[GLGT] Worse employment outcomes for poly grads in 2024 are not across the board: Chan Chun Sing

Medicated Oil

which the effects can be already seen :

- kids not educated, even at high society level schools,
- punks running amok
- [ jumpping off ] and out from lack of getting A-star grades.

and still they ask, why, DINKs are increasing ? ***** morons , and dogs of their vices,

it angers me to no end when i see my newphews and nieces, all struggling to sustain their decent B grades, when infact, the sheer " competition " between adults truncate down
I am hearing the same feedback when I talk to my friends who are parents.
Something wrong is going on with the present kids.
Seems like we are missing out some areas that we need to address.
The one in charge are clueless and dun want to put their hand into the mess.

jinsadndepress

it may also be the case where the poly graduates are waiting for the "right" pay before they join the workforce.

i.e. my friend get 4k.. you only offer 3k. nah, i shall look for another
Every year will have this kind of peepur ...

What make chiu think this year so special until statistically significant peepur reject ?

tsl707

multiple ministries can and should be replaced with chatgpt or DeepSeek
Doctors and lawyer should be replaced by ai. All the talk can always support by AI which Ai got more database knowledge than these talk only profession.

SayPorkGuy

they waking up to study hard do decent job also struggling to survive while turning to crime got high risk high reward can act gangster and show exciting tiktok life lar. is there a point anymore to live normally? when youths have no hope for the future, they can be radicalized easily cos that is the hope given to them.

BradenHeat

attribute it to the tech age left over : i dont know the term but its the tik-tok era and modern.

where kids [ on reflex, uses it ] but have zero knowledge why and how it works, but the dangers and benefits of the net.

its how we got accustomed to DC power lines, heater or best example from late LKY, Air conditioners.

where its a norm. and we dont actually know how far and wide to appreciate it until we're left OUT of it.

the Army and education must have edge running people, and actual change in the govt to keep up, look at how much in-efficency was found after DODGE of USA dug ? billions wasted for foreign aids and internally, audits fail on the cash flow.

i would imagine the same degree of things here.

[ i dont have a bone to pick with the fk up boomers who wants to hold on power ]

but ive problems, when they blame the younger ones, everyone else for not being hard working and smart in investing, when in fact,

if they have zero relationship, cover their face, hide their identity i bet my cpf they cant even pass the interview stages of current MNCs

Sum up : parents are busy earning and waging,

parents of parents are looking after, but cant enforce strict values ,

end result kids have no idea how to express properly within the [ known area of asian parents ]

Medicated Oil

they waking up to study hard do decent job also struggling to survive while turning to crime got high risk high reward can act gangster and show exciting tiktok life lar. is there a point anymore to live normally? when youths have no hope for the future, they can be radicalized easily cos that is the hope given to them.
I guess the recent CNY visits with their uncles and aunties ranting about their job situation helped to cement that they are just wasting their time in school.

SayPorkGuy

I guess the recent CNY visits with their uncles and aunties ranting about their job situation helped to cement that they are just wasting their time in school.
this is adult parenting issue. adults dontch ever air this type of depressing news before chewren. chu let chewren be chewren, rein them in when need discipline and that's it.

Medicated Oil

this is adult parenting issue. adults dontch ever air this type of depressing news before chewren. chu let chewren be chewren, rein them in when need discipline and that's it.
Dun think they can hide when they are asking each other how they are doing during the only possible session that the whole clan gather together.
If they are retrenched or made a career shift to be grab driver, it is time to come clean about it.
The present teenagers are smart.
They should be able to join the dots themselves.

SayPorkGuy

Dun think they can hide when they are asking each other how they are doing during the only possible session that the whole clan gather together.
If they are retrenched or made a career shift to be grab driver, it is time to come clean about it.
The present teenagers are smart.
They should be able to join the dots themselves.
it's abt showing some tact dey. sinkiepolang really so damn straight and lack social skills ah?

Medicated Oil

it's abt showing some tact dey. sinkiepolang really so damn straight and lack social skills ah?
What else they can talk about during the gathering ?
All the adults stared at the phones to play mobile games.
Not possible, right ?
The teenagers are not blind or ignorant lah.

SayPorkGuy

What else they can talk about during the gathering ?
All the adults stared at the phones to play mobile games.
Not possible, right ?
The teenagers are not blind or ignorant lah.
got my answer to lack of social skills.

SayPorkGuy

Nothing to do with social skills.
It is just the common topic that they dabble on.
Maybe you have some different house rules for your CNY gathering.
lawlz, there are things to discuss in the open and things not meant for chewren ears. imma dontch even know how to go into the lack of situational awareness here.

samferguson

There is no more jobs say no more jobs lah...all taken up by lower mid tier fts...left grab food foodpanda grab security and cleaner
Given another 5 years mandate , grab, Foodpanda, cleaner and security also no more liao.

Medicated Oil

lawlz, there are things to discuss in the open and things not meant for chewren ears. imma dontch even know how to go into the lack of situational awareness here.
I believe I already covered the points in my previous comments.
If you believe that the teenagers are living in some cave, then maybe it is for your case.
The best scenario is to skip the gathering so that the teenagers will stay out of harm's way.

twodragon

My experience was different. I went to ARTS stream because I liked a girl there. My teacher was hopping mad and asked me to transfer stream (Science stream) but I didn’t

I joined nursing also cos of the same girl (and my o levels wasn’t that great anyway) but she dropped out after I signed :(

And no, I never ended up with her. Had a disastrous date with her once but that’s it :(

Almost same, wanted to go NP cuz moi crush went there when SP is literally walking distance from moi house.

End up listening to moi parents and went to SP.... sleeping till class start was a blessing, moi can rush/run to class before the grace period ends (15mins) eg. Class 8am, moi can wake up 8am, brush teeth all then qiong to class by 8.14am

Lemon_Tea

I also like how CCS stuck to his gaslighting strategy accusing poly grads for being picky about jobs. Muahahaha.. I'm starting to like this guy more and more.

He is really pushing his mandate in Tanjong Pagar. I wish all Singaporean best of luck if he is re-elected. :)

twodragon

What is actual sinkie population ?
Less than 1.5 millions and decreasing ?
Sg Inc belongs to the farm owners.
We are all the farm animals lah.
if u count workforce aint surprising.... they give those gst voucher a good amount is non working aging population, just look at the cpf ACC closed recently.....

meanwhile our foreign lords population Vs working peasants, so every 4 ppl u see working, probably 3 is FT, 1 is sinkie (assuming 1m sinkie working, 3m foreign lords working)

1.5m sinkie cpf acc closed
0.5m sinkie studying / NS
1m sinkie working
= 3m sinkie

3m FT = majority sure working with berry low % tage foreign lords waifu or kiddo

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.