MrAwesomeX
Never thought of it that way.
Hope tonight I can die in my sleep.
Die in sleep is a dream end for most ppl .
Most is endless suffering till the end .
Never thought of it that way.
Hope tonight I can die in my sleep.
Die in sleep is a dream end for most ppl .
Moi think thailand better.. can enjoy milk shake. Tom yam soup every month.
I will choose Malaysia amongst the 3 due to non language barrier. The 3 country you name is equally problematic.
Thailand is catching up with our expenses so your dollar can't really stretch there. Vietnam expenses are still ok and it's comparable to Malaysia.
The perk in Vietnam and Thailand that you can choose to live in places like da nang, da lat, chiang mai which is quite cooling.
So depending on you uncle, if you move there alone or with spouse.
Medical assistance in dying is even better. Can plan. Say goodbye to loved ones all beside. Then die in sleep with help from the medications.Die in sleep is a dream end for most ppl .
Or medical assistance in dying also same.Good karma then die in sleep, I hope that will happen to me eventually.
But Thailand is more expensive and everything must be in Thai. There's a growing trend of Chinese, but still mostly in Thai. And Thai people mostly cannot be trusted.Moi think thailand better.. can enjoy milk shake. Tom yam soup every month.
I thought with $2k a month can live like king in Bangkok? Rental all in. Got restrictions on property ownership right?But Thailand is more expensive and everything must be in Thai. There's a growing trend of Chinese, but still mostly in Thai. And Thai people mostly cannot be trusted.
Vietnam takes a lot more to get used to, but it's much cheaper and Viets are slightly more trustworthy.
And Viets are also harder working than Thais.
Malaysia is the most similar to singapore in terms of culture and lifestyle, only thing different is a bit of the language.
both Vietnam and Malaysia are also generally speaking, much cheaper than Thailand.
You think you can get a cheaper deal for tech products in Thailand? nah, it's more expensive.
You think food is really cheaper in Thailand? nah, it's more expensive. you only think it's cheaper because of confirmation bias, if you life there, to enjoy a similar level of lifestyle, it's generally more expensive, like if you go groceries, it's the same price in SG, apples for example, WAY more expensive than in SG. You pay almost 2-3 bucks for 1 apple.
There are cheaper things in Thailand, like condominums are generally cheaper, but only if you are willing to live in a 30sqm shoebox. then you're paying $300-400/month. You can get cheaper if you move further away from the city, but then you're stuck with the BTS and MRT. And the suburbs are not as convenient without a car.
I was once asked by a family friend who are retiring from Canada, they want to retire in asia, but not in SG, they were former Singaporeans. They asked me Thailand or Malaysia, i broke it down for them the pros and cons, and at the end of the day, they decided to go with Ipoh Malaysia.
You'll think also, oh that's just Bangkok, that's true, most other provinces are cheaper, but again, everything are in Thai and the culture and lifestyle is even more different than Bangkok/SG. You can live in really cheap condos in a province like Kanchanaburi, Hua Hin, Saraburi or even Hatyai. But the lifestyle is extremely different, you don't have the same level of conveniences as Bangkok/SG.
I'm not saying there's only bad things about Thailand, but you really have to do your calculations in terms of expenditure and curb your expectations when you move there.
There are a lot of Singaporeans there, most made a life for themselves, either by starting their own business or even working for major corporations that pays them extremely well. So they can afford to live there with no external stress other than work stress.
If you retire as a multi millionaire, then I'll say Bangkok would be a better choice, you can get a 300sqm condo for around $2m, maybe slightly more now due to inflation. you can buy an S-class mercedes for around $80-100K. you can then also get more cars if you want to.
If you stay in the really suburb area, like at Kingkaew, Saimai, BangPhli, Bangbon area, you can get 3 storey terrace houses for around $500k to $1M, depending on area and the developer. But again, you cannot buy land, so you have to have a Thai Wife to buy, or start a company with you only having 49% ownership to buy that house.
But if are going to retire with just a few hundred Ks from your CPF, then forget it. you're better off staying in Singapore and flying to Bangkok every few months for holiday. You don't have as much headache as you would once you start trying to live there.
Trust me, once you live there, you'll start hearing. "THIS IS THAILAND" so often, you'll want to cut off your own ears and burst your eardrums.
Oh don't get me wrong. I am not suicidal.I am sorry to hear that.
For me, there is still so much I want to do, see, taste, feel, smell, hear, love and things to think about.
Earth can be Heaven if you learn how to enjoy /appreciate simple things in life and the beautiful landscape you get to see in Canada. No matter how bad your life can be, there are many who are having far worse than yours.
No regret for me but there are still many things I want to do.Oh don't get me wrong. I am not suicidal.
Is just acceptance. I am ready for death too.
Live life like everyday is the last day of your life. I have no regrets.
If you died today you would regret right?
I won't.
Does it mean I don't wish to see, taste, feel, do , smell, hear, and love today? No I will. And I have gratitude for everyday as well.
But dying isn't so bad. I will also embrace it. Look at the good in dying as well.
Part of this is also my work is about dying. And making sure people die peacefully and painlessly as good as dying can be. I have all these discussions every week. It runs off I guess?
Like I said hope. Not actions to get closer to death. But when it happens to me (cancer) I am familiar with how it goes after.
That's good. Wishing you peace and happiness.No regret for me but there are still many things I want to do.
I thought with $2k a month can live like king in Bangkok? Rental all in. Got restrictions on property ownership right?
| Toyota Yaris 1.2L | |
|---|---|
| Downpayment | 35K |
| Annual road tax for 601cc to 1800cc (1.5 baht per cc) | 1.8K |
| Annual Insurance | 6.6K - 20K depending on coverage |
| Servicing every 10,000KM | 1K - 2K |
| Monthly petrol cost (fill up once every 5 days) | 9K +/- |
| Monthly expected cost | 20K +/- |
2k cannot lah possibly 4k and more
below all in baht
Housing
rental for a townhouse (not in BKK CBD) is about 10k - 20k
electricity + water bill is around 2-3k
home internet is less than 1k
SIM card is free (bundled with home internet)
other non touristy area even cheaper. i live in nakhon sawan.
BKK is only good for convenience sake.
tourist can only legally own condos.
best to rent not buy
Cost to own a new car
Toyota Yaris 1.2L Downpayment 35K Annual road tax for 601cc to 1800cc (1.5 baht per cc) 1.8K Annual Insurance 6.6K - 20K depending on coverage Servicing every 10,000KM 1K - 2K Monthly petrol cost (fill up once every 5 days) 9K +/- Monthly expected cost 20K +/-
20 + 3 +1 +20 = 44k baht. CAD$1850
Need another 44k baht for food and leisure?
Not that cheap then.probably need additional 2k SGD for food and leisure
Not that cheap then.
if not living in bkk + 2nd hand car can probably cut it by half
Medical assistance in dying is even better. Can plan. Say goodbye to loved ones all beside. Then die in sleep with help from the medications.
Dying as good as it gets.