HSBC Step Up Promo - Part 2

tiertime

I applied for GIRO deduction from my spouse's HSBC EGA to pay for my Medisave installments and POSB Everyday credit card payment and the bank rejected !

Now my credit card payment laspe for TWO MONTHS for a few $K

We are trying to consolidate monthly bill payments for Both of us into a Single EGA so can manage better

But HSBC bank is making it more difficult ! And the CSO cannot help us contact their GIRO Team !? ☹️

Anybody successfully use own EGA to make deductions for your family/spouse's CPF monthly contributions and credit card payments ?

Squaredot

I applied for GIRO deduction from my spouse's HSBC EGA to pay for my Medisave installments and POSB Everyday credit card payment and the bank rejected !

We are trying to consolidate monthly bill payments for Both of us into a Single EGA so can manage better

But HSBC bank is making it more difficult ! And the CSO cannot help us contact their GIRO Team !? ☹️

Anybody successfully use own EGA to make deductions for your family/spouse's CPF monthly contributions and credit card payments ?
Shouldn't be an issue.

Who rejected your giro application? What is the reason given?

Why your credit card payment lapse for two months? Did you kena hefty interest for late payment?

Mickey01

how can your credit card payment lapse for 2 months due to the GIRO application process? You must continue your usual payment method until the GIRO application is ack and approved by both POSB & HSBC. Once approved, the GIRO method will be effective next POSB credit card bill and will be indicated in the POSB Credit card bill (at the bottom of the document).

tiertime

Shouldn't be an issue.

Who rejected your giro application? What is the reason given?

Why your credit card payment lapse for two months? Did you kena hefty interest for late payment?
how can your credit card payment lapse for 2 months due to the GIRO application process? You must continue your usual payment method until the GIRO application is ack and approved by both POSB & HSBC. Once approved, the GIRO method will be effective next POSB credit card bill and will be indicated in the POSB Credit card bill (at the bottom of the document).
My POSB Credit card was originally linked to My personal EGA Account,
But considering we are paying for Both of us IRAS, property tax, etc, we decided to consolidate all monthly deductions to ONE EGA Account

So in early Nov submitted the GIRO Application forms to POSB Bank and CPF Board to request ,
In late Dec Both updated Application status failed !
Called HSBC , and the CSO says the only reason she can think of is due to payment is made to Another person's account
And the CSO Cannot check !?

The HSBC Auto delink the original Giro deduction from my EGA , WITHOUT setting up the deduction to my spouse's EGA account

I purposely deposited money in before due date for deduction, and both EGA Accounts are Not deducted as the application is pending!
So frustrated now ☹️

The GIRO Forms we submitted to pay for IRAS and property tax for our mother was set up OK Tho 🙄

All forms were submitted in early Nov

Update:
HSBCF Confirmed they hv approved since early Dec, it's CPF and DBS side having issues
- DBS now pending updating 👍👌
- CPF online still reflected as GIRO Set up Status FAILED, gg call CPF tmr zzzz

Arandalo

But considering we are paying for Both of us IRAS, property tax, etc, we decided to consolidate all monthly deductions to ONE EGA Account

So in early Nov submitted the GIRO Application forms to POSB Bank and CPF Board to request ,
Called HSBC , and the CSO says the only reason she can think of is due to payment is made to Another person's account

The HSBC Auto delink the original Giro deduction from my EGA , WITHOUT setting up the deduction to my spouse's account

I purposely deposited money in before due date for deduction, and both EGA Accounts are Not deducted as the application is pending!
So frustrated now ☹️

The GIRO Forms we submitted to pay for IRAS and property tax for our mother was set up OK Tho 🙄

On the GIRO forms was it your spouse's signature?

Squaredot

@tiertime What a mess!
Your Giro application to deduct from your spouse EGA is to pay a POSB credit card? It's not approved so giro not deducted and your card lapse payment 2 months?

u didnt make payment by fund transfer to your POSB card when u notice no Giro payment on deduction date?

Mickey01

The HSBC Auto delink the original Giro deduction from my EGA , WITHOUT setting up the deduction to my spouse's EGA account

So frustrated now ☹️

from the ABS GIRO FAQ page

(G) CHANGING BANK ACCOUNTS FOR GIRO - Can I change my GIRO payments (a) between accounts within the same bank or (b) to an account with another bank

a) Between accounts within the same bank Please check with your bank. Some banks allow you to change the bank account for GIRO payments without re-applying for GIRO. You will need to inform your bank, which will make arrangements with the BO to receive payments from the new bank account. Please allow 30 days for this change to come into effect. In the meantime, please ensure that you maintain sufficient funds in the existing bank account for the monthly GIRO deductions.

