USA Stocks discussion - Part 3

DevilPlate

Decathlon cheaper range cannot wear for jogging one. Their higher end is value for money though.
For basic shoes, go Nike outlet at imm, buy 3 pairs got 30 percent off . The basic range at 40 to 50 bucks, after 30 percent off at 30 to 40 bucks each, way better than a decathlon at 30 bucks.

Decathlon t shirt and shorts quite good.
Always go for the basic range. 6.9 one.
Higher tier all 11 and above, not worth it liao just for some pattern.
Higher end Deca running shoes how much?
Later i go beo beo

DevilPlate

Guys, dun believe expensive stuffs r the best. Dun be a sheep. Cheap can be good, eg some daiso stuff r cheap yet practical. Dun tell me rich cannot shop in daiso hor...

I sleep on a $6k simmons mattress, but that does not mean i need a $200 shoes when a $30 pair is good and comfy. Haha.

Why buy a stock at $140 when u can buy it at less than $100 and they r equally good. Nvda anyone?

Does warren buffet goes after material stuff? He still lives in his 66yr old house and drives an old car.

But big spenders, please continue to throw ur money into the economy. The world needs it to keep spinning.
wah sey u actually spent 6k simmons mattress but scrimp on $30 running shoes?
u say till deca shoes so good, later i mus go and try try

Me Dunlops, 4stars, KingKoil mattress can liao (their higher end ones tho) and spent $70-80 on skechers.

DevilPlate

Don't read too much into those warren buffet myths la.
I remember 20 years ago reading that he goes around his house to off the light switches to save electricity bills and wear cheap polo T. And I was like, what a nice rich man, so humble. As I grow older , I realise these are just a bunch of bull.

All these are just stories to 平民化 these uber rich. Like lee hsien long queue up to buy chicken wings and just nice got ST photographer take pic? Or Seng shiong boss go help out to stack tofu because employer sick ? Just nice ST photograph him pushing the cart and all smiley.

Come on man.
actually these uber rich also jin cham….so rich liao must pretend to be poor for publicity :ROFLMAO:

cosycatus

actually these uber rich also jin cham….so rich liao must pretend to be poor for publicity :ROFLMAO:

Sheng siong is the worse la I tell you.

Sumiko tan go interview him before. I attach the article here.
https://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/a-boss-who-walks-the-talk

Rolex? No la, my brother give me one
Bentley? No la, my brother give me one
Big house with gym and swimming pool. Useless la. I dun use.

Come on..
U pro U go donate your fortune away. Dun go donate those 30 or 50 bucks funeral money and go publicize it.

I have no issues with rich people acting rich.
No need come fake humility.

LWZ

Sheng siong is the worse la I tell you.

Sumiko tan go interview him before. I attach the article here.
https://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/a-boss-who-walks-the-talk

Rolex? No la, my brother give me one
Bentley? No la, my brother give me one
Big house with gym and swimming pool. Useless la. I dun use.

Come on..
U pro U go donate your fortune away. Dun go donate those 30 or 50 bucks funeral money and go publicize it.

I have no issues with rich people acting rich.
No need come fake humility.
he is just humble bragging

d9_lives

Guys, dun believe expensive stuffs r the best. Dun be a sheep. Cheap can be good, eg some daiso stuff r cheap yet practical. Dun tell me rich cannot shop in daiso hor...

I sleep on a $6k simmons mattress, but that does not mean i need a $200 shoes when a $30 pair is good and comfy. Haha.

Why buy a stock at $140 when u can buy it at less than $100 and they r equally good. Nvda anyone?

Does warren buffet goes after material stuff? He still lives in his 66yr old house and drives an old car.

But big spenders, please continue to throw ur money into the economy. The world needs it to keep spinning.

There're a few hundreds dol ikea too or seahorse too.
Simmons definitely thank you for your and other sheeps' 6k purchases.

limster

Guys, NEVER cheap out on anything that separates you from the ground (tires, shoes, mattress etc).
Sometimes things are cheap for a reason.

Don't be penny wise pound foolish.

I fully agree with this.
I have no problems paying a bit more than $30 for my running shoes.

If one cannot tell the difference in shock absorption between a $30 and $60 shoe, then I wonder if that person is actually running or just walking. 😅

I am very grateful that even though I am old and no longer IPPT eligible (cannot earn $200 every year), I am still able to run pain and injury-free.

yslvlys

wah sey u actually spent 6k simmons mattress but scrimp on $30 running shoes?
u say till deca shoes so good, later i mus go and try try

Me Dunlops, 4stars, KingKoil mattress can liao (their higher end ones tho) and spent $70-80 on skechers.
Wow me high end sea horse one 2k+ comfy enough but I think it's not a listed company. The major brands high end one all like similar comfort level.

d5dude

@d5dude
How about this? Are you going to discount this intel?

