KJE fatal accident

Jackal84

Then the question is why is the driver trying to change lane suddenly when he cannot confirm that the road is clear?

The answer is in my previous post regarding speed differential.

In congestion, cars are moving at walking or jogging pace. Where else the motorcyclist is travelling at 70kph or nearly 20m/sec. Drivers check their side mirrors may see that motorcyclist is 50m away. It takes about 2.5 secs for the motorcyclist to cover that distance but is 2.5 secs sufficient time to complete the lane change?

As compared to motorcyclist that is traveling at 70kph, 50m away and a car traveling at 60kph and changing lanes, the speed differential here is 10kph. It takes the motorcyclist 18 secs to reach the car which is more than sufficient for the car to complete the lane change.

70kph vs 10kph is a big difference.

testart

The white lorry driver posted from his perspective cam video.

Anyone saw it on Facebook?

Kena whacked by netizen until sibei jialat

testart

There another video circulating from car owner on 24 Oct 1100hours today

The white lorry appeared on highway lane 1 again!!!!!

Deja Vu

This white lorry did 1 thing very dangerous

It swerved to left and then swerved to right on lane 1 when motorbike approaching from its back on left

Seem like doing on purpose?

White lorry hated motorcyclist?

I can't post now...is on Facebook

tatsit

Really F up sia

He thinks his perspective of view (cam video) will lighter criticism or understanding
according to that post, it is an apology, he is not trying to push the blame, he admits guilty, he described what happened. it doesnt seem like he wants to lighter criticism or deny fault.

testart

according to that post, it is an apology, he is not trying to push the blame, he admits guilty, he described what happened. it doesnt seem like he wants to lighter criticism or deny fault.

I didn't saw the apology post but the video. Later go see again.

Blacky

There another video circulating from car owner on 24 Oct 1100hours today

The white lorry appeared on highway lane 1 again!!!!!

Deja Vu

This white lorry did 1 thing very dangerous

It swerved to left and then swerved to right on lane 1 when motorbike approaching from its back on left

Seem like doing on purpose?

White lorry hated motorcyclist?

I can't post now...is on Facebook
It's a tragic accident that nobody wanted. It can be avoided but not unexpected.

The driver of the white lorry posted an apology via SGRV, along with the video recording

His first mistake was driving along lane 1 of the highway in a lorry. His 2nd mistake was he didn't preempt by leaving lane 1 asap or leaving a bigger gap between his lorry & the car in front, thus having a shorter/later reaction time.
The lorry swerved is due to the driver having to jam brake at the last min. This causes the wheels to lock up & swerved in an unintended direction.

It's been taught in SG driving schools to drive slower for heavy vehicles as their braking distance is longer. Same thing applies even if you are driving a sedan with full/heavy load. If wheels locked up, have to control the steering wheel firmly. And this can only be learnt via experience, not books

Law of physics at work

Darkshadows

Look like he got caught out by the car infront doing early hard braking. There is so much space infront of the car when the car start to brake to almost stand still.
If only the lorry driver didn't tailgate...

tfkmueh

Congestion means stop and go traffic.

There are cars that don't move off immediately when the car in front starts to move off. This creates a gap and some drivers change lanes once they see this gap.

Cars in all lanes are bound to exit. Motorcyclists think all cars don't need to exit the expressways because they are lane splitting and that's when accidents happen.
so far my route of KJE, BKE and SLE, the long convoy created a chain of bike riders.

and thankfully generally the driver and rider come to an understanding of using signals to indicate intent and they tend to give way to each other. but that another story for Malaysian riders.

jq75

so far my route of KJE, BKE and SLE, the long convoy created a chain of bike riders.

and thankfully generally the driver and rider come to an understanding of using signals to indicate intent and they tend to give way to each other. but that another story for Malaysian riders.
Morning and evening peak, it’s like mission impossible to switch lanes

yesman2978

The answer is in my previous post regarding speed differential.

In congestion, cars are moving at walking or jogging pace. Where else the motorcyclist is travelling at 70kph or nearly 20m/sec. Drivers check their side mirrors may see that motorcyclist is 50m away. It takes about 2.5 secs for the motorcyclist to cover that distance but is 2.5 secs sufficient time to complete the lane change?

As compared to motorcyclist that is traveling at 70kph, 50m away and a car traveling at 60kph and changing lanes, the speed differential here is 10kph. It takes the motorcyclist 18 secs to reach the car which is more than sufficient for the car to complete the lane change.

70kph vs 10kph is a big difference.
Then they shouldn't do any lane change

A qualified driver is supposed to be able to estimate speed and perform lane change safely without causing other road users to ebrake

And in this case, whether lanesplitting or not is irrelevant.

If your lane is stuck, and the lane beside you is clear, you still need to perform lane change safely, and if you cannot do so, then you shouldn't lane change. This is quite clearly taught, and tested for. Abrupt lane change or braking, causing other road users to take evasive actions, is an immediate failure in driving test.

Jackal84

Then they shouldn't do any lane change

A qualified driver is supposed to be able to estimate speed and perform lane change safely without causing other road users to ebrake

And in this case, whether lanesplitting or not is irrelevant.

If your lane is stuck, and the lane beside you is clear, you still need to perform lane change safely, and if you cannot do so, then you shouldn't lane change. This is quite clearly taught, and tested for. Abrupt lane change or braking, causing other road users to take evasive actions, is an immediate failure in driving test.

You can tell that to the Lorry driver and the motorcyclist.

One is gonna go to jail while the other has lost his life.

Words like supposed to, shouldn't is the reason why accidents happen in the first place.

If what you just said applies then there won't be any accidents in the world. Quit paying your motor insurance premiums.

yesman2978

You can tell that to the Lorry driver and the motorcyclist.

One is gonna go to jail while the other has lost his life.

Words like supposed to, shouldn't is the reason why accidents happen in the first place.

If what you just said applies then there won't be any accidents in the world. Quit paying your motor insurance premiums.
So, just hang drivers who caused any fatalities

That way, they will not be able to harm anyone else ever again

DragonFire

why this lorry hogging the right lane ah
You driven this road before during peak hours? You'll know the answer if you have. These two lanes split off from the BKE left. Leftmost will be hogged by container trucks and big lorries. Lighter goods vehicles with no chance to merge left or no intention to follow behind these slow coaches will end up on 2nd lane.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.