[GLGT]Bidadari resident chua hope his 4 yo son dun have to pay >$900k for a 3 rm hdb when he is older

toolbox03

https://www.asiaone.com/singapore/w...ir-3-room-flats-despite-potential-600k-profit

Bidadari resident Chua, a father to a four-year-old toddler, welcomes more efforts to ensure that public housing remains affordable for Singaporeans.

"I hope my son doesn't have to pay more than $900,000 for a three-room flat when he's older," he said.

Shafrudin said that record-breaking prices in the resale market are expected to continue, with more flats in estates such as Queenstown and Dawson reaching the minimum occupancy period.

"I believe we are on the path to see three-room units eventually surpass $1 million in these highly-coveted locations," he added. "If affordability remains an issue, the authorities may introduce cooling measures targeting the resale market."

:s14:

focus1974

https://www.asiaone.com/singapore/w...ir-3-room-flats-despite-potential-600k-profit

Bidadari resident Chua, a father to a four-year-old toddler, welcomes more efforts to ensure that public housing remains affordable for Singaporeans.

"I hope my son doesn't have to pay more than $900,000 for a three-room flat when he's older," he said.

Shafrudin said that record-breaking prices in the resale market are expected to continue, with more flats in estates such as Queenstown and Dawson reaching the minimum occupancy period.

"I believe we are on the path to see three-room units eventually surpass $1 million in these highly-coveted locations," he added. "If affordability remains an issue, the authorities may introduce cooling measures targeting the resale market."

crazy dude..

20 years later .... if the 3 room HDB BTO still cannot sell for $900,000 , then singapore really in deep. sh.t

Forever84

20 years from now 1M will be smaller than most people realise

Lchlch

One sentence : everything will be very expensive and we have to rely on government for help.

1982-1994

Speaking to local media in November 2024, Prime Minister Lawrence Wong said that cost of living, which includes housing prices, is a concern among Singaporeans that will be addressed in this year's Budget.

He cited several measures to address these worries, including the new Housing Board flat categorisation framework and increased subsidies for first-time public housing applicants.

Lai liao....incoming

Orphan

I have good news and bad news...

Good news is that since he is looking at a 20 year timespan, by the time his 4 year old kid is grown up and starts working, his pay will also be double of today's standard. Parent's HDB value will also go up to match.

Bad news is 3 room flats may indeed cost 900k. Construction workers, architects, admin staff all also hope to get yearly pay increment mah. Raw materials will also increase in cost due to inflation. So costs will sure go up.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.