Starhub UltraSpeed 3Gbps/5Gbps/10Gbps plans

xiaofan

So better to use band steering or not ?

Yeah a bit disappointing that the range never improved after all this years so wanted to get the eb810 for better coverage but the high power consumption and price is not worth it for my use case of basic YT/netflix.

Yeah rebooted both still nothing, maybe is device issue though cuz specs say 6e but never say 6ghz. Will try test with a wifi 7 device tmr.

For HB710, I use four SSIDs (2.4GHz, 5GHz, 6GHz and MLO) and no Band Steering.

Initially I was using HB710 with Band Steering ON but later decided to turn it OFF due to the fact some wireless clients will connect to 2.4GHz and not 5GHz band even at close range.

xiaofan

My initial HB710 wireless speed test results for references back in Dec 2024 -- using Singtel 5Gbps. It is behind the main OpenWRT router (Double NAT).

Tomorrow I will carry out the test again after installation of Starhub 5Gbps plan -- I will use it as the main router.

1) WAN Speed and very close range wireless speed test with WiFi 7 laptop.

https://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/...plan-launched.7024290/page-152#post-154724059
HB710 WiFi 7 speedtest, Acer Swift Go 14 2024 model, Intel Core Ultra 5 125H CPU, 16GB/1TB, Windows 11 24H2, built-in Intel Killer 1750 WiFi 7 adapter.

6GHz band, laptop is less than 1m above the router.

Singtel 5Gbps plan. HB710 is in router mode, behind my main virtual OpenWRT router (Double NAT).

HB710 built-in OOkla SpeedTest shows 5109.9 Mbps download and 4984.6 Mbps upload speed, quite good already (real download speed is higher at about 5.6Gbps). This is the wired speed from the router to the internet.

qqujZXI.png

Best wireless speed I can get for tonight, tested from the Acer laptop.

9l6wmx7.png

https://www.speedtest.net/result/d/9927fc07-50a7-4ee2-880d-5230bb621240
Qddl2ZI.png

4CJVFWO.png

2) 3m, 6m (one wall) and 8m (two walls) wireless speed test with WiFi 6 laptop
https://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/...plan-launched.7024290/page-152#post-154725845

Indeed. My quick test shows the coverage is not as good as my Asus RT-AX86U and Asus TUF-BE6500, but still decent. This is kind of expected.

I will carry out more coverage related tests over the weekend to compare with Asus RT-AX86U and Asus TUF-BE6500.

6GHz coverage may not be good -- so I tested 5GHz coverage using my older Acer Swift 3 laptop early 2021 model (Intel Core i5-1135G7 CPU, 16GB/512GB) with Intel AX201 WiFi 6 adpater in this quick test.

TP-Link HB710 router in the living room.

3m away in the living room, strong signal on the 5GHz band

kK7ZXlq.png

6m away with one thick wall in between, common toilet, still quite good signal on the 5GHz band.

This is an 1998 HDB flat so the walls are thick and can block WiFi signals quite effectively.

DM9Fpcj.png

8m away with two walls in between the laptop and the router, weak signal on the 5GHz band. The results are not as good as the two Asus routers.

qD2VYsw.png

3) 8m (2 walls) wireless speedtest with WiFi 7 laptop.
I have also results comparison with RT-AX86U in the same page.
https://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/threads/starhub-ultraspeed-5gbps-plan-launched.7024290/page-155

HB710 router, Acer Swift Go 14 2024 model (Intel Core Ultra 5 125H CPU, 16GB, 1TB, Killer BE1750 WiFi 7 adpater based on Intel BE200 chipset).

8m away with two walls in between the laptop and the router, weak signal on the 5GHz/6GHz band.

5GHz vs 6GHz vs 5GHz+6GHz MLO at far range ==> all speed data are not good. 5GHz is actually the worst, probably due to more interferences from neighbours in that area (service yard, on top of the washing machine).

