1 of the worst movies I ever watched - Jack Neo's I want to be boss (AI 拼才会赢)

samba fan

Got a lot of movies this Yr, spore already 3 movies, plus China and HK side a few big budget ones plus the Donnie Yen movie that one everyone say nice and still showing..

Is just whether sporeans got taste or not. Lol..
But ya la, this one how bad also sure box office king.. sporeans ma.
At least u understand what i trying say...lolz
Sporean thing

BBClone

Jack Neo already lost his directing abilities years ago, all his movies in the last ?10 years (maybe even more) have been rubbish, with paper-thin plot with awkward pacing, just throw in some colloquial jokes to grab his local audience. Tried watching his ”Money No Enough 3” on Netflix, really cannot finish past the halfway mark.

Last year he even compared his “I Not Stupid 3” to “How to Make Millions Before Grandma Dies”, insisted his movies also very touching… ridiculous. The Thai movie was so nuanced in portraying human relationships and well-crafted in its execution, Ah Jack would never be able to direct such a gem in a million years, before he dies.

John0316

Like him but sabo
Hey, get your facts right.
Like and support someone means I want ppl to see his best works, not his worst.

Anyway happy for people to ownself buy tickets and watch, if your opinion differ - let me know. Lol.

I thought ppl say in movies - bad marketing is also marketing? Maybe ppl didn't know his movie coming out and because see my post then found out and wanna watch for themselves to compare?

qhong61

Jack Neo already lost his directing abilities years ago, all his movies in the last ?10 years (maybe even more) have been rubbish, paper-thin plot with awkward pacing, just throw in some colloquial jokes to grab his local audience. Tried watching his ”Money No Enough 3” on Netflix, really cannot finish past the halfway mark.

Last year he even compared his “I Not Stupid 3” to “How to Make Millions Before Grandma Dies”, insist his movies also very touching… ridiculous. The Thai movie was so nuanced in portraying human relationships and well-crafted in its execution, Ah Jack would never be able to direct such a gem in a million years.
The one he hinting abt Wang lei?

28cMostlyCloudy

Jack Neo already lost his directing abilities years ago, all his movies in the last ?10 years (maybe even more) have been rubbish, paper-thin plot with awkward pacing, just throw in some colloquial jokes to grab his local audience. Tried watching his ”Money no enough 3” on Netflix, really cannot finish past the halfway mark.

Last year he even compared “I not stupid 3” to “How to Make Millions Before Grandma Dies”, say his movies also very touching… ridiculous. The Thai movie was so nuanced in portraying human relationships and well-crafted in its execution, Ah Jack would never be able to direct such a gem in a million years.

He should have stopped directing while he was still at his peak.

Instead, he could have become a "master" and mentored young directors.

This way, his reputation would have remained strong at its height, and Singapore would have appreciated his contribution to nurturing the next generation of directors.

But he didn’t. He chose to keep making movies even when he was out of ideas, and gradually, his reputation has declined so much that now everyone sees him as a joke of a director.

Nevereatrice

My wife buy insurance from HSBC life, insurance company booked whole hall at GV vivocity tonight and give us free tickets (but with ticket price printed - also count as box office? Lol)

I know the movie haven't officially open, CNY then open or smth but whole cinema is showing this movie leh, dunno gala premiere or mass corporate booking at all the halls. Jack Neo and all the casts like Chao guo hui, Inthira also there to talk before movie starts.

Honestly I quite like his recent films lime Musang King and Money Not Enough 3, but this one really kana sai. Super bad, there is barely any LOL moments, and super cringe. All the actors / actresses play themselves, and the movie is too long la..2hrs plus.
A lot of people leave halfway (I dunno isit cause it is free by insurance company so they dun care), and I never seen a movie where so many people inside using phone one.

Basically the plot is about a couple (hui ge and wife) who opens a restaurant, taught a guy who betrayed him and open a rival restaurant then both side hire AI robot.. the cgi super terrible; the robots (one of them played by Patricia Mok) don't even act or move like robots, they are just humans in like a budget space (silver colour) costume. 👨‍🚀

Like honestly I cannot imagine a single person walking out of my theater thinking the movie is good.. like even my dad who watch Mediacorp everyday and like Jack Neo movies, say this one stupid movie.😅

I know people usually quite forgiving of CNY movies but this one.. I am not sure audience can endure or not, or will just walk out. Lol.
I read the plot halfway also stop reading

John0316

This way, his reputation would have remained strong at its height, and Singapore would have appreciated his contribution to nurturing the next generation of directors.

But he didn’t. He chose to keep making movies even when he was out of ideas, and gradually, his reputation has declined so much that now everyone sees him as a joke of a director.
To be honest I think if he focus on getting good script, good ideas and get the correct actors - he can make not bad movie.

Issue is now he just keep rushing to ensure he got a movie every CNY leh.. cause he know sure earn. Like quantity instead of quality..

and he will continue doing this cause guess what - every of his CNY release will earn money. Auntie / uncle all bring whole family watch, plus alot of insurance companies and banks mass booking de.

This one I hope ppl go cinema see for themselves and I am sure ppl will agree with my review. 😆

Nevereatrice

To be honest I think if he focus on getting good script, good ideas and get the correct actors - he can make not bad movie.

Issue is now he just keep rushing to ensure he got a movie every CNY leh.. cause he know sure earn. Like quantity instead of quality..

and he will continue doing this cause guess what - every of his CNY release will earn money. Auntie / uncle all bring whole family watch, plus alot of insurance companies and banks mass booking de.

This one I hope ppl go cinema see for themselves and I am sure ppl will agree with my review. 😆
He is just money grab. Last time cny period also went to watch one of his movie made by him wang lei the main lead i forgot the movie name also lousy show. Feel like walking out halfway.

Prinsloo

Last time Home run, I not stupid 1,2 are the memorable ones. Got the feel. Nowadays his movies are cringy, try hard.

N4E.SI

It doesn't matter cos he already has a fixed group of intellectually not very bright supporters that will guarantee watch his movies every year regardless of what garbage he churned out

Even if his next movie is called "You watch my movie you are very stupid!!" it will still sell out at least $1-2m in SG one

From my observations, those who enjoy his movies tend to be those not very educated elderly folks, those xdd xmm ah beng ah lian and those with borderline IQ

Anyone with normal intellectual will prefer Hollywood or HK movies

Zorroh

I thought ppl say in movies - bad marketing is also marketing? Maybe ppl didn't know his movie coming out and because see my post then found out and wanna watch for themselves to compare?
😆 He should thank you for helping to market his CNY movie!

images

soulblader_89

Jack Neo already lost his directing abilities years ago, all his movies in the last ?10 years (maybe even more) have been rubbish, paper-thin plot with awkward pacing, just throw in some colloquial jokes to grab his local audience. Tried watching his ”Money No Enough 3” on Netflix, really cannot finish past the halfway mark.

Last year he even compared his “I Not Stupid 3” to “How to Make Millions Before Grandma Dies”, insist his movies also very touching… ridiculous. The Thai movie was so nuanced in portraying human relationships and well-crafted in its execution, Ah Jack would never be able to direct such a gem in a million years.
his jokes is very low ses and very 90s...

more for low ses ppl to watch

Joseph12

Why
Why would he stop directing
Where would he get the money then?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.