Mercs GLB180 vs GLB200

TUV2008

I think it's quite gimmicky unless I can start my car remotely? So that it's not so hot when I sit.

Otherwise mbux with apple carplay android auto is good enough for me in terms of tech.

It is not start car remotely, the app can check whereabouts your car now, if door or window open, fuel level, tire pressure....

TUV2008

Yup more or less.

I've driven jap cars most of my life (cars I own), Toyota and Nissan, except for when I first passed license 20 years ago, I've driven my dad's W210 occasionally.

So i thought of getting a mercs again since it's nostalgic. And since I'm driving a lexus now, the logical next car is either a M, B, A.

I toyed with the idea of E class, A6 or 5 series since I just liked sedan (I honestly don't like suv, and worse mpv), but recently I hired an additional helper so sedan is out.

If you shortlist M, B, A suv (with 7 seater, you are left with:
GLB
GLS
216 grantourer
X7
Q7

I ruled out BM because of the image and poorer reliability, and Q7 and GLS is quite expensive.

So technically left with glb.

I'm just curious about the difference between AD and PI GLB, but all these "experts" want to tell me to get C, E, S and maybach lol.

Yes glb is slow and tight at the 3rd row, but it's really the only car that fit my needs now. If I don't need to carry so many people I prob choose the panamera. 4 people just nice. Next car perhaps.

The only thing I can tell you is GLB180 is only available exclusively at AD, PI only sell GLB200. Check the screen size also, I think PI one is smaller

fulaien

Since you have already more or less made up your mind, then just go for it.

Just sharing a bit. BMW make really good cars since 2019.
Yes i know. My good friend drives a G30 and I have tried it before. The driving experience is much better than my es300h.

But he always complained how it has many issues with the tranmission, suspension, electronic system, etc.

And I really don't like how the image of BM given behaviours of the bm drivers I've met

koster

Yup more or less.

I've driven jap cars most of my life (cars I own), Toyota and Nissan, except for when I first passed license 20 years ago, I've driven my dad's W210 occasionally.

So i thought of getting a mercs again since it's nostalgic. And since I'm driving a lexus now, the logical next car is either a M, B, A.

I toyed with the idea of E class, A6 or 5 series since I just liked sedan (I honestly don't like suv, and worse mpv), but recently I hired an additional helper so sedan is out.

GLB
GLS
216 grantourer
X7
Q7

I ruled out BM because of the image and poorer reliability, and Q7 and GLS is quite expensive.

I'm just curious about the difference between AD and PI GLB, but all these "experts" want to tell me to get C, E, S and maybach lol.

Yes glb is slow and tight at the 3rd row, but it's really the only car that fit my needs now. If I don't need to carry so many people I prob choose the panamera. 4 people just nice. Next car perhaps.
Good that u know what u want bro. Just go for it.

csoyzx

That is good info.
Looks like PI glb are usually better spec.
I bought a car from PI before and the experience is really different from buying from AD..
Like ur scenario the car i bought was made in Japan.. whereas the AD brought in a made in thailand lower
specs and at a higher price.. so this made my decision easier

Normally PI merc has better specs den AD mercs.. and the PI price is slighly lower den AD..
buying from PI is rather daunting for some ppl thats why some ppl rather go for AD..
pls correct me if i'm wrong for mercs AD.. if u have any problem u can call them and they will come
down to ur location to troubleshoot ur problem (provided u still have warranty)

Go for those big and established PI if u decide to buy a PI merc.. and if u are worried abt maintenance
for PI merc.. i think there are a number of good workshops whom will follow the manufacturer manuals
to service ur car

AD Pros AD Cons
Aftersales service Slightly pricey
Piece of mind Lower specs

PI Pros PI Cons
Better specs Eyes must open big big before signing
Better price

Hope this helps in ur decision in purchasing ur new car..
P.S have u consider korean cars? their 1.6t hybrid are also decent and got 7 seaters too..

RalliFTO

Currently driving a GLB180 for also 4 adults (me, my wife, 2 helpers) plus 2 kids.

Space is sufficient for 2 car seats and 1 stroller for normal weekend driving. Despite the smaller engine, I also drove up to Genting Highlands with no issues and it was still rather pleasant for all passengers. It's a SUV so driving in Singapore, I don't have to slowly inch across the numerous humps on the roads.

No great need for performance and in this day and age, the cheapest EV should be able to outperform most ICE cars for 0-100 anyway.

So for my use case, which I think might be quite similar to yours, I'm happy with the choice.

ipaq4444

Currently driving a GLB180 for also 4 adults (me, my wife, 2 helpers) plus 2 kids.

Space is sufficient for 2 car seats and 1 stroller for normal weekend driving. Despite the smaller engine, I also drove up to Genting Highlands with no issues and it was still rather pleasant for all passengers. It's a SUV so driving in Singapore, I don't have to slowly inch across the numerous humps on the roads.

No great need for performance and in this day and age, the cheapest EV should be able to outperform most ICE cars for 0-100 anyway.

So for my use case, which I think might be quite similar to yours, I'm happy with the choice.

how the 2 back seat like? it is suitable for adult for going into the seat and when seated?

TUV2008

I bought a car from PI before and the experience is really different from buying from AD..
Like ur scenario the car i bought was made in Japan.. whereas the AD brought in a made in thailand lower

Normally PI merc has better specs den AD mercs.. and the PI price is slighly lower den AD..
buying from PI is rather daunting for some ppl thats why some ppl rather go for AD..
pls correct me if i'm wrong for mercs AD.. if u have any problem u can call them and they will come

Go for those big and established PI if u decide to buy a PI merc.. and if u are worried abt maintenance
for PI merc.. i think there are a number of good workshops whom will follow the manufacturer manuals
to service ur car

AD Pros AD Cons

PI Pros PI Cons
Better price

P.S have u consider korean cars? their 1.6t hybrid are also decent and got 7 seaters too..

