Have u ever kenna who tell you, "if do business so easy, everyone is boss liao. Who will want be employee?" But then.. ..

HumJiBeng

I have this classmates during my accounting class. Everytime meet him kpkb his boss, his colleagues. Ask him why don't start own accounting firm since he got his own accounting licence.

He gave the golden reply then I probably heard 100 times from different ppl: "if do business so easy, everyone is boss liao. Who will want be employee?"

But then I brought him to an SME seminar. I show him how I talk to bosses and get client. Now about six months later, I saw his LinkedIn, he already started own accounting firm. I even met him at some seminars.

Seem like many people will assume thing is difficult without even trying. As soon as I spoonfed him, he straight away start own firm liao. And then he told me not difficult at all. But he earns less than he was a full time employees now.

Nowadays so many Malaysian ACCA holders, I don't understand why sinkies still want to fight jobs with them instead of hiring them to work for you. Some more Singapore has made it hard for Malaysians to start own accounting firm in Singapore in recent years as ACCA cannot no longer direct convert to CA Singapore.

ToonBlue

I have this classmates during my accounting class. Everytime meet him kpkb his boss, his colleagues. Ask him why don't start own accounting firm since he got his own accounting licence.

He gave the golden reply then I probably heard 100 times from different ppl: "if do business so easy, everyone is boss liao. Who will want be employee?"

But then I brought him to an SME seminar. I show him how I talk to bosses and get client. Now about six months later, I saw his LinkedIn, he already started own accounting firm. I even met him at some seminars.

Seem like many people will assume thing is difficult without even trying. As soon as I spoonfed him, he straight away start own firm liao. And then he told me not difficult at all. But he earns less than he was a full time employees now.

Nowadays so many Malaysian ACCA holders, I don't understand why sinkies still want to fight jobs with them instead of hiring them to work for you. Some more Singapore has made it hard for Malaysians to start own accounting firm in Singapore in recent years as ACCA cannot no longer direct convert to CA Singapore.
Earn less than full time employees?

mistersatki_

Earn less but how much less ?
Worth it for the time / stress load ?

Later tan bo jiak , lagi stress also

fortunehunter

Same like hawker is hard job and don't earn much.
Than chef from 5 star hotel, Michellin star restaurant or even no chef experience but got ah ma 50 year recipe want to do hawker.r

Can Or Not

He is likely to have a friend/classmate like you. But he got the necessary experience already to get it started. He just lack the clients.

Amosyee002

lol u r right
I should go bluff some JHK to join my firm
Make sure he no work life balance
Make sure he sleep in office
And pay him 2.5k a month

ThinkMe

Your friend got buy abalone to thank you ?

Buy hum ji peng maybe

40850083623_1a0de6a1fb_o-e1558325286495.jpg

HumJiBeng

Out of every 10 startup in sg, how many survive long enough to be profitable long term?
True also… it’s not easy to maintain also…

If you are starting about professional firms such as law firm, accounting firm or doctor clinic, I believe the long term survival is rate is very high.

You are probably referring high failure rate to f&b or tech startups because of their high set up cost

I can answer for accounting firm. Initially, my startups cost is only my laptop. A one man show firm from my home bedroom. Any clients fee is 95% profit (no overheads, some travel expenses plus some meeting room rental). How to not be profitable? Is more of how much I make running own firm vs working for others.

Now I have a few staff. If really cannot make enough revenue to pay my staff, I have no problem letting go all my staff and become one-man-show firm hands-on again. But actually Singapore economy is quite strong, I don't see that happening

Can Or Not

If you are starting about professional firms such as law firm, accounting firm or doctor clinic, I believe the long term survival is rate is very high.

You are probably referring high failure rate to f&b or tech startups because of their high set up cost

I can answer for accounting firm. Initially, my startups cost is only my laptop. A one man show firm from my home bedroom. Any clients fee is 95% profit (no overheads, some travel expenses plus some meeting room rental). How to not be profitable? Is more of how much I make running own firm vs working for others.

Now I have a few staff. If really cannot make enough revenue to pay my staff, I have no problem letting go all my staff and become one-man-show firm hands-on again. But actually Singapore economy is quite strong, I don't see that happening
So many paper work, in professional firm… plus knowledge must be there… too stressful plus also experience.. to learn the knowledge.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.