30s-50s chitchat club

Milo-Dino

What kind of general interview questions do you all ask when interviewing a candidate? Other than those common ones like strengths and weaknesses, etc. (do ppl even ask this anymore?)
Hmm I don't have fixed questions to ask... I usually ask based on job scope and based on what candidate mentioned during the interview introduction..

My colleague whom interview candidates with me... Tell me I'm quite sharp at picking the choice of words candidates used... So when I ask only 1 or 2 questions.. Can expose possible lies or 一刀见血 kind haha

Milo-Dino

top 3 idiotic interview questions that I was actually asked:

- where do you see yourself 5 years from now ?
- what do you bring that other candidates don't ?
- why you ? (when I mentioned retrenchment when asked why I left a previous org)

being jin notti as Aut has noted repeatedly, nowadays when asked earlier, I actually pose that first question back to the interviewers at the end... one of them got stumped and gave a rambling non-response with a lot of unpleasant facial expressions :o
Actually the #2 question is designed to give you an opportunity to sell yourself apart from what's in your resume... It's actually the best question for interviewee to answer...

#3 is a reasonable question just that it's rather rude to phrase it like that since it's sensitive. Should ask "any idea how the retrenchment exercise was planned? Like to removal due to strategic direction change in regional focus" etc

Autumn.

Hmm I don't have fixed questions to ask... I usually ask based on job scope and based on what candidate mentioned during the interview introduction..

My colleague whom interview candidates with me... Tell me I'm quite sharp at picking the choice of words candidates used... So when I ask only 1 or 2 questions.. Can expose possible lies or 一刀见血 kind haha
one of my sibling's ex coy.... ask for weirdest thing.
would u be willing to cooperate with inhouse FS master in your sitting arrangement and other things

for example, lunar new year, usual practice everyone tend to start work 3rd day , theirs have to go according to zodiac or sthg

Autumn.

jialat, if I respond that buzzy is hogwash, would the interviewer call security to boot me out ?
i have no idea. I was just sharing. even my sib sitting arrgt was "calculated"
I had a look afterward and it was according to what was the role and the space that holds the "role"

I mean that was whole new level .... knowing is one, but to execute and apply is.... uh uh uh unbelievable

Autumn.

ok, now I go back to watching Squid s02 so I can continue cringing and laughing at the same time at T.O.P.
I did not watch S1. not to say S2.
ok i am getting weak to watch shows as such

edit: ok i "watch" liao from wiki

Milo-Dino

what would you answer ?
I would sell myself as being very versatile and flexible.... My experience in handling alot of matters that are not finance related.

(u will be surprised alot of pple scope of work is quite narrow)

Autumn.

I would sell myself as being very versatile and flexible.... My experience in handling alot of matters that are not finance related.

(u will be surprised alot of pple scope of work is quite narrow)
and shallow....

Milo-Dino

would u be willing to cooperate with inhouse FS master in your sitting arrangement and other things

for example, lunar new year, usual practice everyone tend to start work 3rd day , theirs have to go according to zodiac or sthg
Well, there would probably have been instances where pple refuse to comply thus this became an important question for the hiring manager

pepsitwist

Any examples?

I'm usually asked to review the (simple) excel test which my boss gave to candidates. See already can tell the candidate got any logical sense or not

yukirin92

What kind of general interview questions do you all ask when interviewing a candidate? Other than those common ones like strengths and weaknesses, etc. (do ppl even ask this anymore?)

Tiakong last time moi industry one coy during covid hire a chui looking xmm over webcam zoom while she wearing mask.

Covid over liao all back to orpit, big boss day 1 see her without mask ask her balik kampung :o

Anyway one trick is to mix random trivia questions among the usual boliao interview questions. Catches them off guard especially if they are only giving rehearsed answers.

yukirin92

Don't underestimate fengshui, there's a reason why all the huat huat banks, funds and oily companies see it very up :o

swat444

i switch off at the bread & sauces; i still prefer the good 'ol hand made burger patty 🤣 i don't mind roast but only once in a while.

I would have felt sorry for someone else, but to low, its like karma found its way to nauseate him 🤣
=====

@Velton i say dun wanna add package..LOL the vendor kup phone on me 🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣
Bad them!!!!

Duc_mn

Tiakong last time moi industry one coy during covid hire a chui looking xmm over webcam zoom while she wearing mask.

Covid over liao all back to orpit, big boss day 1 see her without mask ask her balik kampung :o

Anyway one trick is to mix random trivia questions among the usual boliao interview questions. Catches them off guard especially if they are only giving rehearsed answers.
FS master advised boss to employ only pleasant looking staff. That was after my hire.....heng arh

lemonzil

report the car stolen

I mean, if marital rape is a chargeable offence, then so should what is essentially a spouse stealing from the other
I don’t think it’s workable. Car is his. And it has been months since he took it away

lemonzil

?? What's that

For last question, the phrasing sounds abit strange? Is it more like "why do u want this job"/"why are u thinking if leaving ur current company?"

Last qns… intent is to find out applicant’s interest. Of course not taking word for word to ask. Why you come for interview…lol

Milo-Dino

Last qns… intent is to find out applicant’s interest. Of course not taking word for word to ask. Why you come for interview…lol
Ask very generic question

"what inspires you to do good work".
Then see how the candidate can b*llshi+...
Alot of times is see how acceptable the crap said is logical or acceptable haha

Lss

Ask very generic question

"what inspires you to do good work".
Then see how the candidate can b*llshi+...
Alot of times is see how acceptable the crap said is logical or acceptable haha
Because bad work is like poop on the ceiling. You never know when it will lose it's grip and fall back down. Bonus is when there is a ceiling fan to ensure it gets splattered all over.

spangaporean

moi been reading in angmoh phorums dat they are moving out from singapore cause jialar ex for exapt life.
issit true? chiu see less angmoh nowdays?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.