ASUS ZenWiFi BT10 Discussion

Since when you bought BE85. You bought BQ16 and sold it leh …
Begining of the year Jan I purchased the BE85 (impulse buy since I wanted to try wifi 7) but when I saw HB810 for $400 on carousell in Feb I sold it thinking it's the same but rebranded for telco device that too for half the price. Only realised the difference later but it was too late since I already sold the BE85. I struggled with the HB810 for about two months before getting a AX11K pro, but I found the second 5Ghz split band was useless here due to not being able to use it with 160Mhz although overall a good router but was too big to fit on my counter so ended up getting the BE6500. It's been a very long buy and sell year with routers and my wife has already warned me that I'm not getting any more routers, haha.
I still have my AX88U (running merlin) that im keeping just like my EA8100 running openwrt, they're my back up.

CPU temps data for BT10 with and without a fan in a room without aricon:

With USB fan:
fanctrl_info = ; curr_cpuTemp = "51.019"; curr_rxData = fanctrl_info[3]; curr_coreTmp_2 = fanctrl_info[1]; curr_coreTmp_5 = fanctrl_info[2];

Without fan:
fanctrl_info = ; curr_cpuTemp = "71.319"; curr_rxData = fanctrl_info[3]; curr_coreTmp_2 = fanctrl_info[1]; curr_coreTmp_5 = fanctrl_info[2];

Doesn't show up the individual radio temps.

kashix

Begining of the year Jan I purchased the BE85 (impulse buy since I wanted to try wifi 7) but when I saw HB810 for $400 on carousell in Feb I sold it thinking it's the same but rebranded for telco device that too for half the price. Only realised the difference later but it was too late since I already sold the BE85. I struggled with the HB810 for about two months before getting a AX11K pro, but I found the second 5Ghz split band was useless here due to not being able to use it with 160Mhz although overall a good router but was too big to fit on my counter so ended up getting the BE6500. It's been a very long buy and sell year with routers and my wife has already warned me that I'm not getting any more routers, haha.
I still have my AX88U (running merlin) that im keeping just like my EA8100 running openwrt, they're my back up.
I only rmb you waste my time, ask me for lobang for BE85 cause u said you want to buy then I gave you then you tell me you bought BQ16 from ASUS lol ... So you had the BE85? then you sell then you want to buy buyback again? Don't make sense leh .. That was at august leh ..

Hi Kashix, I plan to go to comex after work today and wanted to pick up the be85. Could you please let me know where to get the special price? Thank you 🙏🏽

I only rmb you waste my time, ask me for lobang for BE85 cause u said you want to buy then I gave you then you tell me you bought BQ16 from ASUS lol ... So you had the BE85? then you sell then you want to buy buyback again? Don't make sense leh .. That was at august leh ..
Yes it was during comex and I did inform your contact not to reserve the item since I was more inclined towards the BQ16. When I got to the challenger booth i met Justine who did work out a great price for me and I picked up BQ16 single unit. I clearly remember informing you and just confirmed the same from our DMs. Again extremely sorry to have wasted your time and the forums as well. Bye guys!

#########################
Yes bro, i informed the guy that I was leaning towards the BQ16 and not to reserve the BE85 and I will decide when I get there. I met this rep Jayden at the challenger stall who gave me the BQ16 for less than 700 and i am very pleased with the overall performance. I thought I would need 2 but using just one unit to cover my pad. Did buy a second unit during the 9/9 sale but ended up selling it as well for the same price.
Sorry for any inconvenience 🙏 and thank you for getting me the contact 👍

xiaofan

So in short, which will you recommend?

All depends on your budget.

10G capable WiFi 7 routers with two 10G ports, good for 10Gbps plan and 5Gbps plans.

1) Higher budget (usually > S$600 per unit but you may find good lobangs for TP-Link ones)

Very high budget and best mesh performance --> Netgear Orbi 970

High budget --> Asus ROG GT-BE98 or Asus ZenWiFi BQ16.

High budget --> Netgear Nighthawk RS700S if you like Netgear Nighthawk gaming router.