2.4GHz/5GHz SSID --> connected to 5GHz band

0wRs5G0.png

MLO SSID, 5GHz+6GHz MLO

sCbVAt1.png

6GHz SSID

E2LgBtX.png

xiaofan

3m distance test tonight. Singtel 5Gbps plan, Acer Swift Go 14 laptop 2024 model (Intel Core Ultra 5 125H CPU, 16G/512G, Intel BE200 based Killer BE1750 WiFi 7 adapter, Windows 11 24H2).

HB710 is behind OpenWRT main router (Double NAT). Often in this type of setup, HB710 has the issues of lower download speed than the upload speed using 6GHz SSID or the 5GHz+6GHz MLO SSID. No such issues with 5GHz SSID.

1) 5GHz+6GHz MLO
Bash:
PS C:\work\speedtest\ookla-speedtest-1.2.0-win64> .\speedtest.exe -s 13623

Speedtest by Ookla

Server: Singtel - Singapore (id: 13623)
         ISP: Singtel Fibre
Idle Latency:     6.78 ms   (jitter: 2.33ms, low: 3.90ms, high: 9.25ms)
    Download:  1220.50 Mbps (data used: 1.3 GB)
                 14.71 ms   (jitter: 5.63ms, low: 5.41ms, high: 30.20ms)
      Upload:  2226.68 Mbps (data used: 4.0 GB)
                 14.77 ms   (jitter: 5.50ms, low: 3.42ms, high: 43.00ms)
 Packet Loss:     0.0%
  Result URL: https://www.speedtest.net/result/c/270ad256-cb7d-4ccf-b927-0472d22459c1

2) 6GHz SSID (320 MHz channel bandwidth)
Bash:

Speedtest by Ookla

Idle Latency:     4.51 ms   (jitter: 1.27ms, low: 3.42ms, high: 7.73ms)
    Download:  1256.47 Mbps (data used: 1.4 GB)
                 16.29 ms   (jitter: 5.70ms, low: 5.72ms, high: 29.72ms)
      Upload:  2403.30 Mbps (data used: 3.0 GB)
                 13.12 ms   (jitter: 4.70ms, low: 3.94ms, high: 28.58ms)
  Result URL: https://www.speedtest.net/result/c/6ebbb99a-8345-4bf1-86a1-c09642547e1e

3) 5GHz SSID (160 MHz channel bandwidth)
Bash:

Speedtest by Ookla

Idle Latency:     4.16 ms   (jitter: 0.82ms, low: 3.51ms, high: 6.19ms)
    Download:  1618.64 Mbps (data used: 1.6 GB)
                 15.41 ms   (jitter: 6.69ms, low: 5.00ms, high: 63.58ms)
      Upload:  1247.72 Mbps (data used: 2.3 GB)
                 26.19 ms   (jitter: 10.79ms, low: 6.10ms, high: 72.81ms)
  Result URL: https://www.speedtest.net/result/c/e8044a07-4736-42d9-bccf-c62b4fc468d5

4) 2.4GHz SSID (20MHz channel bandwidth)
Bash:

Speedtest by Ookla

Idle Latency:     6.86 ms   (jitter: 3.10ms, low: 5.36ms, high: 10.81ms)
    Download:    81.21 Mbps (data used: 40.7 MB)
                 68.16 ms   (jitter: 23.76ms, low: 7.71ms, high: 317.53ms)
      Upload:    51.63 Mbps (data used: 88.9 MB)
                 80.78 ms   (jitter: 25.40ms, low: 16.50ms, high: 286.99ms)
  Result URL: https://www.speedtest.net/result/c/effd206d-0da7-4dfe-b96d-ae7efaf05453

xiaofan

Still waiting for Hubtrooper to install the 5Gbps internet (upgraded from 500 Mbps to 5Gbps).

Interestingly I can see the speed is already at 1Gbps (not changing to XGS-PON ONT yet).

I bought the HB710 in Dec 2024 and I will use it as the main router for this 5Gbps service.

Using HB710 Web UI SpeedTest.

