OCBC Premier - what about it ?

limster

then why they still contact me recently to upgrade to premier when my acct is nothing even near to $350K?

OCBC is actually quite relaxed about new sign-ons. Their strategy is that they will sign you up first, and hope that you will top up to $200/350k within the year. If you don't top up, then they exit you. since the benefits for OCBC PB are minimal (2 lounge visits a year and really low quality lounges), it doesn't cost them much anyway.

(unless you help the RM fulfil his/her quota by buying some overpriced investment products, then RM will recommend that your PB status is maintained, so she got more chances to call you to buy more to hit her annual quota).

OCBC is actually quite relaxed about new sign-ons. Their strategy is that they will sign you up first, and hope that you will top up to $200/350k within the year. If you don't top up, then they exit you. since the benefits for OCBC PB are minimal (2 lounge visits a year and really low quality lounges), it doesn't cost them much anyway.

(unless you help the RM fulfil his/her quota by buying some overpriced investment products, then RM will recommend that your PB status is maintained, so she got more chances to call you to buy more to hit her annual quota).
I am fine with them stripping of my PB status. Not as if I really want it and it was them who approached me for that.

DevilPlate

haha my RM even bochap me... when i wanted to open Premier Dividend+ account the whole team never entertained me asked me go branch... when i at the branch the staff was shocked and said wah lau shouldn't your RM help you :ROFLMAO: so my experience with them is they are not very persistent, and i hope they stay this way :ROFLMAO:
From what i was told, yr usual RM cannot open premier acct for u.

I went down to a branch to state my intention and then I received a call the next day from a OCBC banker and make an appt with her to open premier acct physically at my preferred branch

DevilPlate

Btw just wondering if you are in the premier banking will the relationship manager pestering you to invest or sign up some financial plan on and off? Cos I have no interests in all that?
For my case, RM will js spam u with emails thats all.

DevilPlate

For my case, the opening of my acct was all via phone calls. Never even stepped into any branch.
Premier acct?
i have to made an appt with a banker to sign some documents including some AML related questions….if yr initial amt is too big, u might have to furnish them with additional document/info

Imhthc

Premier acct?
i have to made an appt with a banker to sign some documents including some AML…..if yr initial amt is too big, u might have to furnish them with additional document/info
No leh. I transferred the required over 2 days after the acct opening. That’s during Covid period. Maybe that’s y. My citigold acct opening also din step into a bank branch.

DevilPlate

No leh. I transferred the required over 2 days after the acct opening. That’s during Covid period. Maybe that’s y. My citigold acct opening also din step into a bank branch.
Covid was 2020 period….

I did it early this yr….

Banks prolly step up their AML checks haha

marshmallow96

From what i was told, yr usual RM cannot open premier acct for u.

I went down to a branch to state my intention and then I received a call the next day from a OCBC banker and make an appt with her to open premier acct physically at my preferred branch
At that point I was already premier customer, I just want to open the premier dividend+. My hub’s RM could open for him while mine bochap me

DevilPlate

At that point I was already premier customer, I just want to open the premier dividend+. My hub’s RM could open for him while mine bochap me
Complain and give 1 star rating…nowadays got receive survey about RMs whahahah

Velton

Bumping this up. For local banks PB, is OCBC recommended?

For foreign banks, are most of you in Citigold?

elvintay07

Bumping this up. For local banks PB, is OCBC recommended?

For foreign banks, are most of you in Citigold?
HSBC is not bad. But I feel more or less the same. Mostly go Lim Kopi or take ang pow only.

tiertime

This ocbc dividend plus to get the 3.3% per annum is it hv to meet all these following criterias :

1) Min deposit need 350k ??
2) Monthly need to Fast in 3k
3) NO withdrawals
4) Have to lock in for 1 year from date of deposit of the minimum required amount ?

Am I correct on Above / missing anything ?

I just realised I have this account but I have ZERO Balance inside for more than a year

Squaredot

This ocbc dividend plus to get the 3.3% per annum is it hv to meet all these following criterias :

1) Min deposit need 350k ??
2) Monthly need to Fast in 3k
3) NO withdrawals
4) Have to lock in for 1 year from date of deposit of the minimum required amount ?

Am I correct on Above / missing anything ?

I just realised I have this account but I have ZERO Balance inside for more than a year
Take note of the revised rate from 1 Feb 2025
https://www.ocbc.com/personal-banki...HPoDfumBpENUAR1kuhwaApW1EALw_wcB&gclsrc=aw.ds

limster

initially i thought the interest rate looks good but then I realised that OCBC can reduce the interest rate at any time so i didn't place any funds into it.

I will stick to T-bills and cash management accounts for more flexibility.

DevilPlate

initially i thought the interest rate looks good but then I realised that OCBC can reduce the interest rate at any time so i didn't place any funds into it.

I will stick to T-bills and cash management accounts for more flexibility.
Similar to cash management account that interest rate can change anytime as well. (However ocbc is more like a monthly FD)

tiertime

Hi
I called the CSO
they said before April 2024 was 3.7%
After that till now become 3.3%

Next Revise date not announced yet

May I knw where is the Feb revised rate, I cannot find in the link you provided

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.