Higher budget but do not care about nice Asus FW features, need good mesh --> TP-Link Deco BE85

Higher budget but do not care about nice Asus FW features and no need good mesh --> TP-Link Archer BE800 or TP-Link Archer GE800

2) Mid-budget (S$300 to S$500 per unit)

Mid-budget --> Asus ZenWiFi BT10 (M1), Archer BE805 (MR and M1), Amazon eero Max 7 (VQ and SIMBA), etc. You can check out Carousell pricing for them.

Mid-budget and on Singtel network --> TP-Link HB810 (S$16.80 x 24 = S$403.2) from Singtel

Mid-budget and on Starhub network --> TP-Link EB810v (S$360) and HB710 (S$192) from Starhub

Mid-budget and no need 6GHz band --> Asus RT-BE88U China version and Xiaomi BE10000, the second port is SFP+ port where you may need to a 10G SFP+ optic module or a SFP+ to 10G RJ45 module.

3) Low budget (<=S$300) and not using Starhub (so HB710 is not recommended)

Low budget --> forget about 10G WiFi 7 router for a while and wait for the price to come down.

kashix

Yes it was during comex and I did inform your contact not to reserve the item since I was more inclined towards the BQ16. When I got to the challenger booth i met Justine who did work out a great price for me and I picked up BQ16 single unit. I clearly remember informing you and just confirmed the same from our DMs. Again extremely sorry to have wasted your time and the forums as well. Bye guys!

#########################
Yes bro, i informed the guy that I was leaning towards the BQ16 and not to reserve the BE85 and I will decide when I get there. I met this rep Jayden at the challenger stall who gave me the BQ16 for less than 700 and i am very pleased with the overall performance. I thought I would need 2 but using just one unit to cover my pad. Did buy a second unit during the 9/9 sale but ended up selling it as well for the same price.
Sorry for any inconvenience 🙏 and thank you for getting me the contact 👍

@ykeen @freakZ Hi mods, this guy talk too much until tio suspended uh? or clone account?

XiaoFu99

strange that BT10 has been available for a while but very limited full fledge review on that.

My major concern with Aimesh roaming capability (auto switch between nodes) when devices move around. seems like Deco is excellent with roaming based on my previous encounter.

however, BE85 doesn't support Wireguard as of now (not sure in future) so that kinda of holding me back a little.

anybody can share their roaming experience with BT10?

xiaofan

strange that BT10 has been available for a while but very limited full fledge review on that.

My major concern with Aimesh roaming capability (auto switch between nodes) when devices move around. seems like Deco is excellent with roaming based on my previous encounter.

however, BE85 doesn't support Wireguard as of now (not sure in future) so that kinda of holding me back a little.

Indeed it is very strange that TP-Link Deco BE85 does not seem to support Wireguard Server/Client as per the website.

Reference: Deco BE85 spec.
https://www.tp-link.com/sg/home-networking/deco/deco-be85/#specifications

TP-Link Archer BE800 does support Wireguard Server/Client. But then TP-Link EasyMesh is not as good as Deco Mesh.
https://www.tp-link.com/sg/home-networking/wifi-router/archer-be800/#specifications

kashix

BT10 very unstable now so don’t jump in yet

kashix

Hmm, I do not seem to see any inappropriate posts from him. Strange that he got suspended.
You don’t feel that he talk until very weird and very dramatic? I think partially reason why tio suspended. First time hear ppl buy router, regret sell router, then buy another one, regret sell then want buyback again. The story timeline don’t really match also.

kashix

Indeed it is very strange that TP-Link Deco BE85 does not seem to support Wireguard Server/Client as per the website.

Reference: Deco BE85 spec.
https://www.tp-link.com/sg/home-networking/deco/deco-be85/#specifications

TP-Link Archer BE800 does support Wireguard Server/Client. But then TP-Link EasyMesh is not as good as Deco Mesh.
https://www.tp-link.com/sg/home-networking/wifi-router/archer-be800/#specifications

I don’t have access to my BE85 now. I check wire guard support tomorrow! Let me update 👍

XiaoFu99

I don’t have access to my BE85 now. I check wire guard support tomorrow! Let me update
1f44d.png

maybe also help to confirm Deco BE85 support for DNS over TLS as well. at least it's noted in BT10 specs.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.