ERAgXjJ.png

Using HB710 5GHz WiFi and a WiFi 7 laptop (Intel BE200 based WiFi 7 adapter).
Bash:

Speedtest by Ookla

ISP: StarHub
Idle Latency:     6.97 ms   (jitter: 0.42ms, low: 6.67ms, high: 8.30ms)
    Download:   938.67 Mbps (data used: 1.1 GB)
                 11.64 ms   (jitter: 19.83ms, low: 6.44ms, high: 268.72ms)
      Upload:   907.01 Mbps (data used: 1.0 GB)
                 10.76 ms   (jitter: 5.02ms, low: 6.79ms, high: 226.47ms)
  Result URL: https://www.speedtest.net/result/c/5727b446-0197-4bbf-86fc-2836373127e8

xiaofan

Starhub hubtrooper just came and installed the ONT. Same Fibre port is used. Same Fibre cable is used as well since it is still good enough. But he passed me the box of the Nokia XS-240X-A with the new Fibre cable as well for backup.

I was given the free TP-Link EX510 (Aginet) as well. I ask him not to open the package, but I will open it later and test it even though I am not going to use it. Rather I conencted the HB710 to the ONT as the main router. Then I still keep the old Huawei AX3 Pro as an AP since some legacy devices may work better with it.

WAN speed from TP-Link HB710.
8kmjC6D.png

From my Acer Swift Go 14 2024 model laptop with XikeStor USB4/TB4/TB3 to 10G NIC, wired connection.
Bash:
PS C:\work\speedtest\ookla-speedtest-1.2.0-win64> .\speedtest.exe -s 4235

Speedtest by Ookla

Server: StarHub Ltd - Singapore (id: 4235)
Idle Latency:     3.41 ms   (jitter: 0.62ms, low: 3.25ms, high: 4.78ms)
    Download:  4732.02 Mbps (data used: 4.7 GB)
                  3.07 ms   (jitter: 0.18ms, low: 2.87ms, high: 4.50ms)
      Upload:  4625.12 Mbps (data used: 3.5 GB)
                  3.95 ms   (jitter: 0.57ms, low: 2.78ms, high: 7.02ms)
 Packet Loss: Not available.
  Result URL: https://www.speedtest.net/result/c/ba90a8fc-7972-4075-9682-d3685f6a4d8b

xiaofan

1m distance WiFi 7 speed, Acer Swift Go 14 2024 model laptop with Intel BE200 based Killer BE1750 adpater.

1. 6GHz SSID
Bash:

Speedtest by Ookla

Idle Latency:     6.88 ms   (jitter: 0.63ms, low: 6.51ms, high: 7.89ms)
    Download:  2900.68 Mbps (data used: 3.2 GB)
                 81.30 ms   (jitter: 14.50ms, low: 9.33ms, high: 185.79ms)
      Upload:  2196.59 Mbps (data used: 2.7 GB)
                  9.33 ms   (jitter: 2.76ms, low: 5.10ms, high: 30.21ms)
  Result URL: https://www.speedtest.net/result/c/658c8667-755e-48a1-893f-bb44ed6c0454

2. MLO SSID (5GHz+6GHz)
Bash:

Speedtest by Ookla

Idle Latency:     7.79 ms   (jitter: 3.61ms, low: 5.76ms, high: 14.18ms)
    Download:  2743.83 Mbps (data used: 3.1 GB)
                 85.17 ms   (jitter: 14.56ms, low: 4.94ms, high: 177.40ms)
      Upload:  1263.19 Mbps (data used: 1.2 GB)
                  9.39 ms   (jitter: 2.71ms, low: 4.98ms, high: 21.06ms)
  Result URL: https://www.speedtest.net/result/c/2c410e49-6c05-452e-b24c-9715398b7ace

3. 5GHz SSID
Bash:

Speedtest by Ookla

Idle Latency:     5.80 ms   (jitter: 0.94ms, low: 5.33ms, high: 8.27ms)
    Download:  1293.83 Mbps (data used: 1.2 GB)
                 49.32 ms   (jitter: 15.79ms, low: 5.65ms, high: 137.00ms)
      Upload:  1469.31 Mbps (data used: 926.2 MB)
                 23.33 ms   (jitter: 8.73ms, low: 6.29ms, high: 51.68ms)
  Result URL: https://www.speedtest.net/result/c/4de4280c-e11b-47a7-aaba-1d6f01cabe92

xiaofan

IPv6 works fine without an issue.

