Replace home broadband with mobile plan?

sacredrays

I'm saying he might have been able to just use 1 wireless router or AP and a 300/500Mbps fiber line.

Instead of 1Gbps and mesh solution.
we duno his house layout size anyway. ideally 1 ap/ mesh node don't have to penetrate 2 walls can liao.. :ROFLMAO:

and yea, 1gbps is already a lot for most people, 300mps also can stream a few 4k videos at one go.

yuri2

So can you see SMS in your Deco app using Deco 5G? I’m curious if it works, so that next time if I change SIM card plan, I don’t have to worry about not being able to receive SMS OTP
Yes, can see SMS, but need to hit MORE button on the bottom right. Then it appears.

yuri2

My Deco 5G router with Simba, only can get 4G signal.
At the same location, giga 5G, can get 5G signal. This is also indicated by a LED which turns white.
Don't get Simba, if you're looking for 5G. Their 5G signal is restricted and only available at some location, I think mostly in city area.

When I use my phone to connect to MR600/Deco as wifi, download speed testing has a big difference:
A: MR600 4G+ router with eight 4G SIM ~ 22 Mbps
B: Deco 5G router with giga 5G SIM ~ 390 Mbps

I still have an outstanding issue with Simba when porting out to Gomo. Simba doesn't tell you within first 30 days, they don't allow port out, even though you have paid for it. By the time, they let me know, Gomo already timed out, so I have a Gomo with no signal, and their support is practically zero.

sacredrays

Cellular radiation numbers are higher than a typical wifi radiation.

Viable in terms of cost but health wise, may have more impact in
the long term.
???

but we are not suggesting broadcasting any cellular tower in ur home

sacredrays

My Deco 5G router with Simba, only can get 4G signal.
At the same location, giga 5G, can get 5G signal. This is also indicated by a LED which turns white.
Don't get Simba, if you're looking for 5G. Their 5G signal is restricted and only available at some location, I think mostly in city area.

When I use my phone to connect to MR600/Deco as wifi, download speed testing has a big difference:
A: MR600 4G+ router with eight 4G SIM ~ 22 Mbps
B: Deco 5G router with giga 5G SIM ~ 390 Mbps

I still have an outstanding issue with Simba when porting out to Gomo. Simba doesn't tell you within first 30 days, they don't allow port out, even though you have paid for it. By the time, they let me know, Gomo already timed out, so I have a Gomo with no signal, and their support is practically zero.
deco x80 5g? hmm.. the 2pack now selling around 200+ seems like a better deal than the dlink 5g router.

gregory_choo

the long term.
you worry about radiaion ?

check whether there are cell base station near your house, these are much worse.

ralliart12

When I stopped using Simba 4G I switched to whizcomm 300Mbps without any issue. I have about 30+ devices connected too.

Qn: actually what's the cheapest fibre broadband nowadays? i.e. I tried to look for the whizcomm 300Mbps, like dun have anymore...

The_Davis

Maybe they know I stream 4k and also sometimes download stuff etc. but now i think a good mesh is bettter thaan a bigger mbps.

Telecom push to IMDA , IMDA push back to telecom . its still ongoing..
Got write to SPH or not? This kind of things no need give chance one

The_Davis

the long term.
What is this cellular radiation numbers? Everyday got handphone next to you also getting bombarded by telecom signals leh

yuri2

deco x80 5g? hmm.. the 2pack now selling around 200+ seems like a better deal than the dlink 5g router.
Deco x80 is just wifi mesh 2 packs, no 5G router. Must look carefully at those lower priced items.
Deco X80-5G, the one with router, is almost $800
Mine is Deco X50-5G = 5G SIM router with wifi mesh built-in.

Lss

Qn: actually what's the cheapest fibre broadband nowadays? i.e. I tried to look for the whizcomm 300Mbps, like dun have anymore...
Cheapest I found is whizcomm 2.5Gbps 2 year contract.

yuri2

the long term.
Let's put SIM router in perspective:

It is similar to your mobile phone in terms of cellular radiation, as it communicates with the cellular towers.
It is in fact "safer" than mobile phone since you don't put it near your body, your brain, etc.

The only radiation it does is wifi radiation, which is no difference from your regular wifi broadcast which is already found all over.

sacredrays

Deco x80 is just wifi mesh 2 packs, no 5G router. Must look carefully at those lower priced items.
Deco X80-5G, the one with router, is almost $800
Mine is Deco X50-5G = 5G SIM router with wifi mesh built-in.
oh man.. i see wrong listing, no wonder. the x80-5g going for 700+ for a single node.. that's very expensive lol. :ROFLMAO: :ROFLMAO:

yuri2

oh man.. i see wrong listing, no wonder. the x80-5g going for 700+ for a single node.. that's very expensive lol. :ROFLMAO: :ROFLMAO:
tp-link has many models which is confusing and of coz different pricing.
Generally, I think the price depends on what it has:
1. router - 4G or 5G
2. wifi speed - AX...
3. wifi single or dual band 2.4 or 2.4+5Ghz
So it can be very cheap from < $100 to more than $500.

For starter, one may try below $100 4G SIM router like MR100 $65

NovelLobster

There’s one listing from HK on Lazada selling Deco X50-5G router for about $180.

I have bought hiking gear and Garmin watches from HK listings and they were genuine products. The Garmin watches can be about S$50 less than SG sellers. I don’t know if the Deco listing is genuine products, but if I have spare $180 I can throw away then I might buy

sacredrays

There’s one listing from HK on Lazada selling Deco X50-5G router for about $180.

I have bought hiking gear and Garmin watches from HK listings and they were genuine products. The Garmin watches can be about S$50 less than SG sellers. I don’t know if the Deco listing is genuine products, but if I have spare $180 I can throw away then I might buy
deco x50-5g local set selling for around 300 sgd.

in terms of difference between the x80-5g, is the volte phone port and slightly faster wifi 6 speed. but at least x50-5g got extra 1 lan port.

NovelLobster

deco x50-5g local set selling for around 300 sgd.

in terms of difference between the x80-5g, is the volte phone port and slightly faster wifi 6 speed. but at least x50-5g got extra 1 lan port.
Yah… 5G router through SG sellers are very expensive. That’s why thought of taking a chance with the HK seller

I don’t need X80. X50 is good enough

currently I’m using X50-4G which I bought coz it was cheaper than the 5G router. But if prices for 5G drop then might get a 5G router.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.