Mickey01

So frustrated now ☹️

For failed GIRO application, the bank will usually follow up with a hardcopy letter. The letter should be delivered a few days after the SMS notification.

twosix

Why reject? They will inform u the reason.

I once applied giro for another bank. I received a letter later stating the giro form is badly torn and ask to resend. Haha.

tiertime

@tiertime What a mess!
Your Giro application to deduct from your spouse EGA is to pay a POSB credit card? It's not approved so giro not deducted and your card lapse payment 2 months?

u didnt make payment by fund transfer to your POSB card when u notice no Giro payment on deduction date?
It's a few thousand dollars mah, if deduct by EGA Successfully I can get like 1% cash back so I took the chances in the hope it will deduct in time

At most I call in bank ask for waiver
Now it's dragged to the 2nd month statement generated and the DBS Confirmed the deduction in late Jan will also not be going through GIRO....

So, means I am losing 2 mths of EGA GIRO Rebates... And now will be smacked with late payment interest AND $200 fine from DBS....

But they encouraging customers to use GIRO right ??, so I intending to ask them to help me out , else if ppl realise tat Applying GIRO to make on time payment to credit card will cause such issues it will not be encouraging to customers to use GIRO at all...

twosix

It's a few thousand dollars mah, if deduct by EGA Successfully I can get like 1% cash back so I took the chances in the hope it will deduct in time

Now it's dragged to the 2nd month statement generated and the DBS Confirmed the deduction in late Jan will also not be going through GIRO....

So, means I am losing 2 mths of EGA GIRO Rebates... And now will be smacked with late payment interest AND $200 fine from DBS....

But they encouraging customers to use GIRO right ??, so I intending to ask them to help me out , else if ppl realise tat Applying GIRO to make on time payment to credit card will cause such issues it will not be encouraging to customers to use GIRO at all...
1st month after applying giro usually have to manual pay first. Only 2nd month onwards then giro kicks in, if giro is approved. If in doubt always call the bank to check first.

tiertime

1st month after applying giro usually have to manual pay first. Only 2nd month onwards then giro kicks in, if giro is approved. If in doubt always call the bank to check first.
Updating to new GIRO.... They shd not hv deactivated deduction from the old GIRO , if the new one not confirm FULLY set up ya... But oh well.. 🙄

tiertime

I just noticed there is a BTL EGA interest eligible to get since they have extended my Nov and Dec cycle to Jan

It is at bonus interest 2.75% the reference month for this Jan at 2.75% is Oct ya ?

Then there's another type that is giving 1% (capped a $300) tat requires :
5 FAST outgoing transfer to 3rd party banks
Top up min 5k - does this additional 1% also have any reference mth?
If yes, is it Oct or Dec ?

Update : CSO confirmed the additional 1% reference mth is previous mth
... So there are 2 types of reference mths, need to take note

hwmook

GIRO not successful but you don't want to pay.......

vsvs24

You assume too much.

Everyone knows credit card bill must pay in time as the interest is loan shark rate. If GIRO deduction did not take place, need to quickly pay by other modes before they charge interest.

The interest, late fees, GIRO failure fee etc can work out to be higher than the 1% earned from EGA. And you still waited for 2 mths.

Bro, everyday the interest build up. Quickly pay up. Mia Tu Liao.

tiertime

GIRO not successful but you don't want to pay.......

the DBS bank CSO advised to deposit money in Both EGA accounts since it's unsure the deduction will take place on which account, hence I did ,

then in the end did not go thru for Both accounts , so I dun think that's my fault, coz we hv alr discussed on the measures to take prior due date

If one wants to pay by cash then go thru all the hassle set up the Giro for wat

tiertime

You assume too much.

Everyone knows credit card bill must pay in time as the interest is loan shark rate. If GIRO deduction did not take place, need to quickly pay by other modes before they charge interest.

The interest, late fees, GIRO failure fee etc can work out to be higher than the 1% earned from EGA. And you still waited for 2 mths.

Bro, everyday the interest build up. Quickly pay up. Mia Tu Liao.
If they dun waive then I just cancel the credit card...

vsvs24

If they dun waive then I just cancel the credit card...
You cancel the credit card still must pay the interest.

If you have not made the full payment by the payment due date, you will be billed for finance/interest charge on your next Credit Card Statement computed at the prevailing rate of 27.80% per annum, calculated daily from the date of transaction until receipt of full payment, subject to a minimum fee of S$2.50.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.