Aginet remote access seems to work fine as well when I use my mobile data connection.

xiaofan

BTW, the hubtrooper saw my XikeStor USB4/TB4 to 10G adapter and asked me about the pricing, since his one is said to be spoiled. I recommended the IOcrest version to him as it is a bit cheaper.

It seems to me they have to buy the 10G adapter by themselves.

cstanhwz

BTW, the hubtrooper saw my XikeStor USB4/TB4 to 10G adapter and asked me about the pricing, since his one is said to be spoiled. I recommended the IOcrest version to him as it is a bit cheaper.

It seems to me they have to buy the 10G adapter by themselves.
Yup, my installer also said they pay for it themselves. He was using the OWC one. Laptop too. Since they are 3rd party installer. Not really from SH.

cstanhwz

Try "support" but it gives "Invalid login credentials. login attempt failed x times". I also tried "useradmin", "admin", "superadmin" all fail to login. I am very sure the password is correct, I have a photo of it.
My ONR is a Nokia XS-2426X-A. Could starhub have changed the password after installation?
Then don’t know liao.

Anyone else knows and can help Hanwudi?

moofiee

Wifi speed test with my Laptop on MLO and 6GHz and can only get about 1.7k mps+- download.

MediaTek Wi-Fi 6E MT7922 (RZ616) 160MHz Wireless LAN Card

Guessing because its 6E with 160MHZ support. sigh.

xiaofan

wifi speed test with my Laptop can only get about 1.7k mps+- download.

MediaTek Wi-Fi 6E MT7922 (RZ616) 160MHz Wireless LAN Card

Guessing because its 6E with 160MHZ support. sigh.

Yes that is expected.

WiFi 6E and WiFi 6 have basically the same speed since no 320MHz channel bandwidth support.

Anyway, 1.7Gbps speed with MT7922/RZ616 is pretty good already.

You have to get WiFi 7 adapters with 320MHz channel bandwidth to break 2.4Gbps wireless speed barrier.

vaxvms

How does this compare to SH/M1 ONR offerings?

Edit: Just looking at the device numbers, seems like HB611 is worse than HB710 as a free bundled router.

u need compare red vs green vs orange first

once u decide on colour no need think so much

for me even red give me 12 mth free to chg fro green i also dun wan as comfortable with green

vaxvms

Still waiting for Hubtrooper to install the 5Gbps internet (upgraded from 500 Mbps to 5Gbps).

Interestingly I can see the speed is already at 1Gbps (not changing to XGS-PON ONT yet).
just wondering 3gbps need chg ONT ?

xiaofan

just wondering 3gbps need chg ONT ?

Yes, need to change.

3Gbps/5Gbps/10Gbps plan --> XGS-PON based plan and need to change to XGS-PON ONT, mostly Starhub is now issuing Nokia XS-240X-A ONT. It is actually the same as Singtel issued Nokia XS-240X-A ONR, but the configuration is different. Starhub configues it as an ONT (only 10G LAN port is working). Singtel configures it as an ONR (both the 10G LAN port and 1G LAN ports are working).

BTW, the hubtrooper took back the old black GPON ONT (Nucleus ConnectConnect ONT). He told me this is part of the SOP now when upgrading from 500Mbps/1Gbps plan to 5Gbps plan.

xiaofan

For people who do not want to use default Starhub DNS servers.

Example for HB710.

Need to edit the WAN connection and set the custom DNS server in the advanced settings. You can see I am using Google DNS and Cloudflare DNS here, with both IPv4 and IPv6.

There is no DoH (DNS over HTTPS) or DoT (DNS over TLS) settings available for HB710.

veb2c4C.png

ftmKIET.png

idiots

Hi, I just signed up for the 5G ultra broadband. Given that I did not purchase a 5G capable router, is it possible that I hook up 3 different 1G capable routers to the Nokia XS-240X-A ONT so that all 3 of the routers share the 5G bandwidth or are all the other ports of the ONT disabled?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.