Demerit points and composition sums for speeding offences to increase from Jan 1, 2026

ShinnAsuka

What do you suggest then? Cannot be jail term for speeding right? If so we won't have enough jail cells to house the offenders.
If I give a solution, should I head the ministry? I have many in mind.

Like some other edmwers say, increasing fines and such are like paying lip service that the govt is doing something (but no action).

Fines are there, jail terms are there. People still speed. It is quite obvious they disregard the existing consequences -- means not a strong deterrence.

drkcynic

Like some other edmwers say, increasing fines and such are like paying lip service that the govt is doing something (but no action).

Fines are there, jail terms are there. People still speed. It is quite obvious they disregard the existing consequences -- means not a strong deterrence.
Many words but still zero suggestions.

Nuclear Boy

I hope Shan can sleep well knowing his lack of strong message and corresponding action will continue to get more ppl killed and not be shown proper justice, be it road users or pedestrians.

codexboy

enforce slow vehicles to slow lane with speed limiter, ban lane splitting for bikes, set fines at % of vehicle omw.

straightforward solutions

Philipkee

Why road hogging not enforced?
Idea

Anyone on speed limit but not overtaking on lane 1 of expresssway - fine

Anyone above speed limit on expresssway even when overtaking - fine

\0/ income opportunity

BigMonkey

if you really have suggestions, go thru proper channel. hwz is not the proper channel

pippo20

Just the increase in fine revenue to employ more TP on the road. Alot of reckless drivers on the road without signalling too.

Comage

You are correct.

And don't waste time - I have tried writing in to suggest repeated offenders be subject to the below punishments for the same (major) traffic offence committed:
Fine > Jail > Capital Punishment

The Ministry said "No".

You may think "wa you siao ah"... but think again, how evil must you be to:
- Run the red lights 3 times in your life? And get away with only a fine and demerits?
- Knock down pedestrians 3 times in your life? And just get away with just a fine, jail and demerits only?

enimen

Maybe in the near future they will use the GPS tracker in erp 2.0 to track u?

Once exceed speed limit they will send you letter

Comage

Just the increase in fine revenue to employ more TP on the road. Alot of reckless drivers on the road without signalling too.
Did you know imposing fines on motorists does not actually translate to more revenue for the government?

Issuing a fine of $100 to a Motorist X does not mean at the end of the FY - the government has +$100 to the Treasury/coffers.

Why?
1) The motorist refuses to pay up and lets the fines rack up - this is more common than you think. I know of at least a dozen vehicle plates with more than 3-6 fines owed, some dating back to even more than 3 years ago. Taxpayer's money is expended to keep track of these outstanding fines.

The longer the fines are dragged unpaid, the more taxpayer money is spent to keep track of it.

2) The motorist lodges an appeal for the fine issued - this needs someone to go process, expending public taxpayer's resources.
3) Similar to #2, but this time the guy goes all the way to insist to fight in Court. More taxpayer resources are expended just for that 1 x ticket.

Shion

Senior Mentor
how many malaysian vehicles driven by malaysians kena caught, fined, thrown into jail ?

Comage

Sounds good - but doesn't work when in tunnels or during inclement weather, or when in very dense building areas like some HDB blocks which are > 20 storeys high just less than 100m apart.

It will in fact open up a can of worms for counter-lawsuits against inaccurate accusations.

BMWguy

Then how those who says Lane 1 no speed limit one and driving at 120km/h in lane 1 how? Many of them here

enimen

Then how those who says Lane 1 no speed limit one and driving at 120km/h in lane 1 how? Many of them here
If assuming govt don't give chance , just auto fine and demerit whoever speed, regardless highway lane1 or not, then all who speed will kenna loh

BMWguy

If assuming govt don't give chance , just auto fine and demerit whoever speed, regardless highway lane1 or not, then all who speed will kenna loh
haha.. at least 50% EDWMers say lane 1 no speed limit.. they better be careful sia

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.