I earned almost S$1million overnight from stocks

wutawa

Don't worry. What goes down, will eventually go up for you.

Btw, your previous prediction of me hitting 4m in 2025 came early. Thank you for your kind reckoning.
lol, u reaching $4m is through your own means. i am just keyboard warrior.

Maichapsiao

Just happened last night.

I need to get it out of my system somehow so I'll say it here.

No one will believe me anyway even if I'm serious.
U earned one million and Ur first thought is to come edmw?
Not spend the money on things u like ah

kebinu

True. It's paper gains technically.
Congrats. I hit my first milestone of gaining $100k in 1 night, also paper value, then dropped $35k over the past week due to usual correction.

The market is quite volatile recently for certain stock, like Tesla, Soun.

d5dude

True. Risk comes with all sorts of investments.

Mine is... Considered moderate risk? Hedging so much on one company for over 10 years is definitely a gamble. On the other hand, I could have lost it all.

I have to remind myself that I have yet to cash out.

So, not taking risk can be a good thing also.

Your portfolio is nearly 100% AVGO right? This isn’t considered moderate risk, it’s actually extremely risky, many things can happen to a company, by that I mean very bad things.

dereth

U earned one million and Ur first thought is to come edmw?
Not spend the money on things u like ah

No lah. First thing was to tell my wife.

I actually don't have friends to share this news with. Kinda sad hor? :cry:

Well, I do have one friend, but he is going through so much family problems and having depression now we have not been talking much. 😞

I guess I have to just say something somewhere to get this pressure off my chest.

And spendings? My profits are still all on paper. I just withdraw the quarterly dividends (Ouch! After a hefty 30% US tax) and live a normal, HDB life sans car.

Without debt, I just don't have to worry about how much I spend on food and daily expenses.

I still wouldn't pick fish in cai png though. Those are rip-offs.

DarkStarer

Just happened last night.

I need to get it out of my system somehow so I'll say it here.

No one will believe me anyway even if I'm serious.
Can give me $1000 so that I can do donation in my name then I can earn the tax benefit? I can even give you the receipt to prove the money went to an organisation. You can even choose the organisation if you want but have to be ipc registered

dereth

Congrats. I hit my first milestone of gaining $100k in 1 night, also paper value, then dropped $35k over the past week due to usual correction.

The market is quite volatile recently for certain stock, like Tesla, Soun.

I know how that feels. I've lost approx S$700k over a week at one point. I'm used to it though. At times like this, my wife can tell that I get very agitated and urges me not to monitor so closely and just take it easy.

Rakanishu.

No lah. First thing was to tell my wife.

I actually don't have friends to share this news with. Kinda sad hor? :cry:

Well, I do have one friend, but he is going through so much family problems and having depression now we have not been talking much. 😞

I guess I have to just say something somewhere to get this pressure off my chest.

And spendings? My profits are still all on paper. I just withdraw the quarterly dividends (Ouch! After a hefty 30% US tax) and live a normal, HDB life sans car.

Without debt, I just don't have to worry about how much I spend on food and daily expenses.

I still wouldn't pick fish in cai png though. Those are rip-offs.
thought tax is only applicable to US residents ?

Mecisteus

Reminder S&P is at the peak and valuation is also highest in the history now.

Lock some profits.

popdod

Can share whats your course fees ?
we love finanical influencer. :s12:

dereth

Your portfolio is nearly 100% AVGO right? This isn’t considered moderate risk, it’s actually extremely risky, many things can happen to a company, by that I mean very bad things.
I'm well aware of the risk of putting all my eggs in one basket. Cases of too-big-to-fail but yet kaput.

I know I have to stop at one point.

Maybe when my ex-boss retires.

dereth

Can share whats your course fees ?
we love finanical influencer. :s12:
Not trying to influence anyone. Just a lonely person engaging in meaningless conversation here because he doesn't have any friend to talk to.

Evil_Boss

Many people made a lot of money in the past few months. My friend just blindly buy all stocks that’s on an up trend on the monthly time frame and a lot of them hit 52weeks high. He 6 months already 2-3x his capital liao. He asked me to buy but I no guts and no money. He said I deserved to stay poor for not taking risks :(

ya... this type of people on the rising tide and then think they very good investor.

i believe TS, coz i also made such gains (not as much) but still substantial overnight

i also 3x capital this year, but i know its because of the rising tide and im lucky in timing not i zai or what

d5dude

I'm well aware of the risk of putting all my eggs in one basket. Cases of too-big-to-fail but yet kaput.

I know I have to stop at one point.

Maybe when my ex-boss retires.

Bro there’s no such thing as tbtf for tech companies, disruption is the norm, Kodak, Nokia, Intel, etc were all giants in their industries. I’d think about diversifying if I were you, also congratulations man. You deserve every cent for taking on this risk.

DarkStarer

You need to pump in another $5k now to unlock the funds. If you wait til monday, it will be revised to $8k. Pump in the funds now to unlock, then you will be able to withdraw the funds.
This one funny but if real, not funny.
Remember while making profits need to look out for scammers.

Thank you. 🙂

I will definitely do that when I cash out eventually... if everything is still there.
Why don't cash out? Lock in some profits to spend if not what's the use of money?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.