You make investment decisions based on a video of a tiny town thats in the middle of nowhere in America?

:LOL:

I think you will probably have the impression that China's economy is going to zero if you have watch some of the YT videos on China, its mostly sensationalized for views, nothing more.

DevilPlate

I fully agree with this.

If one cannot tell the difference in shock absorption between a $30 and $60 shoe, then I wonder if that person is actually running or just walking. 😅

I am very grateful that even though I am old and no longer IPPT eligible (cannot earn $200 every year), I am still able to run pain and injury-free.
Once u hit 50yo milestone, u will notice some physical changes....

hit 60yo jialat....here pain there pain....knee cap and lower backache common

Goto take supplement lolol

d9_lives

I fully agree with this.

Yep, for runners like you, the requirements are much higher.
Weight dist., feet, gait, foot strikes are to be analyzed for proper fitting.

For gym, I have infinity rn4 for treadmill day, metcon 9 for leg day, and yet to be delivered free metcon 6 for classes and everything else. You can tell what kind of feet that I have from my shoes 😆

Shoes are not just shoes.

Medical bills are much higher than money saved by buying a 30 dollar shoes.

sohguanh

As one ages cheap sport shoes really hurt feet. I go JPO buy Nike and at grand old age of near 50 finally wear one branded sports shoes. Really got difference. Since I also wear sports shoes to work I make full use of the monies paid for at least 5 days a week. But I buy off seasoned design aka clear stock odd sizes so can get at steeper discount.

CrashWire

Guys, NEVER cheap out on anything that separates you from the ground (tires, shoes, mattress etc).
Sometimes things are cheap for a reason.

Don't be penny wise pound foolish.
It's one thing to go for absolute cheap like some unknown Taobao brand.

It's another to be overpaying for luxury brands that don't even specialise in the thing they are putting their brand on.

d9_lives

It's one thing to go for absolute cheap like some unknown Taobao brand.

It's another to be overpaying for luxury brands that don't even specialise in the thing they are putting their brand on.

I understand the pros (experience, confidence, rarity, prestige, resale value, social, business deal etc) of luxury brands even though I don't have any.

I am just a simple man who consumes fewer but better.

Some people eat bad food, buy and use cheap low quality stuff because they're poor, don't have choices.
Unfortunately, it will cost them more.
Sam Vimes "Boots" theory of socioeconomic unfairness

And some people are just penny wise pound foolish.

limster

Some people eat bad food, buy and use cheap low quality stuff because they're poor, don't have choices.
Unfortunately, it will cost them more.
Sam Vimes "Boots" theory of socioeconomic unfairness

And some people are just penny wise pound foolish.

If can't afford, I understand, thats why I'm glad there are schools that I can support have programs to provide nutritious breakfast to children who are on assistance.

The penny wise pound foolish, its borderline like a mental condition that grows worse over time, because when some people get older, they get more rigid in their thinking, so if they already have negative behaviours, these are reinforced in old age.

In other words, if someone in their 40s is living an unhealthy lifestyle (bad diet, lack of exercise, BMI >22.9 etc), In their 50s and 60s, they will become more rigid and unlikely to change. So important to acquire 'good habits' while still 'not old', so you will continue practising them when you are 50+, 60+, etc.

But back to stocks, we are talking about relatively affordable consumer discretionary like Nike here not Prada. My view is that athleisure is still a growth market - as countries grow wealthier, there is more free time to exercise 😅 . Interestingly Hugo Boss is trying to break into this market and they sponsor some German athletes but they haven't made inroads because their prices are still too high...

ctan84

If can't afford, I understand, thats why I'm glad there are schools that I can support have programs to provide nutritious breakfast to children who are on assistance.
Straits Times Pocket Money Fund. Pls support, they really help alot of kids. Its the core charity that I suppork with my hard-earned dividend !!!!

Dividends Warrior

As one ages cheap sport shoes really hurt feet. I go JPO buy Nike and at grand old age of near 50 finally wear one branded sports shoes. Really got difference.
Yup, I also recently switched to max-cushioned shoes. Really more comfortable. Easy on my knees and ankles over long runs. Just bought the Asics Nimbus 26 at discounted price of $180. :giggle:

GVJxboraUAA0ZmV

GVJxbonaEAALJTR

limster

Yup, I also recently switched to max-cushioned shoes. Really more comfortable. Easy on my knees and ankles over long runs. Just bought the Asics Nimbus 26 at discounted price of $180. :giggle:
I bought my Nimbus 25 the previous model for $137 via the Asics official store in Lazada, as Lazada occasionally has pretty good sales. Look out for their 7-7, 8-8, 9-9 flash sales.:)

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.