Anyone else hooked on going to JB?

Meemoosaa

I c... I was at the commune mall area. About 10-15min from JPO. The area is huge

Is the commune mall livelier these days ? All shops opened ? Went about slightly more than a month ago and still a little quiet.

virtualape

kulai can go there by grab or not?
is it very far?
take bus is cheaper T30. iirc its around rm6. 1 hour ride.

grab i think was rm45. definitely quicker than bus. if 3 pax, its rm15 each. i'll take grab.

nothing much there. theres a temple. quite zen feel. inside all bamboos. had lei cha at a popular place..cant recall the name. not bad. cheap too.

Joe Mahmood

their americano is good. i went in to the medical center to take a look. looks very modern. how are the charges compared to sg subsidized rates?
About the specialist's consultation fee the staff said RM255. My wife told me that in the past when she went to KK Hospital in SG the consultation fee was $170 plus.

Recently, in July this year my wife went to see a specialist at KTHH in Yishun for Trigger Thumb on her right hand and Carpal Tunnel Syndrome for her left hand. The consultation fee was $199 first visit then second visit $150.

Before that the GP at the Polyclinic in Yishun had referred her to see a specialist at KTHH. She said to us that since my wife is a foreigner and only a LTVP holder its better for us to go to the private hospital or medical centre because its flat rate for both Singaporeans and foreigners if there is a need for minor surgery needed to be done. She said its like same medical charge with the Government Hospital. The charges in Government Hospital its like almost the same because there are surcharges here and there before subsidy. We took note of the GP's advice. The GP's consultation fee itself for that day was $60.

At the end we decided not to do the minor surgery because there are risk involved. We ended up going for TCM acupuncture treatments for few sessions and it works. Trigger Thumb and Carpel Tunnel Syndrome faded away.

As for my wife medical appointment at 2.30pm at Regency Medical Care Centre in Mid Valley Mall we rebooked for the 2/1/2025. She was mistaken that today medical appointment was at Mid Valley Mall but it wasn't. It was supposed to be at the Regency Hospital in Masai JB. My wife had booked that appointment via their website and was mistaken thinking that it was supposedly at Mid Valley Mall.

So we will see how much the charges on 2/1/25 at Regency Medical Care Centre at Mid Valley. Probably after that I will post and share about the charges in this thread.

Joe Mahmood

That area really has more cars than humans !!! Every corner and turn also have cars coming at all directions, as a pedestrian I realised I could not walk peacefully at all ! Lol.
Because the roads are connected to the toll Expressway to 2nd Link and the main road to Kulai town and the route to further northward to other states in the north via NS Toll Expressway or Kampung road.

Dangojr

Not familiar with mixed vegetables rice in JB. Money is almost unlimited but stomach is. So I usually eat better in JB.
e0af30db50d644d18b5d5f6e150d5e94~tplv-tej9nj120t-origin.webp

Meemoosaa

Because the roads are connected to the toll Expressway to 2nd Link and the main road to Kulai town and the route to further northward to other states in the north via NS Toll Expressway or Kampung road.

Ok, no wonder. I didn't drive there, so didn't take note of these connections.

So that area is where people use it as pitstop or to connect to each of the different roads then ? No wonder. Every 3 seconds, need to watch out getting run over. Am surprised there isn't more accidents. Lol

All the small shop businesses also bustling, adding to more cars I think.

dev_stg_prd

tried these 2 dim sum..

1) Gui Yuan ( OK - average )
2) Kak Kak ( so so )

Got any better recommendations somewhere around town area ( <5km OK )? Tks

Joe Mahmood

Ok, no wonder. I don't drive there, so didn't take note of these connections.

So that area is where people use it as pitstop or to connect to each of the different roads then. No wonder. Every 3 seconds, need to watch out for cars.
Kulai can be considered as the last town before they hit the road to up north states and beyond.

tiertime

If u very rich will u still frequently go there?
This I agree...
I think JB is more for the regular ppl living in hdbs/condos to go in buy groceries / massage / salon/ do car ...

If I JIN rich I will just stay in SG OR take flight to other countries with Cleaner streets and toilets

I won't even be participating in JB Threads 😬

testerjp

tried these 2 dim sum..

1) Gui Yuan ( OK - average )
2) Kak Kak ( so so )

Got any better recommendations somewhere around town area ( <5km OK )? Tks
So far all the dim sum in JB i had are rubbish. They are cheap but not great like factory made.

I go Mr Long around Tuta area, longer than 5km near sutera.

12,Jalan Pendekar 18, Taman Ungku Tun Aminah, Tun Aminah, 81300 Johor Bahru, Johor Darul Ta'zim, Malaysia

SantyBalls

So far all the dim sum in JB i had are rubbish. They are cheap but not great like factory made.

I go Mr Long around Tuta area, longer than 5km near sutera.

12,Jalan Pendekar 18, Taman Ungku Tun Aminah, Tun Aminah, 81300 Johor Bahru, Johor Darul Ta'zim, Malaysia
Wa it's like not really near anywhere. Effort just to go there

SantyBalls

Theres a caipng franchise in msia, quite good. Ownself scoop. 2meat1veg 9rm.

Daily Rice

tiertime

Last week I buy chai png near the City Sq, meldrum area

I took 1 steam fish RM15

Then 1 plate rice ( add rice )
Gor lor Yor
Brinjal
Cabbage
This plate cost RM 12

TOTAL RM 27

Can I knw is this price ok for JB at Meldrum area , it's in a non Aircon coffeeshop near Belllo Hotel

I think it seems a bit pricey coz I am able to find 1 meat 2 vege in SG for S$3.20

SantyBalls

Last week I buy chai png near the City Sq, meldrum area

I took 1 steam fish RM15

Then 1 plate rice ( add rice )
Gor lor Yor
Brinjal
Cabbage
This plate cost RM 12

TOTAL RM 27

Can I knw is this price ok for JB at Meldrum area , it's in a non Aircon coffeeshop near Belllo Hotel

I think it seems a bit pricey coz I am able to find 1 meat 2 vege in SG for S$3.20
Search "daily rice" then compare their prices

testerjp

Wa it's like not really near anywhere. Effort just to go there
It's around Sutera Mall, ah shui durian, paradigm and many more delights which the locals prefer to hang out.

But I guess, most Singaporeans only prefer to stay at Ksl, mid valley, city square

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.