Singapore Treasury bills (T-bills)

reddevil0728

have you tried reading or searching about the breakeven? it's been talked about many times... can't recall the exact values.

regardless I doubt it's worth using CPF-OA anymore for the coming issues with the downward trend of the rates. most likely below 3%... no eye see..

I'm also rolling over but using SRS. still decent (since SRS only getting 0.05%).
if it's rolling forward from another 1 the breakeven will be lower. n is not talked about as much

ctan84

have you tried reading or searching about the breakeven? it's been talked about many times... can't recall the exact values.

regardless I doubt it's worth using CPF-OA anymore for the coming issues with the downward trend of the rates. most likely below 3%... no eye see..

I'm also rolling over but using SRS. still decent (since SRS only getting 0.05%).
For 1 month lag (i.e. u forfeit 1 month of CPF interest), breakeven points are 2.92% for 6-mth and 2.71% for 1-yr T-bill, respectively. For 2 months lag, its 3.33% for 6-mth and 2.92% for 1-yr. Figures from a Sunday Times article a few weeks ago.

reddevil0728

For 1 month lag (i.e. u forfeit 1 month of CPF interest), breakeven points are 2.92% for 6-mth and 2.71% for 1-yr T-bill, respectively. For 2 months lag, its 3.33% for 6-mth and 2.92% for 1-yr. Figures from a Sunday Times article a few weeks ago.
this assumes u dun roll over... the other poster is talking about rolling over.

reddevil0728

Roll over will be 2 months lag, no ? Is just end of the day how many months of OA interest u will forfeit, isn't it?
if the month where it matures, n u can immediately re-invest..

for a 6m t-bill with 1m lag. can become a 12m t-bill with 1month lag

ctan84

if the month where it matures, n u can immediately re-invest..

for a 6m t-bill with 1m lag. can become a 12m t-bill with 1month lag
Then just use this approach to infer from the figures I provided loh. As long the person knows how many months lag there are, then ok liao mah.

reddevil0728

Then just use this approach to infer from the figures I provided loh. As long the person knows how many months lag there are, then ok liao mah.
yea sure. but that's not the issue right.

some people just don't have the ability to figure how it works out...

n got diff permutation?

6m roll into 12m

12m roll into 6m

6m into 6m

12m into 12m

EDMW-Hates-Me

I have 6 digits of tbills coming back. How now brown cow? Where is the best place to park safely for around 5 years?

gregory_choo

this is assuming you only buy it once, i.e take $ from cpf account and return $ to cpf once matured.

if rolling continuously, break even point is about 2.75%

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.