Are you willing to leave Singapore behind to find out what lies beyond?

cyke69sg

yes and no .. job requirement match and timing was right ..
Another way of saying is "stars were aligned".

But you need to be actively looking and have developed yourself well in order to be selected so is also your effort.

Same has happened to me on several occasions but I would not have got the opportunity if I wasn't looking and developing my skills and qualifications.

In some cases I took on the role as the secondary person for that task and then the primary decided to leave and I got promoted. So also staying power is important.

eleewhm

I went to Shanghai for 7 days and already cannot tahan the food..

Touched down sinkapore immediately drive to some kopitiam in the east to jiak prata and bah chor mee.. don't even care about dieting..
aiyo ... shanghai has nice food mah ... u should try everything in China

CYVWBVf.jpeg

D0NjQVQ.jpeg

VV520Xo.jpeg

cyke69sg

more a inter company transfer ... and i had the experience needed .. so thats where the timing element came in .. the timing of the new site overseas and having the position to match my skillset
Somewhat like variant of group 2 then?

You got references from your SG employer I am sure.

Group 3 is totally nothing go as FOB immigrant start from scratch. Have to go to university study. Get local qualifications hope for job. Then build from there. Nothing to do with anything from SG. That one I know too well.

eleewhm

Another way of saying is "stars were aligned".

But you need to be actively looking and have developed yourself well in order to be selected so is also your effort.

Same has happened to me on several occasions but I would not have got the opportunity if I wasn't looking and developing my skills and qualifications.

In some cases I took on the role as the secondary person for that task and then the primary decided to leave and I got promoted. So also staying power is important.
agree.. i was constantly improving my experience .. every **** situation in the factory .. i jumped in ... it was always a hero or zero situation

eleewhm

Somewhat like variant of group 2 then?

You got references from your SG employer I am sure.

Group 3 is totally nothing go as FOB immigrant start from scratch. Have to go to university study. Get local qualifications hope for job. Then build from there. Nothing to do with anything from SG. That one I know too well.
yes i assume so ... but my sgp employer didnt really recommend .. i went thru the interviews like all candidates .. HR , Direct manager , Dept head .

cyke69sg

agree.. i was constantly improving my experience .. every **** situation in the factory .. i jumped in ... it was always a hero or zero situation
You are the fix it guy. It is also attitude.
Not everyone has this idea of being the go to for **** situations. Rush jobs. Last minute requests etc.

But if you make it your reputation to be the go to guy when these things occur and are also the one who will get the job done the company usually will value you tremendously.

Some people have attitude that it's not my job and I am going camping this weekend. Sorry. Or I need time to get this done. What you asking "is not possible".

Aside from resurrecting a dead person or working on nature made living things, nothing is impossible for man made products and systems.

cyke69sg

yes i assume so ... but my sgp employer didnt really recommend .. i went thru the interviews like all candidates .. HR , Direct manager , Dept head .
I would say is 90% all your effort. You blew them away with your abilities !

Well done bro! You the man!

eleewhm

@Joe Mahmood is right .. learn to adapt ... if u keep comparing back to SGP .. you will never accept or adapt the place u are in. just like a new company u join , you cant always compared to your previous employer .

widen ur circle of friends beyond ur culture .. .

Ethan_

Erm, internet? Where almost everything need to know is at the finger tip. :s22:

Nuclear Boy

I think you should ask this question AFTER you find out what laid beyond. Would you still want to stay?

cyke69sg

@Joe Mahmood is right .. learn to adapt ... if u keep comparing back to SGP .. you will never accept or adapt the place u are in. just like a new company u join , you cant always compared to your previous employer .

widen ur circle of friends beyond ur culture .. .

I still too much SGrean in me. I only want to mix with own people. And still comparing with SGP always cos SG is the GOLD STANDARD. The BEST.

I guess migrating was not suitable for me. Dunno how I manage to survive for almost 20 years now.

cyke69sg

the responses of some really amazes me ... trying to justify why NZ is bad in terms of drugs n GDP n Debt ...

pls lar .. those are beyond any of us peasants control ... we suck it up and adapt

They compare to SG.

SG all the good things: High salary, low taxes, no cap gains tax, no investment income tax, safe, no drugs, no guns, efficient, transport system works, clean infrastructure, CHEAP COOKED HAWKER FOOD, CHEAP MAIDS

All these things.....NZ dun have or hard to find.

cyke69sg

I think you should ask this question AFTER you find out what laid beyond. Would you still want to stay?

Of course should stay in SG!

SG is much better than any other place in the world to work make big money and retire.

Got money can go hop around all over the world. Holiday. visit countries etc. No need to work once hit 50 years old as a SGrean. Rent out HDB can live in Thailand forever no need work,

eleewhm

cheap food
public transport
clinics everywhere
no need drive and can get grocery from a 10 mins walk
hawker center many many
but the weather is a killer for me - too humid
Why is SG better?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.