Has anyone taken a 12 to 18 mths break from work?

lovemyself123

just say spending time as caregiver for your father mother brother sister son daughter cat and dog

Tschuus

Assuming finance is not an issue for the prolonged break.

How do you explain your lie flat period whwn going for interviews again?
24 months break from 2020 at the beginning of covid. I did take advantage of all the mid career schemes during that period. So when i start looking for jobs 2 years later i explained that i was on course and working in a startup ( my own sole proprietorship actually ) I got offers despite my 2 years break . 40s

Iamnobodyla

My friend also took a 3 year break due to family issues.
24 months break from 2020 at the beginning of covid. I did take advantage of all the mid career schemes during that period. So when i start looking for jobs 2 years later i explained that i was on course and working in a startup ( my own sole proprietorship actually ) I got offers despite my 2 years break . 40s

bombshell

This must have a strong supporter in the organisation. Most companies will throw out such requests.
If big coy most is ok one, unless they oredi wan to fire u. They know if dun let employee take the leave, next is throw letter liao, so still lose that headcount. Usually it will cost a coy more to re-hire and re-train someone new.

Sforthought

Late 20s quit job and go travel. 20+ countries over a span of 3 years+, total time on road is abt 18 months. 2 words : no regret.
-
Now people go bkk, chiong Japan go korea I jitao no mood. I prefer my hawker center and neigherhood mall. JB also don't wanna go.

3G SAINT

that's true...

but I wonder to myself so when can I stop working? issit work until old and coy dont want me anymore or work until I kenna some kind of illness that makes me unable to work?

either scenario sucks :frown:
Maybe at 55yo juz get part time job and live until 65yo or more:)

If $$$ not a issue got saving...by 65yo maybe we are no longer stay here:(

3G SAINT

Thought of it, but the loss of potential income sibei chor. Lets say annual income $60k + $40k expense = $100k loss for not working 12 mths.
Then if orpit job come back appraisal, bonus, promotion cycle all tio reset, another loss of potential income for next few yrs jin cham 1.
Why need spend 40k once no working:)

If quit spend $10 per day then food eat 2 meal at home.
Can cook porridge,or maggi mee at home...if total no saving better work if not you go borrow $$$ from sibling,bank and unable pay more problem come to you;)

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.