MP: This meal cost 770 yen which is around SGD 6.80. What do you think?

mutare ad melius

Instead of acknowledging that prices are indeed grown to a level which pappy is finding it difficult to rein in ( as to the reasons why they failed to do so...that's a different can of stinking worms ), the pappy MPs are obviously over their heads trying to sweep these high inflationary prices under the carpet with 1/2 f**ked cheapo postings on social media thinking that sinkies are just gonna accept any stupid excuses.

Tom Sawyer

Instead of acknowledging that prices are indeed grown to a level which pappy is finding it difficult to rein in ( as to the reasons why they failed to do so...that's a different can of stinking worms ), the pappy MPs are obviously over their heads trying to sweep these high inflationary prices under the carpet with 1/2 f**ked cheapo postings on social media thinking that sinkies are just gonna accept any stupid excuses.
70% will believe no matter what..

fortunecat

Should just list out all the cheapest food prices in both places and let people compare themselves.

Cannot just compare a specific food or a single item, which will be a disadvantage to either places depending on what food. Like all those Jap or Korea food come here will auto inflat the prices to chop people due to the "Jap or Korea" branding, just like you eat Yakun or Bak Kut Teh in Japan surely more expensive than here

coyote

Again you assume other country are open legs like Singapore

other countries actually care for their people and not have uncontrolled immigration

also they serve 2 year NS, they stay and force changes.

I didn't assume.

You assumed Singapore is.

lupster

Ppl who are rich of course thinks that sg food is cheap
How to understand when you are not poor
I think even the rich here will think that sg food is not cheap because the portion and amount/type of ingredients is rarely worth the price tag. Enough to have the same meal 2 or 3 times just by crossing the causeway. But the govt claim the high prices here is due to global inflation. :sick:

Hot_Dog

Moi could say the plebs are ignorant also, go compare wib another country that ish totally different than SG and comprain. Got ppl sexplain to them yet still insist on their pov.

sporeknight76

$6.80 is cheap sg smelly smelly this set $15 without soup want soup add $3 small $4 medium $6 large. Overall she is talking SH.. it cannot compare with cai png that no soup option for cai png.
Then i don understand her article liao. Is she saying the food she posted $6.80 is cheap or ex than SG? If she saying expensive than SG, it clearly showed she been living in well past few years. N we r comparing Tokyo to SG. Wat abt other places in Japan, say those countryside lik Yamanashi near Mt Fuji.

Jus share a true experience. Year 2000 i was sent to Jap for training. A rural countryside, A plate of fried rice in those small eatery restaurant costs $9.60 (total 600 yen with tax).

Now?

enimen

Someone. . who have guts..please go post in her page.
I no guts.

But if everyone believes in statistics.. and this website is accurate and reliable? ..then the argument is very clear.

https://www.numbeo.com/cost-of-livi...re&country2=Japan&city1=Singapore&city2=Tokyo

TOKYO... i give her the best city in japan!

It would be even more ridiculous when you put Osaka... (2nd biggest city)
Does this mean I would live like a king if I have 12K earning power and live in Osaka?

coldish

it's not because of the two factors.......main reason is because Tokyo is a city of 25million people with similiar level development as Singapore.....so there's gonna be alot more competition and more choices compared to what we have in Singapore
https://japaninsides.com/how-japan-keeps-food-costs-low-while-prices-skyrocket-elsewhere-39080

AI Overview

Food in Tokyo can be cheaper than other major cities around the world for a number of reasons, including:
  • Low inflation
    Japan has had almost no inflation for the last decade, while prices elsewhere have increased.

• Weak yen
    The value of the yen has recently fallen, meaning that money buys more in Japan.

• Stable real estate industry
    Japan's real estate industry is stable, which contributes to the relative affordability of Tokyo.

• Restaurant prices
    Restaurant prices in Japan are generally lower than in the United States. For example, ramen in Tokyo is about a quarter of the price in New York.

• Discount grocery stores
    Discount grocery stores like Gyomu Super and Hanamasa offer affordable prices and bulk goods.
------

But the main driving reason is because Japan itself has a superb supply chain system.
When a country like SG produce almost nothing and imports almost everything, this is what we get.
Face it, even the hawkers are going down.

sukukia

sinkie dollar remains strong while japanese yen has depreciated, now eat in japan is cheaper for sinkies which is good right...

swathe

Confirmation bias. Bet got cheaper food, she just kept quiet and never post

Optrex

they out of touch. they live in their own matrix. how u tell a blind man why is blue or red or white? don't waste ur time and lower yourself to argue with a MIW lah....

ichinisan

Compare illogical stuff. Freaking kumgong and dumb.

That's why this country is gone case.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.