Comparison of SIM only plans - Part 2

ragnarok95

Senior Moderator
Available from other telco. The reason why try Singtel free one month e-SIM trial is because you dont want to bind with contract, once you Singtel customer, you can instantly jump to the $20.37 recontract plan.

you shall try it out fast though.
I mean that sim plus can’t sign up if you port in from other telco right cos I didn’t see the port in number option.

So my route now is sign up for the free SingTel esim try out for 1 month then jump to this sim plus plan.

My SH contract ends at 12 sept.

obedwgy

I mean that sim plus can’t sign up if you port in from other telco right cos I didn’t see the port in number option.

So my route now is sign up for the free SingTel esim try out for 1 month then jump to this sim plus plan.

My SH contract ends at 12 sept.
Yes

ragnarok95

Senior Moderator
Thanks for the short cuts. So the esim trial, do i need to use near 1 month before requesting the sim plus or maybe like around 2 weeks in i can request liao?

xiaofan

First day on the recontract S$20.37 Singtel SIM Only with free 5G access for the full duration of the contract. Previously only three months of free 5G data access.

The initial impression is good using SingTel 5G with SA enabled.

Xiaomi Poco X4 GT phone (two year old mid-range Android phone)

1) no more signal drop on the bus around the areas of Chin Bee Avenue (industrial zone near to Taman Jurong). I had signal drop when using Singtel 4G.

2) no need to switch to 5G NSA.

3) speed is quite okay. Latency is not good though.

Fastest and Slowest on the bus around Chin Bee Avenue area. Five tests done.

10319677102.png

10319680617.png

obedwgy

Thanks for the short cuts. So the esim trial, do i need to use near 1 month before requesting the sim plus or maybe like around 2 weeks in i can request liao?
You can try, i was told no penalty for early recontract, they even hope you early recontract because of pro-prated. I mean if you kiasu , then hold as long as possible to enjoy the free 1 month trail.

Jirachi

First day on the recontract S$20.37 Singtel SIM Only with free 5G access for the full duration of the contract. Previously only three months of free 5G data access.

1) no more signal drop on the bus around the areas of Chin Bee Avenue (industrial zone near to Taman Jurong). I had signal drop when using Singtel 4G.

10319677102.png

10319680617.png
Yeah. Singtle's latency on 5G is oddly high.

obedwgy

10319677102.png

10319680617.png
Nice! Compared to MyRepublic 5G(StarHub), I am getting 24/7 5G services. On StarHub 5G, my house is only around 200+mbps, with Singtel 5G, I can get 600+mbps. Daily commute with thomson line, and red line, I can watch video smoothly and decent connectivity. With StarHub 5G, it instantly drop to 4G reception in the mrt. Worst still, super slow internet speed.
Overall I am satisfied with the services from Singtel. For my lifestyle, my usual go to place all is OK.

Lucky that I no need pay 30+ for 1 year plus to get the $20.37 deal.

xiaofan

At the start of last contract, I did the test in front of SingTel Jurong Point shop, the speed was really good. Ha-ha.

9639848248.png

Maybe today I need to go there and test again. 🤣

xiaofan

in my experience, unloaded latency is about 10~20ms. the bufferbloat can be quite bad as in the speedtest.

Good point. Thanks.

Using ping command under Termux Android terminal emulator, Singtel 5G SA.

Bash:
~ $ ping -c 4 1.1.1.1
PING 1.1.1.1 (1.1.1.1) 56(84) bytes of data.
64 bytes from 1.1.1.1: icmp_seq=1 ttl=56 time=37.0 ms
64 bytes from 1.1.1.1: icmp_seq=2 ttl=56 time=35.3 ms
64 bytes from 1.1.1.1: icmp_seq=3 ttl=56 time=36.7 ms
64 bytes from 1.1.1.1: icmp_seq=4 ttl=56 time=27.5 ms

