I disagree with Senior PM Lee; singles should be allowed to buy 2-room BTO flats in non-mature areas.

recruit

If singles are also allowed to buy larger BTO flats, couples and those with kids will find it even more expensive.

And I’m speaking as a single.

s-ghost

if really keep saying lack of supplies mean they beh gan and fail to plan for supply to be enough?

atamavision

Usual BS , limited flats and limited space.

Its straight up BS.

Why do folk still fall for this nonsense.

In the esteemed SM opinion , why does he believe there are limited flats when it would seem there are many folk who own mulitple properties, which implies there are enough for everyone.

Maybe too many of the wrong flats built.

The number is not the issue

Folks don't fall for this nonsense but they are attracted by all the vouchers and grants

Nevereatrice

The system designed for couples to increase tfr and gdp. Singles buying 2rm subsidized heavily bto is can have or can don't have. Negligible doesn't benefit sg much

BohemianSG

The problem would have not existed if LHL didnt restart building 2room during his time. It was LHL time who uturn to build 2room in the late 2000s.

Housing policies by the 80s was such a success that they stopped building 3room recognising that ppl need more space.

2room for singles, if they get married then how? queue and apply BTO again ah?

2room for family? chewren grow up how to squeeze? queue and apply BTO again?

Housing in his era was a a major disaster.

Eliwood

How can I start a family with just a 2-room BTO flat? More rooms are essential. There needs to be a change—singles should be allowed to buy 3-room and 4-room BTO flats in mature areas, as well as prime, standard, and Plus housing types, so singles can easily start a family.

Singles start finger family?

PeanutButterJellyfish

How can I start a family with just a 2-room BTO flat? More rooms are essential. There needs to be a change—singles should be allowed to buy 3-room and 4-room BTO flats in mature areas, as well as prime, standard, and Plus housing types, so singles can easily start a family.

Let you buy, you confirm will get married and give birth? Later you change mind and rent out rooms, can confiscate?
If so confirm then just bto as couple, problem solved.

chaiscool

Solution so simple. Not happy ?
Stop kpkb and VTO.
VTO, then tio pwn by oppo who keep the same policy how? Vote for who then?

SG cannot survive if they start enabling single. Need to push ppl into marriage, family and having kids.

Imo the problem for single are those who earn too much for bto but too little for private. Forcing them to buy resale is just cruel imo, basically making the single give lottery money to couples who bought the house at discount.

wongminmin

TS don't even have gf, yet keep thinking about this. lol

i suggest TS go newly built bto and see......
1 family with 2 kids living in 2rm flat....

they can always buy resale later on. Their 2rm bto can be use to offset their resale.

if people want to start family, they already do it before 30. 31~35 is their last chance to mm.
not at 35,

As of 2023, the median age at the time of first marriage in Singapore was 31 years old for men and 29.5 years old for women.

kyang69

I fully agree with TS, FT who got PR can buy properties and HDB flats in SG in all sizes and no need do NS, while sinkies who are single and give 2 years to do NS and starting career late get this kind of crap from gov.

We should value sinkies over FT!

coyote

then just get married and buy 3rm and bigger. :ROFLMAO:

Exactly. They don't even have a girlfriend to start with...

Anyway, edmwers still have not realized the BTO lottery era is over. Just forget about it. Get a condo instead.

coyote

I fully agree with TS, FT with family can bring in whole village to buy properties and HDB flats in SG in all sizes and no need do NS, while sinkies who are single and give 2 years to do NS and starting career late get this kind of crap from gov.

We should value sinkies over FT!

I am sorry I have to say that's pure rubbish. Foreigners cannot buy HDB.

OddEye

Nobody knows if you are going to marry unless you marry..you cannot have the intention and tell government to give you 3 room and 4 room based on that..because anyone can lie about intention

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.