• Widening income gap

Votes: 263 30.7%
  • Unemployment/Lack of opportunities for citizens

Votes: 393 45.9%

• Total voters

appleorange_

https://www.cfr.org/article/singapores-ruling-pap-faces-its-most-competitive-election-ever

https://www.worldpoliticsreview.com/singapore-elections-pap/
(Audio presentation)

About CFR - https://www.cfr.org/about

This is a prestigious institution that many Singapore Ministers have been invited to make speeches. They are not your BS organization.

cfr got credibility not bcus ministers go there give speech

cfr got credibility cos edmwers believe cfr

world revolves ard edmwers

spinning_quirK

I remember the last time someone said that WP won their first GRC. :o
Exactly, the correct way for Oppo to win is to claypot the incumbent... that's how it works right? :o
You keep bragging the Oppo will win big margin, is to claypot the Oppo. Don't go there. :frown:

Tetsuconek

So will Eggmy stand by herself in a SMC with a smaller pool of voters or parachute into another "bao jiak" GRC helmed by PM LW or parachute into west coast GRC under east coast HSK? (Currently missing one MP due to Iswaran)

David Lai

i hope they dun move nanyang district to anywhere with eggmy around…

since i shifted here, it was hong kah grc, then cck grc, and now wc grc…
knn treat nanyang like a freaking football, kick here and there…

icebleue

since shifted here, it was hong kah grc, then cck grc, and now wc grc…
cos its prime pap hardcore zone... surrounded by all the anti zone.. many jhk convert around nanyang area.

You all delusional

The biggest hopes and the loudest sound of dissent was during the 2015 GE after LKY died.
All wards were contested
Even the good old Tanjong Pagar had to contest.
People kept saying PAP gonna get toppled. Opposition gonna win many seats

But what happened in the end? :s13:

PAP got 70% of the votes! Up by 10% from the previous GE

After that GE, all my hopes were dashed. All the noises and kpkb you always hear online and in real life are merely just the loud few
While the majority stays silent and continues to give their trust in the incumbent no matter what events happened

If voting wasn't mandatory, I wouldn't waste my time at all cos results are always the same

Just take the presidential election results as a good indicator

xiao.xin

since shifted here, it was hong kah grc, then cck grc, and now wc grc…
Then you need to ask yourself why they're treating you like a dirt passing around.

ramlee

Let’s all vote for pap so we all can get lift upgrades and sheltered walkways around our estate :(

green72

I expect changes in this area. It makes sense to the incumbent.
West Coast GRC was won by only 51%. Meaning almost half believes in the alternative.
Whereas this Hong Kah SMC is the incumbent stronghold.
So if add this SMC to the GRC, confirm win if based on last election support.
Futhermore, with Iswaran in jail, having her to helm the party GRC there makes sense.
Don't read too much about reasons like increase population size bla, bla, bla....

robie_aibo

cos its prime pap hardcore zone... surrounded by all the anti zone.. many jhk convert around nanyang area.
Tengah new estate also alot of jhk converted to citizens. Think percentage of true blue Singaporeans staying there is lower than the other nationals.

Ethan_

Erm, every time also say about same, every time also got possibility bah.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.