USA Stocks discussion - Part 3

stanlawj

I don't quite understand what you're talking about but it sounds....bullish?
Unfortunately, I have no moar bullets.
Will prob. close some positions to fund my holidays.
US govt agencies are fabricating their data to show US economy is fine.

stanlawj

What's coming after AI bubble?

Memory chips:
Massive increase in memory requirements everywhere not just in cloud but in edge-compute for on-device AI.

Electrical power generation:
Both EV charging and datacenters increase peak electrical power demand

d5dude

It's called "wall of worry".
Btw, all my positions are long, no shorts.

Oh I thought you must be turbo short since you always write stories about how American empire is going to collapse very soon.

d5dude

US govt agencies are fabricating their data to show US economy is fine.

Another conspiracy theory on titter. Gov statistics are rarely accurate on their first prints, these are estimates that will almost always be revised later, could be upwards or downwards. Even with revisions most statistics can never be totally accurate anyway because many of them rely on surveys. CPI and jobs are very good examples of this.

stanlawj

Another conspiracy theory on titter. Gov statistics are rarely accurate on their first prints, these are estimates that will almost always be revised later, could be upwards or downwards. Even with revisions most statistics can never be totally accurate anyway because many of them rely on surveys. CPI and jobs are very good examples of this.
Bingo!
I do not intend to buy and hold long term. My views are consistent with my portfolio management.

DevilPlate

Those people that don't mingle with the health and fitness crowd won't understand, which is fine. Thats how one makes money in stocks, by having more knowledge than others :cool:

I think a significant % of the higher SES health and fitness crowd do exercise because they want to look good (or at least, not look overweight), and getting comfortable but good looking attire is probably high on the list. If you exercise 4,5 times a week, you are actually going through quite a bit of apparel, and for that crowd, Nike gear is often part of the rotation.

After say, a 10km run with friends, you change out of your Nike running gear, and put on some sporty Lulu gear (if you are female), because you want to tell people you just exercised without tellling them, then go for breakfast and chat with friends. So thats 2 sets of athleisure clothing for 1 day of exercise. 😅

Those kiasu people who run in carbon plated supershoes, after the run, may also change into a 2nd pair of shoes for breakfast.
Wah sey…..me last time jog in the morning before work and during weekend evenings. Never need to simi change different sets of apparel sia. never into apparel brand….perhaps Singles/Dinks more into it?

Family man/women all cui one……everything is js work and kids :oops:

DevilPlate

u should really try decathlon shoes. they r very light and quite comfy for jogging. also cheap to replace when worn out.
My impression was heavy and uncomfortable like Bata Power shoes leh….maybe i go take 2nd look again….
My circle of boomers all wearing skechers :ROFLMAO:

I bought their cheap bags, cap, drifit attire etc….material wise so-so but cheap lor hahaha

oldchanggold

What's coming after AI bubble?

Memory chips:
Massive increase in memory requirements everywhere not just in cloud but in edge-compute for on-device AI.

Electrical power generation:
Both EV charging and datacenters increase peak electrical power demand

No wonder MU keep rising since the recent share buy-back event which finally grind the decline slower or to a stop. I'm holding this stock after assignment of my short put option few wks back. So good news in a way.

cosycatus

My impression was heavy and uncomfortable like Bata Power shoes leh….maybe i go take 2nd look again….
My circle of boomers all wearing skechers :ROFLMAO:

I bought their cheap bags, cap, drifit attire etc….material wise so-so but cheap lor hahaha
Decathlon cheaper range cannot wear for jogging one. Their higher end is value for money though.
For basic shoes, go Nike outlet at imm, buy 3 pairs got 30 percent off . The basic range at 40 to 50 bucks, after 30 percent off at 30 to 40 bucks each, way better than a decathlon at 30 bucks.

Decathlon t shirt and shorts quite good.
Always go for the basic range. 6.9 one.
Higher tier all 11 and above, not worth it liao just for some pattern.

d9_lives

Guys, NEVER cheap out on anything that separates you from the ground (tires, shoes, mattress etc).
Sometimes things are cheap for a reason.

Don't be penny wise pound foolish.

d9_lives

Wah sey…..me last time jog in the morning before work and during weekend evenings. Never need to simi change different sets of apparel sia. never into apparel brand….perhaps Singles/Dinks more into it?

Family man/women all cui one……everything is js work and kids :oops:

Some people don't mind to spend a bit more to feel and to look better.

Life is too short to be ugly and miserable.

When you've got it, it's only right to flaunt it 😄

twosix

Guys, dun believe expensive stuffs r the best. Dun be a sheep. Cheap can be good, eg some daiso stuff r cheap yet practical. Dun tell me rich cannot shop in daiso hor...

I sleep on a $6k simmons mattress, but that does not mean i need a $200 shoes when a $30 pair is good and comfy. Haha.

Why buy a stock at $140 when u can buy it at less than $100 and they r equally good. Nvda anyone?

Does warren buffet goes after material stuff? He still lives in his 66yr old house and drives an old car.

But big spenders, please continue to throw ur money into the economy. The world needs it to keep spinning.

cosycatus

Guys, dun believe expensive stuffs r the best. Dun be a sheep. Cheap can be good, eg some daiso stuff r cheap yet practical. Dun tell me rich cannot shop in daiso hor...

I sleep on a $6k simmons mattress, but that does not mean i need a $200 shoes when a $30 pair is good and comfy. Haha.

Why buy a stock at $140 when u can buy it at less than $100 and they r equally good. Nvda anyone?

Does warren buffet goes after material stuff? He still lives in his 66yr old house and drives an old car.

But big spenders, please continue to throw ur money into the economy. The world needs it to keep spinning.

Don't read too much into those warren buffet myths la.
I remember 20 years ago reading that he goes around his house to off the light switches to save electricity bills and wear cheap polo T. And I was like, what a nice rich man, so humble. As I grow older , I realise these are just a bunch of bull.

All these are just stories to 平民化 these uber rich. Like lee hsien long queue up to buy chicken wings and just nice got ST photographer take pic? Or Seng shiong boss go help out to stack tofu because employer sick ? Just nice ST photograph him pushing the cart and all smiley.

Come on man.

d9_lives

Don't read too much into those warren buffet myths la.
I remember 20 years ago reading that he goes around his house to off the light switches to save electricity bills and wear cheap polo T. And I was like, what a nice rich man, so humble. As I grow older , I realise these are just a bunch of bull.

All these are just stories to 平民化 these uber rich. Like lee hsien long queue up to buy chicken wings and just nice got ST photographer take pic? Or Seng shiong boss go help out to stack tofu because employer sick ? Just nice ST photograph him pushing the cart and all smiley.

Come on man.

Such publicity only work well for simpletons.
Don't burst his bubbles 😄

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.