HSA: Officers can enter premises without warrant to enforce laws on e-vaporisers

MrAwesomeX

Due to the nature of their job, these officers "are not required to wear uniforms so as not to draw attention to themselves in carrying out their surveillance and enforcement activities".

However, all of HSA's enforcement officers will carry HSA authorised cards to identify themselves as authorised officers, said the spokesperson.

_ _ _

instead of addressing the actions of their officers, HSA choose to defend them.

why HSA did not explained why their officers did not display their authorised cards when carrying out enforcement? also why the officers were putting flyer which is clearly not related to HSA?

Cause they no need to explain peasants what .

Not happy? Vote us out lor 😆

Kapish

Actually not new, people are just making a mountain out of a molehill. I think those officers look ok what, just not very friendly.

Almost 10 years ago I was at the ECP with my friend. He smoked and flicked the cigarette butt.
Here comes 2 officers, a male and a female, also looked like some jobless bum. Identified themselves.

We obliged lor, take it on the chin, take the fine since he did the crime. Why make things difficult for people just because they don't look the part.
it's a totally different thing to allow a stranger to enter the sanctity of your own home
they can see what you have, what you are doing .... or worse even molest and rape the female occupants if they think with their other head

MrAwesomeX

HSA is not a law enforcement agency. Hence they do not wear uniforms. But still strongly recommended to wear a corporate shirt or something. similar to LTA eventhough they are not uniformed personnel. Im sure the HSA officers are train on ROE and this is their standard response. This is to protect both the officers and the agencies themselves.

Not law enforcement but can barge into your house without warrant ?
Nowadays really need to take such extreme measures against Vaping meh not like it's drugs or narcotics .

Now they on TikTok. Means these guys caught on camera no need participate in undercover jobs transfer to admin department?

The reasons are all very weak and I feel sinkee citizen rights slowly eroded by these BS laws .
I dun even smoke btw but come on .

leongws

So can HSA officer demand to check our phone? Or they only can enter the premise to check for vapes as per this case?

What if no vapes found but found sexy pictures/videos on the phone? HSA gonna call police to catch us? From check vapes becomes another case

Semakdd

Suggestion to redeploy safe distancing ambassadors during covid era to this job

Spirax

Quite scary, next time HSA people can go everywhere for searching purposes

MrAwesomeX

I did. And I will gladly vote for them again for doing a good job in keeping Spore safe.

They not even legal law enforcement leh . Their aim/goal isn't to keep anyone safe unlike spf .

You wun be safer even if they raid all vapers house leh lol 😆 it however makes hdb feels less safe and condo/landed more safe

leongws

I trust them. NEA want come in my house check, I let them in. After that they do not bother me any more as I am not in their blacklist.
If NEA demands to check your phone how? The female HSA officer demanded to check phone when their main task is to check for vapes in house. R they even allow to check our phone other than police.

Nuclear Boy

Quite scary, next time HSA people can go everywhere for searching purposes
Police/surveillance state, further confirmed.

Not that nobody knows that, but most are willing to look the other way, for "security". This is the consequence.

I trust them. NEA want come in my house check, I let them in. After that they do not bother me any more as I am not in their blacklist.
I kindly advise you not to blindly trust anyone, especially the authorities.

Give it enough time, one day something you do would be arbitrarily considered illegal or illicit in their eyes and you'd get into trouble through no fault of your own. All because of people willingly giving blank cheques to them to do as they wish.

I know you have no daiji currently. But one day, it might. And who'll be there to help you, since it is "none of my business"?

chuakboon

So like that if I hsa person I can suka suka tour any house I like as long as I suspect they got simi vape.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.