Johor Bahru - share is caring - Part 2

• Have you been Scammed?
    Follow this advisory from National Crime Prevention Council (NCPC) or call ScamShield Helpline 1799. More info
    Feeling down, anxious and need help? Mental Health Helpline: 6389-2222 (24 hours) More info

Coffeelix

So the points can be used to redeem discount ? In this case, I guessed it's only relevant to those who purchase often at Aeon ba.

I registered for the card only because card holders has further discounts for mooncakes. haha.
The points accumulated/ collected will be redeemed in cash / credit … u need to activate to redeem, no auto redeem…

Coffeelix

Palates and Bagel - Melodies of Thai.
The second outlet , this time installed in the cafe-besieged Taman Melodies neighborhood. We went at 830am and managed to snag the last parking lot - there were only 4.

No humble bagels , unabashed carbohydrates reimagined with duck confit and charitable slices of smoked salmon, the crust had a slight crisp but retains some characteristic chewiness , thankfully jaws not chagrined.

54142895972_f01b4faa1c_b.jpg

Phallic looking latte art ... There, I’ve said it. I cannot unsee it, and neither can you.

54142895912_b6b31114e1_b.jpg

54143752801_0aca66a5f3_b.jpg

Big breakfast, with a bagel proper and prim on the side.

54143752401_92a619bf01_b.jpg

A few options and permutations to mull over ..

54144032063_089c21468e_b.jpg

54144076164_5564f6b09c_b.jpg

Quick peep just to make sure I am not shortchanged of the duck confit, okay a whole thigh - wild. A splatter of orange Dijon mayo created a happy mess with alongside tangy accents.
54142895647_98016a28da_b.jpg

Bill came up 190+ Ringgit.
Rm190+ approved!

Coffeelix

Palates and Bagel - Melodies of Thai.
The second outlet , this time installed in the cafe-besieged Taman Melodies neighborhood. We went at 830am and managed to snag the last parking lot - there were only 4.

No humble bagels , unabashed carbohydrates reimagined with duck confit and charitable slices of smoked salmon, the crust had a slight crisp but retains some characteristic chewiness , thankfully jaws not chagrined.

54142895972_f01b4faa1c_b.jpg

Phallic looking latte art ... There, I’ve said it. I cannot unsee it, and neither can you.

54142895912_b6b31114e1_b.jpg

54143752801_0aca66a5f3_b.jpg

Big breakfast, with a bagel proper and prim on the side.

54143752401_92a619bf01_b.jpg

A few options and permutations to mull over ..

54144032063_089c21468e_b.jpg

54144076164_5564f6b09c_b.jpg

Quick peep just to make sure I am not shortchanged of the duck confit, okay a whole thigh - wild. A splatter of orange Dijon mayo created a happy mess with alongside tangy accents.
54142895647_98016a28da_b.jpg

Bill came up 190+ Ringgit.
Rm190 divide by 7 items is about S$8+ a dish / drink is fine.
Is a little on the up side by the coffee does look good.

Habrosus

Nearly teared ? What did you do to her ? :s13:

But i know what you mean, there were times when we enter some of those local shophouse eateries and started speaking English (sometimes we forget Mandarin is better) , some younger staff will freaked out on the spot and I will immediately change to Mandarin.

The more I go to JB, the more I appreciate those torturous Mandarin lessons going back 30 years ago. :s13:
I've never been so willing to speak in Mandarin until I frequented JB, and my Malay language improved so much that these days I get asked for IC instead of passport. :s13:

Long bus ride to Tuas from jurong is how long ah ? Just curious.

Zach said 20 mins only leh which I'm surprised cos from Boon Lay to Tuas also 20 mins but I would think from Jurong to Tuas will take longer.
Used to do that years back, about half an hour or so. That's when the pickup point was just next to the MRT station, not 10 mins' walk away. Even back then, the bus initially went right into AYE, but after sometime went around the hospital side before the expressway. I started taking from Tuas way before they started building the new interchange.

What the name?
From the carpark outside Peking facing the shophouses across, just cross and head to the corner restaurant. Can't miss it. I've gone there trice and still not bothered to remember its name. :grin:

So the points can be used to redeem discount ? In this case, I guessed it's only relevant to those who purchase often at Aeon ba.

I registered for the card only because card holders has further discounts for mooncakes. haha.
I registered also coz my friend used to say each time I went into an AEON supermarket, "I think you should sign up for the membership." :crazy:

Meemoosaa

Typical store policy is cannot say u dunno. Many a times their english not good enough to say "there have means have, no have means no stock".

I am not a sinkie hater like some individuals here but for this sinkies really need to learn to manage expectations and do things themselves. We always have the mentality expected to be served when entering any shops.

