[GVGT] Young singaporeans feel there is too much income inequality in SG

jumpthepig

What is considered survival actually?

Shelter, food, utilities, medical, transport and education?

I thot these areas r generally well covered just that edmwers have unrealistic expectations.

Just hope they don’t over spend on things that are unnecessary… being frugal - will help them:ROFLMAO:

Or can try brainwash them ”don’t compare”….. as now they Kpkb “too much income inequality”… It is difficult as Sinkies love to compare, it is in their blood. :ROFLMAO:

Ethan_

Because we live in a society. A person's contribution to society cannot be measured by how good he is at surviving. Stephen Hawking would be long dead if he was born in Singapore, the two NS years is going to greatly reduce the time he could spend in uni before his illness set in. Also no COE coz cannot afford.

Slower guy gets eaten, how many humans can outrun a lion? Society survival is not and should not be based on individual primitive survival ability. Not a convincing argument anyway when a good portion of the current resident population has never camped in a jungle before.

Europe just brought in a big group of people who are good at survival. See the result.
Think the story is that one no need to run faster than the lion. One just need to run faster than the peers to survive, the lion.

For there is no absolute measure one. Mostly its relative. Often, how one is perceived to perform, mostly is measured against how bad the others fare.

If can see the bigger picture, local society seems abit skewed. Molded by incumbent to be materialistic in certain sense. Measure many against certain materialistic achievements in order to be perceived as successful. There are limited rooms for individual growth as compare to other places.

Eliwood

Just hope they don’t over spend on things that are unnecessary. :ROFLMAO:

U mean spend within their capability.

It is luxurious to talk abt unnecessary things when the topic is survival. But as i said edmwers have unrealistic expectations abt survival :ROFLMAO:.

眼高手低

volarth

What is considered survival actually?

Shelter, food, utilities, medical, transport and education?

I thot these areas r generally well covered just that edmwers have unrealistic expectations.
Housing, medical, utilities are not cheap in SG.

Joe Maya

They see Reddit and social media fresh grad $5000 and then with 3 years experience already $10k but they stuck with below $4k after a few years of experience, of course lah disillusioned lol

Eliwood

Housing, medical, utilities are not cheap in SG.

Hdb rental and usave.

Also, i have not heard of ppl being rejected treatment even if they r unable to pay.

Bear in mind that survival means absolute necessities, and probably means living homeless in other countries....

Survival =/= comfort.

Joe Maya

Median income is $6000.

300k HDB 3rm flat
About $1k a month.

Food for parents + children
$2k This is bare minimum ah. Havent include pampers and milk ah.

6k - 3k = 3k

Half your salary gone already.

The income inequality is too much in Singapore. In my opinion, 太过分。

Of course what do I know? Edmwers 20k will only say it's because you buey kan. Don't be self entitled.

Median income $6000 only?

jumpthepig

U mean spend within their capability.

It is luxurious to talk abt unnecessary things when the topic is survival. But as i said edmwers have unrealistic expectations abt survival :ROFLMAO:.

眼高手低

If they can survive, then there is no more problem on survival…. but now they Kpkb “too much income inequality” - unfair… :ROFLMAO:

Soracak

when u get less it is inequality

when u get more it is fair inequality u can accept

u cannot complain about an inequality if u r a beneficiary because the plebs will never be able to meet u halfway, even if u give up all yr entitlement, they will just move on to the next privileged dude who didn't

Eliwood

If they can survive, then there is no more problem on survival…. but now they Kpkb “too much income inequality”… :ROFLMAO:

This is everywhere and corresponds to the voting %.

眼高手低 is a 成语 specially created for such ppl lol which tells u this debate has been going on for thousands of years. Nth new.

jumpthepig

This is everywhere and corresponds to the voting %.

眼高手低 is a 成语 specially created for such ppl lol which tells u this debate has been going on for thousands of years. Nth new.
So blame these young sinkies 不切实际? These young people in the video are not the poorest people in Sg, they are the middle working class. :ROFLMAO:

RoLanTo

they feel because watch too much TikTok, social media people leading good lives, flaunting wealth.

they should watch something more positive. such as beggars, people struggling with daily lives, to aware that they are much better than these group of people.

don't compare the top, compare those below you. will makes u feel better..

Sent from gugu niao!

jumpthepig

they feel because watch too much TikTok, social media people leading good lives, flaunting wealth.

they should watch something more positive. such as beggars, people struggling with daily lives, to aware that they are much better than these group of people.

don't compare the top, compare those below you. will makes u feel better..

Sent from gugu niao!
Cannot convince them, must brainwash them many times…let‘s hope this work. :ROFLMAO:

buttbERry

Honorary Mentor
u cannot complain about an inequality if u r a beneficiary because the plebs will never be able to meet u halfway, even if u give up all yr entitlement, they will just move on to the next privileged dude who didn't
thats very true also

Eliwood

So blame these young sinkies 不切实际? These young people in the video are not the poorest people in Sg, they are the middle working class. :ROFLMAO:

Lol did u watch the video? Apart from the guy doing part time job, the rest are saying yes referencing poor ppl (not themself).

When asked for examples of gap, one guy compared international schools to local schools. :ROFLMAO::ROFLMAO::ROFLMAO:

If u think this video is credible then it says a lot lol.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.