30s-50s chitchat club

Lss

I have not come across CNY that ask abt salary. At most ask what is ur job but that's it .

They are more focus on ur marital status and comparing kids
Expected bah. Luckily my generation spread too wide so not much comparison. Youngest early 20s oldest late 60s.

Velton

HENG I am always a human

ON A non troll mode. this year resolution, i am staying away from most people. actually my pay isnt that fantastic. but enough to gather foxes. I am easy going =! i am a carrot
What is "gather foxes"?

Autumn.

What is "gather foxes"?
AI Overview
Learn more

The moral of the "Fox and the Grapes" story is that it's easy to belittle or disregard something you cannot have, essentially meaning people often pretend not to want something they can't achieve, often making excuses to mask their disappointment; this is often described as "sour grapes" behavior.

edit: that was also the contributing reason why bite bullet and re-pick up driving . I dont do certain things is for society better good. i am tired of foxes attitude people around me

pepsitwist

people cannot be pleased.
esp in sg there is nthing much for people to cultivate zenness. u earn more ppl angry. u earn less people also angry

Last time starting i was earning 2k+ and friend already earned 5k+. Actually felt nothing within me

I guess this is the diff between hubs and I. He looks at others and wants to be like them and makes himself so miserable. I look at them and i'm like hmm ok can good to know. I got enough can liao

flowerpalms

Expected bah. Luckily my generation spread too wide so not much comparison. Youngest early 20s oldest late 60s.
Got this nasty cousin

Last time when single nv visit grandma
Then after married and with kid, wah suddenly want to organize gathering at grandma house. Show off

I would call it revenge show off
Because last time this cousin also married and have kid at mid 30s. Now act like married with kid got higher status.

Then give angpao right is no blessing one. Just shove.

I rmbr there was once during cny sometime back. There was a circle formed and sit around. This cousin arrived, nv say anything then immediately pick up the son and put in the middle of the circle. Like expect people pray like that. Then I am like wtf ?

Lss

Y u no wan say ohhh moi one alone burst ec budget :(
Tbh I dunno what they thinking 16k buy those 5room ec is like suicide. Really need inheritance. Else is benefit of those who earn comms only.

ahboy82

Tbh I dunno what they thinking 16k buy those 5room ec is like suicide. Really need inheritance. Else is benefit of those who earn comms only.
5rm ec likely for parents to live together with the son or dotter la. Hence combined money to buy loh. :(

Lss

Got this nasty cousin

Then after married and with kid, wah suddenly want to organize gathering at grandma house. Show off

Because last time this cousin also married and have kid at mid 30s. Now act like married with kid got higher status.

I rmbr there was once during cny sometime back. There was a circle formed and sit around. This cousin arrived, nv say anything then immediately pick up the son and put in the middle of the circle. Like expect people pray like that. Then I am like wtf ?
Treat as childcare issit. Then can take breather. I suppose all parents have done this at some point.

pepsitwist

Some ppl ok to spend >50% of their pay on mortgage ma.. Or they have alot of cash for downpayment and take lesser loan

5rm EC is how much? Got 2m?

Autumn.

Last time starting i was earning 2k+ and friend already earned 5k+. Actually felt nothing within me

I guess this is the diff between hubs and I. He looks at others and wants to be like them and makes himself so miserable. I look at them and i'm like hmm ok can good to know. I got enough can liao
that too for me. but also i really like the things i do now. this is sthg i was pondering about when i was in my young teenage years.

unfortunately what i did not expect was the stress and focus i needed for these specialised work, hence the higher pay and i need to readjust my lifestyle for that. such as hiring PT cleaner, spend $$ for delivery. $$ to body build certain core muscles to carry heavy equipment

now that i lightly mention i needed to move, then i get judge first, not asking why i had made that decision.

edit: my boss and my older colleagues are at their twilight years. so i really would like to learn as much as possible from them before they decide to hang up their boots. my older colleagues are at late 70's looking like mid 50's . one of them this year is 79 years old. my peer say he plan to move back to spain when the crew retire for good

Lss

5rm ec likely for parents to live together with the son or dotter la. Hence combined money to buy loh. :(
Makes sense but quite recipe for disaster.

Own house really shouldn't rely on parents or even in laws.

flowerpalms

Treat as childcare issit. Then can take breather. I suppose all parents have done this at some point.
This is the kind of nasty angpao that I will not hesitate to give away. Want to give , at least give with blessing. Give like people owe you like that

yukirin92

5rm EC is more than 1m downpayment, maswell buy full condo or landed :o

TonyDelPiero

No. Cpf deduction increase mah cos cash is lesser mah

huh you all never increase the deduction meh
Only those who earn 8k and above for ordinary wages.

With that said, wah you really speak the truth. No wonder, you cannot leave your current job like that.

pepsitwist

Got this nasty cousin

For a moment I thought that cousin married then divorced then married again

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.