--- 1.1.1.1 ping statistics ---
4 packets transmitted, 4 received, 0% packet loss, time 3004ms
rtt min/avg/max/mdev = 27.586/34.192/37.068/3.869 ms
~ $ ping -c 4 8.8.8.8
PING 8.8.8.8 (8.8.8.8) 56(84) bytes of data.
64 bytes from 8.8.8.8: icmp_seq=1 ttl=116 time=12.0 ms
64 bytes from 8.8.8.8: icmp_seq=2 ttl=116 time=18.1 ms
64 bytes from 8.8.8.8: icmp_seq=3 ttl=116 time=44.3 ms
64 bytes from 8.8.8.8: icmp_seq=4 ttl=116 time=42.6 ms

--- 8.8.8.8 ping statistics ---
4 packets transmitted, 4 received, 0% packet loss, time 3004ms
rtt min/avg/max/mdev = 12.020/29.315/44.378/14.390 ms

firesong

Nice! Compared to MyRepublic 5G(StarHub), I am getting 24/7 5G services. On StarHub 5G, my house is only around 200+mbps, with Singtel 5G, I can get 600+mbps. Daily commute with thomson line, and red line, I can watch video smoothly and decent connectivity. With StarHub 5G, it instantly drop to 4G reception in the mrt. Worst still, super slow internet speed.
Overall I am satisfied with the services from Singtel. For my lifestyle, my usual go to place all is OK.

Lucky that I no need pay 30+ for 1 year plus to get the $20.37 deal.
I had the same experience with StarHub 5G, so I switched to Singtel 5G.

firesong

At the start of last contract, I did the test in front of SingTel Jurong Point shop, the speed was really good. Ha-ha.

9639848248.png

Maybe today I need to go there and test again. 🤣
This one indoors tho, so not really a fair comparison. It's boosted by indoor cells.

Go outdoors and use the real towers. ;)

xiaofan

This one indoors tho, so not really a fair comparison. It's boosted by indoor cells.

Go outdoors and use the real towers. ;)

I actually went to Singtel Shop in Jurong Point at about 6:45pm today and carried out a few tests, the results are not as good as my results on the bus this morning.

I think the time of the tests matters.

firesong

I actually went to Singtel Shop in Jurong Point at about 6:45pm today and carried out a few tests, the results are not as good as my results on the bus this morning.

I think the time of the tests matters.
Yeah, and the crowd level. If there are more users, the speeds will go down since it's a finite resource.

What's more important is the connectivity when it's crowded. 5G SA is supposed to support more users per cell than NSA/4G.

psx_999

May I check, for those who recontracted SingTel SIM Only plans and converted your physical SIM card to an eSIM, does anyone know whether when changing to e new phone, a new QR code must be requested from SingTel (which will incur additional charges) or can the eSIM be transferred from the old phone to a new phone ourselves (e.g. using Apple eSIM quick transfer function)?

I have just reconnected and am deciding whether to convert to an eSIM. SingTel FAQ states that a new QR code will have to be requested when transferring eSIM to a new phone but does not mention any other methods. Thank you.

xonix

May I check, for those who recontracted SingTel SIM Only plans and converted your physical SIM card to an eSIM, does anyone know whether when changing to e new phone, a new QR code must be requested from SingTel (which will incur additional charges) or can the eSIM be transferred from the old phone to a new phone ourselves (e.g. using Apple eSIM quick transfer function)?

I have just reconnected and am deciding whether to convert to an eSIM. SingTel FAQ states that a new QR code will have to be requested when transferring eSIM to a new phone but does not mention any other methods. Thank you.
According to Apple faq, looks like you will have to request for new esim
https://support.apple.com/en-gb/101569

froztheart

Usually most if not all telcos in SG does not support eSIM transfer.
At the most, support same device download/setup, anything else there will be charges.
So coming to Singtel, definitely unlikely to have eSIM transfer function available.

Thus, if you kena multiple times requiring phone replacement/repairs, llst gotta pay the telcos.
Damn annoyed with this nickle and dime from SG telcos... No issue on my non-SG eSIMs which allows eSIM transfer.

sendhalp

Those on the SingTel eSIM trial, once converted to then $20 plan, can I get a physical SIM card instead of continuing with eSIM?

Fellowes

10319677102.png

10319680617.png
This $20.37 5G have the option for eSIM? Because is sign up via a link not the usual SIM ONLY sign up page.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.