Few qn abt Iswaran case

jq75

If a teacher receive gift from personal friends, must declare?

I think iswarans case is where the gifts received must have helped the two givers to some extent(with f1 related), thus it’s illegal ?

Courage

If teacher marks exam papers of a student who gave her 400k of gifts, she will be caught by that penal code

Go Fly Kite

Help or no help duno.. but Ownself in what position dunno due diligence

Mr.Chibaboom

By right, if you are a civil servant, gifts more than a certain amount you not CANNOT accept especially gifts even from friends that you have business ties with.

Iswaran’s case is by left. If the Bernie Ecclestone fraud case never mentioned OBS and Iswaran’s name in their investigation in the UK and Sinkieland’s authority had no choice but to investigate, this civil servant receive and giving gifts thing would not have been brought up.

ctan84

I think iswarans case is where the gifts received must have helped the two givers to some extent(with f1 related), thus it’s illegal ?
Alamak pple here said so many times b4 liao, gifts under $50 don't need to declare for civil servants.

titusilvering

The personal friends got involvement in school projects or not

Joseph12

By right, if you are a civil servant, gifts more than a certain amount you not CANNOT accept especially gifts even from friends that you have business ties with.

Iswaran’s case is by left. If the Bernie Ecclestone fraud case never mentioned OBS and Iswaran’s name in their investigation in the UK and Sinkieland’s authority had no choice but to investigate, this civil servant receive and giving gifts thing would not have been brought up.
In the first place , it's a civil servant
What business ties are there?

Oh. Civil servant open restaurant as side line?

And it's business of the ministry or agency we're talking about here for section 165 to kick in

Ethan_

i read the bicycle was his birthday gift, in this case, how come it's consideration?

you mean public servant cannot receive birthday gift anymore?
Think there is no hard and fast rule perhaps. But all along under old man the unwritten rule was very strict and rigid. Heard even small mata also dare not accept other people treat or makan. So, if want to be cautious about it, its no accept anything from anyone other than closed ones. Guess nowadays many more relax about it liao, take it for granted. That is, until kanna perhaps. :s22:

youcantstopme

the judge is tell you to use common sense. If the teacher could give potential benefit to the friend (for examaple, the friend's kid is being taught by the teacher), then u declare. if zero link dont need to declare.

dont tell me a minister with 30 years of public service experience dunno that if he is the chairman of a committee and he received a gift from a friend that is linked to the committee, it could potentially blow up in his face.

trax06

You knw what's worse is when your friend "sells" the gift to you at a discount to cover up.

Joseph12

The personal friends got involvement in school projects or not
I think many people will be very very happy if found out farmer friend have dealings with NEA etc that Amy Is in

Even if NEA regulates the farm or some obscure vegetables which Amy is like 29 degrees of separation away & have no knowledge of

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.