Are the service standards and waiting times in singapore public hospitals terrible?

Are the service standards, waiting times in Singapore's public hospitals terrible?

• Yes

Votes: 67 77.9%
  • No

Votes: 15 17.4%
  • Maybe

Votes: 4 4.7%

• Total voters

keenklee

hard to have quantity and quality
IMHO.
It is not hard, just need to open eyes. Not as if no one see the 3 registration booth at the A&E at SKGH.
Also at the medical center, 4 or 5 registration booth.

buttbERry

Honorary Mentor
IMHO.
It is not hard, just need to open eyes. Not as if no one see the 3 registration booth at the A&E at SKGH.
Also at the medical center, 4 or 5 registration booth.
so need more reg booths ahs

wutawa

I went to kkh with my mum for pre-admission chks. Waited almost 3hrs with appt for the anesthetist to ask a few qtns.

buttbERry

Honorary Mentor
Usually hospitals would have reserved beds for emergencies. If patients are life threatening surely would have beds. U will not be surprised that people tat could seek treatment at GP flood hospitals A&E lor
hopefully got enough for emergency cases

KPO_SAHM

hopefully got enough for emergency cases

A few years ago , my late granny 90+ years old, went KTH AnE. Immediately she got bed in ward. Usually hospitals would assess the patients before assigning ward beds

diequick

IMHO.
Cos CGH small lah. U go SKGH, big until even the carpark got big section condoned off because of no usage. I think that carpark area can fit an entire A&E.
u c, we didnt call 995, this will send u to nearest hospital. We just go to nearest hospital, so if cannot cope, then they shld do 993 and txfer patients leow.

It's just how dumb the system is. We use technology to introduce delays. And processes to intro more delays. The layout cannot be changed, processes still can. So a hypothetical scenario, lets say a fall, frail patient. The triage doc(or nurse) see patient, send to Area A or B. Then see another doc. He orders blood test, maybe X-ray, then maybe CT.

Currently, doc draws blood, sends for test, wait for results, then need to go back to same doc if need to go X-ray/CT. Just break this cycle, the blood test results can be read by any doc, and then send to join the Q for X-ray, need to dumb number (ding dong ding dong?) The radiographer should just scan the patient tag, see what X-ray is ordered, do and get it done. Whichever doc sees the X-ray + blood test results, decide the next course, if need to go CT.

We use the number system to introduce micro-waits to make long wait appear shorter but its a longer wait for all.

Before they build the place, i suggest MoH or whichever cluster go rent Expo Hall, set up movable partitions and test the layout. And pref consistent experience. SGH is once u wheel to A&E, u dont get to see patient, they tell u blood tests 2+ hours, and they call to update u if need admission or nt. Maybe they got more efficient layout.

charlieangel123

Recently visited a relative in cgh and saw the waiting room full of armchairs with sick and frail side by side. Was told operating timings are erratic and doctors are usually short-tempered
private doctors dont want to work in govt hospitals

if too convenient to see doctor with short waiting time nobody will go to private doctors
too easy to see doctor also will be misused by public

charlieangel123

u c, we didnt call 995, this will send u to nearest hospital. We just go to nearest hospital, so if cannot cope, then they shld do 993 and txfer patients leow.

It's just how dumb the system is. We use technology to introduce delays. And processes to intro more delays. The layout cannot be changed, processes still can. So a hypothetical scenario, lets say a fall, frail patient. The triage doc(or nurse) see patient, send to Area A or B. Then see another doc. He orders blood test, maybe X-ray, then maybe CT.

Currently, doc draws blood, sends for test, wait for results, then need to go back to same doc if need to go X-ray/CT. Just break this cycle, the blood test results can be read by any doc, and then send to join the Q for X-ray, need to dumb number (ding dong ding dong?) The radiographer should just scan the patient tag, see what X-ray is ordered, do and get it done. Whichever doc sees the X-ray + blood test results, decide the next course, if need to go CT.

We use the number system to introduce micro-waits to make long wait appear shorter but its a longer wait for all.

Before they build the place, i suggest MoH or whichever cluster go rent Expo Hall, set up movable partitions and test the layout. And pref consistent experience. SGH is once u wheel to A&E, u dont get to see patient, they tell u blood tests 2+ hours, and they call to update u if need admission or nt. Maybe they got more efficient layout.
delays are needed to prevent misuse

KPO_SAHM

To comment on the service of hospitals....so far ....I am very happy with their service.

Sometimes problem lies with sinkies. A decade + ago when my mum warded in SGH, saw the bed opposite my mum, the family wrote in on a piece of paper and stick above a patient's bed. I was shocked to see " STRICTLY NO MEDICAL TRAINEE to be attended on this paitent" ON THE A4 SIZE PAPER.
Paitent paid for cward. If they wanted to choose dr , they should pay for private rate in government hospital

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.