❓ How many here will not and never consider visiting China for vacation? ❓

testerjp

BTW to those who scare about hygiene.

Almost all the restaurants I went to use uv light to kill germs on the kitchenware. They will also provide you a bowl plus a boiling pot of water for you to sanitize again yourself.

The food are cooked at high temperature, don't think germs can survive that. :s13:

coyote

my marriot member get gold after few trips to China LOL, $100-$200 per night for their atas hotel chain.
now i go overseas with wife for holiday i dont even need to pay for the room, all use the point to exchange.
i dont understand why they spilt into dust bin, even chio bu also do that.

Brother, many years ago, the Shanghai hotel I stayed was over $500 Singapore dollars... The most expensive hotel I stayed ever...🙏😓

coyote

Having been to China about two times (hangzhou and Beijing), other than short trips to hong Kong, zhuhai and Macau, I think China is quite advanced and good

hangzhou - 5 star hotel cos it’s partly worktrip

Beijing - backpacker hostel cos it was part of my rtw trip. I reached Beijing from the port of tianjin (sailed from Incheon) and left Beijing by the Trans Siberian

my only comments

Air in Beijing can be bad
CNY is bad - by reputation cos I don’t go there during CNY

Don’t do or say anything stupid and you should fine. Never encountered any pickpockets or anything so I will say ok la.

But one thing is important is to know some Chinese when going there. Cos many people can’t speak English there or have the weitd

Indeed, Beijing weather is too harsh ... Shanghai is much better. I will have many opportunities when my kids grow up... Just not now...

ctstalin

Went to Shanghai recently, will want to go explore other chinese cities as well.

Emperor_Hippo

History is such a beautiful thing. The fall of CCP will be a blessing for all Chinese people.
the base ideal of communism and socialism is beautiful. dun talk abt all the corruption or money stuff.

the actual power of a united country with ppl casting aside their individualism for the social and common good and progress of the nation led by a benevolent dictator is beautiful.

Japan, China, Taiwan, Singapore, Southeast Asia.... The commonality of Asian nations is our desire for the common good (ok, I say again, u dun look at pork barrel politics in Japan or corruption in S. Korea or China).

but humans are fundamentally flawed beings. That's where the rot sets in.

Emperor_Hippo

greatgrandfather and for some grandfather land.
wondering if i will be a 富二 if my ah gong din leave for Singapore and my maternal ah ma din run away from arranged marriage to seek true love.

basket, on 2nd thoughts, din know my grands are so progressive in 民国时代.

testerjp

Everytime you board their taxi, the drivers will ask you where you re from. If you said you re fr Sg, their NATIONALISM will insist tat Sg is part of them. So is tat enuff to stop me fr going?😡😡😡
Really ah, i went there like for over a decade haven't met yet.
Most don't even talk.

Once, i took those illegal pool cars before didi wasn't available yet.
I was sitting beside this xmm.

The XMM saw me talking in English and said "哥哥你会讲英文,很厉害耶!“

Another time i booked this hotel they saw my Singapore my passport.
我你们哪里有林俊杰,陈洁仪,很好听耶!
Can buy the sim card from shopee. Only a few bucks nia but works well.

Nowadays i have a china Sim card, just top up RM9 to maintain every month.
My business partners help me get one.
That's the best solution for frequent goers but i only go like once or twice a year

Before than. I bought their prepaid card 30gb then use this AC VPN from Romania.
Can use for five devices. Cheaper and better than ExpressVPN.

I always suspect ExpressVPN is CCP's trojan.
AC VPN is from Romania, they have the best hackers and have very poor extradition law.
They are also very honest that they will only log for 1 day because must keep track of brute attack or something.
After that one day, all data are permanently destroyed.

AuraKUPO

I used to go to China for work quite often last time and maybe because of the places I visited were all in industrial areas, it was the last place I would want to go on my own for a vacation

But this is about to change - I am planning to visit Beijing and Shanghai for 2 weeks in May for leisure hahah
I can bet you will hate china for life after this trip. Going in their golden week is a big rookie mistake. Even the locals warn me not to go.

testerjp

Don’t mind visiting but tiagong the toilets are filthy.
Is true.

The eateries toilet are usually very wet, if u fall down u probably hope to die immediately.
But i'm talking about those extremely run down places which most sinkies won't dare to go.

Places like clinics are still okay
This is from a hospital.
PYWq3bs.png

Departmental stores also okay. Many ghost malls have very clean toilet.
Those ghost malls are somehow interesting to visit, duno how they survive but they still could survive for over a decade

I usually hang out at tier 3/4 towns and small cities, and i'm just describing my experience from there.

2 years ago i found one very high tech public toilet which they built near my usual hangout.
U dump ur sh/t into this hole and inside is a plastic bag. After you are done, they automatically dabao nicely and duno goes where. No water involved. :o

Actually think about it, toileting isn't really that bad seriously, at least there are many places you can actually settle. In Japan very hard to find public toilets other than BIC, Donki, etc.

Dangojr

Indeed, Beijing weather is too harsh ... Shanghai is much better. I will have many opportunities when my kids grow up... Just not now...
Maybe no opportunities before they grow up?

spyder81

What is making you not to visit China.

Note this is not IB thread hokays?
So leave the political hate/patriotism stuff off this discussion :)
Me. Only go if company send. But then I have seen ang mo detained for no reason at their airport.

They put the full glass screening room near counters as if to tell ppl inside all Ang mos fall in line.

Hate their airport screening even transit check everyone grab your privates. Like a walk of shame to their scanning machine everyone behind looking at you.

noobkia

i went to a few different part of china before.
now i kena lock down addicted to chengdu, because know a group of damn wild drinking friends there.
and i like chengdu culture, alot of cosplayer on the street, the people dress damn fashionable and cool and sexy, the drinking street is damn fun. they can really everynight call different people to drink, eat, mahjong.
its like every trip i know more and more friends, and those people are keen to know singapore and outside world, many chinese actually never been to oversea before in their life.
find a Sichuan girl to settle down with if you are single!

Sango123

I think it is tougher for me to go there for vacation due to family. My young girls dont like Chinese food that well.

I do go there at least once a year for work and it has always been Shanghai for the last few years

Quala98

actually China is ok.. except for these:
- toilet is squat
- some places the urinal is what u see in 1980s..
- shopkeepers dun like it when u start taking pictures and videos... including supermarket
- their PAB and PMA are faster than what our lazy boomers use
- the incessant spitting and smoking everywhere. As if they never learnt anything from 2020 to 2023

noobkia

See what happen during covid 19

u shld know what kind of country are them, they always hide thing from happening, 草菅人命, anything when western country question them, they will say....不得干预中国内政

No matter how advance their city state look on the outside, their internal is corrupt one

Not align with my personal value to visit this kind of country
Well look at what happened in US for Covid too when trump was handling it. U mean western countries are very open abt things? U are just v brain washed because u read too much western media and think u know a lot becos u read a lot. But it seems like u are quite a frog in well.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.