[GVGT] Young singaporeans feel there is too much income inequality in SG

Warocks

Ya so how? Government must make everybody rich else is lousy government? 😂
no need to make everybody rich, if everyone is rich, nobody will be working

what we request for is really simple, stop rising public transport, property, food price etc, it is really killing the working class. i believe everyone will agree

but this gov keep on rising price only non stop you know, your salary also never go up so fast

wwenze

I only remember seeing people complaining data not accurate when I post singstat 🤷‍♂️

When I post people are poor I never see people complain except for the usual few

Forever84

no need to make everybody rich, if everyone is rich, nobody will be working

what we request for is really simple, stop rising public transport, property, food price etc, it is really killing the working class. i believe everyone will agree

but this gov keep on rising price only non stop you know, your salary also never go up so fast
😂 but the economic system is an inflationary one, if it doesn’t inflate you have bigger problems!

coyote

Ya so how? Government must make everybody rich else is lousy government? 😂

There's nothing any government in the world can do to make everyone rich.

Rich and poor are relative. If everyone is rich, if everyone is rich, no one is. That is communism and even China knew they cannot continue that.

And which country can make every citizens or residents rich? Absolutely nobody.

People have to learn the fact, most people put in effort regardless is hard work or study, before they gotten more money. Giving handouts will never make the poor people rich.

reiser

Anyone noticed this guy said, I have to work to survive in Singapore. Abuden???
He meant that he had to work like a dog to earn a pay that allows him to eat the bare minimum food to survive. He doesn’t get to save or save a lot or go overseas for holiday or buy a car or buy expensive flat or condo.

Duh

tokong

As per video :o

You have to make your own side income. From the 70s to the year 2000, you still can one father feed everyone in the family. Now it is impossible.

Sometimes don't be too wooden. You can take up some part-time jobs or do some freelance (tuition, ecommerce, software coding, pc troubleshooting, etc.). Most of these jobs won't affect your full-time job if you know how to organize yourself. Of course you will burn some free time, but that's the thing you have to accept.

Median income is $6000.

300k HDB 3rm flat
About $1k a month.

Food for parents + children
$2k This is bare minimum ah. Havent include pampers and milk ah.

6k - 3k = 3k

Half your salary gone already.

The income inequality is too much in Singapore. In my opinion, 太过分。

Of course what do I know? Edmwers 20k will only say it's because you buey kan. Don't be self entitled.

If you glance through MCF and take a general look at the salaries offered, you notice that is a silent gap (I mean for tech positions):

On one end is "4k - 6.5k"

On the other end is "9k - 12k"

The 'in-between' has fewer positions.

coyote

Unfold the Truth …We must know where is the problem… don‘t sweep it under the carpet….Accountability

What is the truth you are talking about? Which countries do not have poor people?

What accountability are you talking about? Gov must make everyone in Singapore rich? It's not even remotely possible. Capitalism means some will be poor and some will be good. Just take that and stop complaining.

Ethan_

job hop here and there still same la

i need to get into the business world

there are a lot young 20s, 30s young ppl out there make it big to multi millionaire in singapore just like sterra, aftershock. They are not out in the media.

i give you one example the boss go malaysia take mooncake stock and sell
in singapore, every mooncake festival can profit 100k.

another one sold his business that sell flowers and plants for 1m+. He only built for 4 years. He 21 years old this year, he built since he is 16.

another one is age 3x drop out from school no study one, female open nail polishing services from one outlet become 4 outlet now. now is multi millionaire

i degree holder work for 5 years not even reach their level yet you know

i met at minimum 10+ self made millionaire in sg currently.

choose 1

- work 20-30 years like a slave for less than 1m

- open up a business and work for 2-3 years to make 1-3m profit.
Think most cannot understand one. Especially the educated. Alot cause of the education bias. They naturally filter out many opportunities.

Thus ironic as it may seems, the world for the educated is actually quite limited one. Despite the education. Many can only see working hard for others as the only way out. Being self employed is for the lowly educated. How ironic.

The whole education system is designed by the ruling and rich to condition and trap most people as workers for the rich. If not enough workers, how the rich and ruling get their money and taxes, etc.

Those not as educated or already grown out of their educated comfort zone then able to see it for what it is. Alot of work no need much education but still need people do. Cause the educated shun it, thus less competition. Therefore more easy for the lesser educated to do.

Some more alot of these opportunities need guts and perseverance to do. Of which many educated due to the education bias and family environment, are not conditioned to take it.

jumpthepig

What is the truth you are talking about? Which countries do not have poor people?

What accountability are you talking about? Gov must make everyone in Singapore rich? It's not even remotely possible. Capitalism means some will be poor and some will be good. Just take that and stop complaining.
:ROFLMAO:
Working class must be able to survive here…共同富裕 common prosperity

Some will be poor = 1.5M(include retirees) sinkies earn less than 34k p/a….jin 厉害 :ROFLMAO:

SayPorkGuy

work simi hard, i work hard oso slower than ppl my batch because i suck with hooman, low eq, nobody like
boss dun promote me say i have low SQ (not sinkie airline but social quotient) 8years ago

work hard only get u to stay afloat, to be suckcessful u need to be eloquent, can talk, ppl like u, goot connection, ppl gib chiu chance, if u just a worker bee and slog ur way thru it will get stuck and i m quite sure
how is this different from primitive times when running away from lion, the slower guy gets eaten?

wwenze

how is this different from primitive times when running away from lion, the slower guy gets eaten?
Because we live in a society. A person's contribution to society cannot be measured by how good he is at surviving. Stephen Hawking would be long dead if he was born in Singapore, the two NS years is going to greatly reduce the time he could spend in uni before his illness set in. Also no COE coz cannot afford.

Slower guy gets eaten, how many humans can outrun a lion? Society survival is not and should not be based on individual primitive survival ability. Not a convincing argument anyway when a good portion of the current resident population has never camped in a jungle before.

Europe just brought in a big group of people who are good at survival. See the result.

cyke69sg

There's nothing any government in the world can do to make everyone rich.

Rich and poor are relative. If everyone is rich, if everyone is rich, no one is. That is communism and even China knew they cannot continue that.

And which country can make every citizens or residents rich? Absolutely nobody.

People have to learn the fact, most people put in effort regardless is hard work or study, before they gotten more money. Giving handouts will never make the poor people rich.
Got lah. PAP made every SGrean rich.

Is called HDB. CPF

Is only SGrean like to compare with centi millionaires then say poor.

Eliwood

:ROFLMAO:
Working class must be able to survive here…共同富裕 common prosperity

1.5M(include retirees) earn less than 34k p/a…… :ROFLMAO:

What is considered survival actually?

Shelter, food, utilities, medical, transport and education?

I thot these areas r generally well covered just that edmwers have unrealistic expectations.

arsenalfc85

its the wealth gap getting bigger

in a place like sg, its easier for the already wealthy to thrive and become wealthier.

For the poor or below average ses folks, it will just get more difficult for them, and chances are they will struggle and become poorer

Also, the salary between industries are also getting wide.

some indutries are paid a lot, while some too little

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.