You forgot one important point, if something happens for a factory recall, only AD will do the fix for their own car, PI car will have to 自己顾自己

o blong

Difference in just design and who drink more oil.

GLB is GLB, it's the equal category of GLA.
A and B levels are just what Mercedes chin chye vomit and throw to the mass market to earn extra money because people are SUCKERS for the merc badge and strut like peacocks when they are in reality - Roosters at best.

The real consumer base that Mercedes focuses in order of priority from lowest to highest are C, E, S and Maybach.

Harsh words, but yah, that's the reality of how Merc treats its consumers in reality.

I'd say, neither. If left only 5yrs or lesser, I'd rather u get a simple Jap car.

When u truly make it after that 5yrs or lesser, then walk into Merc showroom at Alexandra to get a C, E, S or Maybach:
- U wan XMM salesgirl talk to you, not so reliable and not so senior, everything no discount/need to check + u wan to jio her out and hopefully u dun kena meatbao-ed, wear branded from top to bottom.
- U wan auntie (but more senior and reliable) saleswoman talk to you, wear normal or berms+tee+slippers.

Wa rao. Really good observation

Nowadays a lot gla glb on sg roads

csoyzx

You forgot one important point, if something happens for a factory recall, only AD will do the fix for their own car, PI car will have to 自己顾自己
The PI i bought from is a established company.. my previous honda vezel got a recall and they sent me a letter and changed the defective part FOC.. it really depends on which PI u go to as some PI car really is have to 自己顾自己

Geylang Prawn Seller

Same engine. Different “clock”. Just like CPU with same die but different clock speed, the lower power one can overclock

fulaien

to service ur car

AD Pros AD Cons

PI Pros PI Cons
Better price

Thanks for your info.
Yes the PI one got "AMG line" which is
I know is just cosmetic. But in singapore traffic I don't need a fast car (if I do i will get an EV)

charleslin

Yup more or less.

GLB
GLS
216 grantourer
X7
Q7

Driving Lexus now really want to move to a Merc?

I daily a Lexus and have an M3, which is really fun to drive, but if I only can have 1 car, it will always be a Lexus for me.

But if really need 7 seaters, then I guess your options more limited, cause the only 7 seaters from Lexus are LX and LM which is not cheap.

I rather get a Chinese EV brand that is cheap than a GLB though, eg the Denza D9.

fulaien

Thanks bro, I totally agree.

If you read back the pages in this thread, people were "advising" me that cannot buy glb because it is slow and got one user ceecookie even said he drive his ah beng car 160kmh in bke. What a joke.

Another clown emperor_hippo was "advising" me that glb is not good and have to get the "real mercedes lineup" of C, E, S or maybach. Seriously i dunno what Mercedes he is travelling in. Probably a citaro.

Nowadays a tesla model Y will smoke the wrx and evo off traffic light (if they want to). I dunno what's with the comments about performance vehicle when I'm clearly asking for a family car.

nit3ex

GLB200 smoother acceleration and pick up.
GLB180 sluggish, the pick up from 0kmh is quite a drag.

For a more comfortable driving exp, i'd say go for GLB200.

I've driven the older GLB180 and currently GLB200.

C4l3b

I daily a Lexus and have an M3, which is really fun to drive, but if I only can have 1 car, it will always be a Lexus for me.

But if really need 7 seaters, then I guess your options more limited, cause the only 7 seaters from Lexus are LX and LM which is not cheap.

I rather get a Chinese EV brand that is cheap than a GLB though, eg the Denza D9.
Don’t mind me asking.. M3 as in bmw M3 or model 3? Don’t use the term loosely..😂😂

charleslin

Don’t mind me asking.. M3 as in bmw M3 or model 3? Don’t use the term loosely..😂😂
BMW M3 :LOL:

As fun as it is to drive, if I only can have 1, I will never buy a BMW lol. But Model 3 Performance probably faster than me.

charleslin

Thanks bro, I totally agree.

If you read back the pages in this thread, people were "advising" me that cannot buy glb because it is slow and got one user ceecookie even said he drive his ah beng car 160kmh in bke. What a joke.

Another clown emperor_hippo was "advising" me that glb is not good and have to get the "real mercedes lineup" of C, E, S or maybach. Seriously i dunno what Mercedes he is travelling in. Probably a citaro.

Nowadays a tesla model Y will smoke the wrx and evo off traffic light (if they want to). I dunno what's with the comments about performance vehicle when I'm clearly asking for a family car.
Depends on usage experience I guess, after driving a Model X in USA, I changed to GLE350 also find it sluggish.

But I think in city driving, especially with the typical cars, the horsepower is enough la, with family also not for racing.

But I find the GLB a bit "cramped" for a 7 seater car, I think it's the width and limitation of the wheelbase.

fulaien

I love my lexus. Super reliable and have not given me much issues yet (touch wood). I just service it twice a year, just the usual stuff. My only gripe is the poor user experience of infotainment system, but you will get used to it.

LM is like luxury alphard and super expensive (like 700k ex).
We don't think we have LX here, only RX.

Tbh there is still brand pressure from family (ie. Wife). Given our family status (we are all have decent positions at work) and housing (landed), we will not consider cars outside of M,B,A,L. In fact wife was telling me to look at porsche but I told her it is not rational for now given the price and reliability. Macan too small, cayenne too expensive, panamera is nice but 4 seater.

Another option is to go EV (tesla model Y, byd sealion 7 or M6), since we can charge at home. But I still prefer my ice car and will want to drive maybe 1 last ICE before transiting to EV.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.