The mistake here is you shouldn't even be asking floor level staff about store stuff.

Wow. Mistake ? So serious ? I'm not trying to take a phD in "navigating JB supermarket staff attitude". You really need to take things posted here with a pinch of salt and go with the humorous flow. You are always so serious making it difficult for others to engage with you. It's an online platform for fun and relaxation. You need to chillax a little.

Also, if I'm not expected to be served when I enter shops, should I be serving the staff instead ? :s13:

Meemoosaa

I've never been so willing to speak in Mandarin until I frequented JB, and my Malay language improved so much that these days I get asked for IC instead of passport. :s13:

It has been interesting to pick up some Malay phrases now and again when in JB. Or even reading them from menus and signboards in public spaces, reminded me some of the phrases that we used to mutter around Malay classmates in primary and secondary schools. Did your Malay language improve just by conversing more in JB over the years ?

Used to do that years back, about half an hour or so. That's when the pickup point was just next to the MRT station, not 10 mins' walk away. Even back then, the bus initially went right into AYE, but after sometime went around the hospital side before the expressway. I started taking from Tuas way before they started building the new interchange.

Oh yes, the construction work has taken the CW bus so far away imo. I wouldn't even consider it "At Jurong East MRT" anymore.

Coffeelix

Wow. Mistake ? So serious ? I'm not trying to take a phD in "navigating JB supermarket staff attitude". You really need to take things posted here with a pinch of salt and go with the humorous flow. You are always so serious making it difficult for others to engage with you. It's an online platform for fun and relaxation. You need to chillax a little.

Also, if I'm not expected to be served when I enter shops, should I be serving the staff instead ? :s13:
Agree with you that ⚽️ is a little too serious but then u also forget that u can’t expect everyone to be on same wavelengths…

Tis is the fun … different temperament brings varieties and colors to life…

let us respect each other as they are…

🍻

SantyBalls

Wats so difficult about having no expectations from msia staff?

As i said, the mistake here is asking supermarker floor level staff in the first place. Sinkies often fail to understand their main job is not customer service.
The eloquent ones hired for customer service are at the customer service counter.

Also there's a diff btw being expected to be served, and having to ask to be served.

Habrosus

It has been interesting to pick up some Malay phrases now and again when in JB. Or even reading them from menus and signboards in public spaces, reminded me some of the phrases that we used to mutter around Malay classmates in primary and secondary schools. Did your Malay language improve just by conversing more in JB over the years ?

Oh yes, the construction work has taken the CW bus so far away imo. I wouldn't even consider it "At Jurong East MRT" anymore.
I actually started in Melaka over a decade ago, from frequent visits. I feel making the effort to converse with them in Malay makes it easier for both sides, and most of the time they'll understand if we need to throw in some English words as well. Those who can speak some English will normally switch over if they find us struggling too. Just go with the flow. :grin:

Practice makes perfect. Mine isn't perfect but we can get better with more frequent use. Jiayu!

Meemoosaa

Habrosus

Thanks! is the Beijing restaurant expensive that is why you go to the Japanese one?
I've not gone into the Peking one, but do recommend you check out the Japanese one as they're really affordable. This coming from someone who nearly don't step into Japanese restaurants in SG unless they're the economic type. :grin:

Habrosus

Can buy and wear it on the spot ? If you are buying more than 1 then of course it's another story. Lol
I believe there're some who buy to resell, so they can't remove the tags on clothing and bags.

For me, I'd want to keep my 🍎 box and receipt. :s13:

chehjin

First time I noticed Chagee was the long queues at their CS branch, and people waiting along the corridor on a hot day at the Sutera branch. Then flashes in FB. Never tried, don't think I ever will. :crazy:

My ZUS orders are mostly treats for others these days, so the usual customization I'd do is "less sugar". My present frappe is the chocolate banana from Family Mart. Coffee would be the morning kopi-O kosong with breakfast. But I'm still impressed with the neverending rewards they keep adding to my app. :grin:

By the way, about the AEON wallet, what other (easier) options are there for us visitors to top up without linking from the bank account? Hard cash, or can we use TnG to top up?

internet banking easiest liao. Next best is using the aeon atms by depositing cash.

elvintay07

elvintay07

lol! Changi Airport handle few hundred flights a day. 1 guy kana caught then everyone panic liao. lol!
And if you do some calculations, her value of purchased is like $39,000. If you buy 1 iPhone, no need to scare until like this la.

Usually when they scan, bags are super dangerous. Don’t believe you can buy a $1ml underwear and the x ray scanning won’t catch a thing

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.