. Only fools think they are friend.
if you were talking about the past where Singapore didn’t have much capability to fend themselves and the time where international laws were not well established, that’s not an exaggeration.

Time has changed, such things are unlikely to happen today. :)

Nainai

if you were talking about the past where Singapore didn’t have much capability to fend themselves and the time where international laws were not well established, that’s not an exaggeration.

Time has changed, such things are unlikely to happen today. :)
You have said it yourself "if you were talking about the past where Singapore didn’t have much capability to fend themselves"

you think this capability is free? Where is this capability going to come from if not our military strength?

You really think our neighbours are peace loving folks?

Elnoxv

You have said it yourself "if you were talking about the past where Singapore didn’t have much capability to fend themselves"

you think this capability is free? Where is this capability going to come from if not our military strength?

You really think our neighbours are peace loving folks?
Hold up, dude. Don’t put words in my mouth. I didn’t say these capabilities is free. 😂

Did I ever say we don’t spend on military?

Our current neighbours have sensible leaders unlike in the past. Do you see them invade each other in the past 40 years?

Nainai

Hold up, dude. Don’t put words in my mouth. I didn’t say these capabilities is free. 😂

Did I ever say we don’t spend on military?

Our current neighbours have sensible leaders unlike in the past. Do you see them invade each other in the past 40 years?
Sorry if I misplace your words. But below...

I hope you are joking....

"Our current neighbours have sensible leaders unlike in the past. Do you see them invade each other in the past 40 years?"

Elnoxv

Sorry if I misplace your words. But below...

I hope you are joking....

"Our current neighbours have sensible leaders unlike in the past. Do you see them invade each other in the past 40 years?"
No, I am not joking. IMO, MY may give us some troubles over some disputes ( water agreement) but we are still on good terms with them so far.

And to be honest, the water agreement signed was kinda unfair in terms of the compensation ( inflation) so it’s not surprising that they made a noise.

Indonesia is the same too, they rely heavily on SG for investment and aid in their national development so there really is no point in invading us.

Just to name a few example.

Nainai

No, I am not joking. IMO, MY may give us some troubles over some disputes ( water agreement) but we are still on good terms with them so far.

And to be honest, the water agreement signed was kinda unfair in terms of the compensation ( inflation) so it’s not surprising that they made a noise.

Indonesia is the same too, they rely heavily on SG for investment and aid in their national development so there really is no point in invading us.

And you seriously think your good neighbours will negotiate and talk about the water agreement if SG is weak and dun have a serious arm force?

All relationships with our immediate neighbours are all based on our strong arm force and not some sensible neighbours leader. They will show their fang the moment they know Singapore is weak.

TopGun

Let's not forget that the cost of purchasing treated water from SG remains unchanged as well.

terriblee

How much of these goes into salary allowances and how much is to buy equipments defence minister salary already million

NOfLine

SAF has built some amazing capabilities with the outsize budgets.
Some IMHO is redundant - re-inventing the wheel w/o scale.
Others are quite unbelievably that it's within a small island's reach...like the Surface to Surface Missiles and it's derivatives.
Even now incredibly SAF are doing things with strategic reach! Like the MRV for below.

asymmetric

so much money collected by HDB for a 100+k unit for new flats, goes to where ar?

Omnia1

And you seriously think your good neighbours will negotiate and talk about the water agreement if SG is weak and dun have a serious arm force?

All relationships with our immediate neighbours are all based on our strong arm force and not some sensible neighbours leader. They will show their fang the moment they know Singapore is weak.
Agree. I'm not going to trust the security of Singapore to the hope that leaders of our neighbours are sensible, or the hope that XXX country will come to our aid when shxt hits the fan.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.