New Ubiquiti setup! Still a work in progress.

jasonho

To be fair, when i click on xiaofan';s link

it was showing the page 1 ,,, =/ so i tried to see the setup testing you did, but its all xiaofan's compilation only
:s22:
my bad

Qhora and Asus GT6 , with TP link ?

you staying in 2 level mansionatte ?

20 to 25 clients ? thats with IoT ?

no la, not exactly clean , but studio recording room, has much more devices and others,

VQ = to me can drop one

but right now, can you sustain those 3gbps and above wireless ?

Personally, i prefer the compact slim type routers, with active cooling any day.

TP link, Asus etc, christ... im done with ugly gamer esque size and rgb
Yeah it’s not your fault. It’s @xiaofan fault la. Hahahaa

Above 3gbps yes. Above 4 depends on day and time one.

110sqm 5rm flat la. Only <10 IOT devices, the rest are notebooks , mobiles/tablets, TV boxes like Apple TV and android boxes, etc. and some person project devices

Due to the fact that I didn’t preplan cabling before renovation, I have to use wireless mesh lor

xiaofan

Yeah it’s not your fault. It’s @xiaofan fault la. Hahahaa

Above 3gbps yes. Above 4 depends on day and time one.

110sqm 5rm flat la. Only <10 IOT devices, the rest are notebooks , mobiles/tablets, TV boxes like Apple TV and android boxes, etc. and some person project devices

Due to the fact that I didn’t preplan cabling before renovation, I have to use wireless mesh lor

Haha, I agree that is my fault. :ROFLMAO: :ROFLMAO: :ROFLMAO:

Matrock5

Hi Experts,

in my previous home my Unifi Ubiquiti setup was

1. TP-ONT-ISP (VQ) - Asus Router - 1 AC Pro

Now that i have move and bought a resale HDB i plan to do the following for a start can any experts advise me? My knowledge is still basic and i am hoping to find more content books online to read and learn. I plan to get them from Bizgram Sim Lim.

1. TP-ONT-ISP (Still deciding) - UDM SE - 2x AP (U6 Pro, U6+ or U6 Long Range?)

ShrmnK

Hi Experts,

Now that i have move and bought a resale HDB i plan to do the following for a start can any experts advise me? My knowledge is still basic and i am hoping to find more content books online to read and learn. I plan to get them from Bizgram Sim Lim.

You're on the right track, but do you intend to future proof or need the wifi bandwidth of Wifi 7? Otherwise I'd recommend U6 Pro. The LR doesn't do much better than the Pro in indoor settings with our concrete walls in SG. U6+ uses MediaTek chipset, Pro uses Qualcomm.
Some anecdotal evidence from users on Reddit and the Ubiquiti forums suggest some issues with MTK chipsets for certain clients. My own experience was with sticky iOS clients preferring Qualcomm (had U6 lites in rooms, U6 Pro in the living but my iOS devices always stick with the living AP even after reducing broadcast strength), so my recommendation is just not to mix chipsets; stick with all MediaTek or all Qualcomm.

Matrock5

You're on the right track, but do you intend to future proof or need the wifi bandwidth of Wifi 7? Otherwise I'd recommend U6 Pro. The LR doesn't do much better than the Pro in indoor settings with our concrete walls in SG. U6+ uses MediaTek chipset, Pro uses Qualcomm.
Some anecdotal evidence from users on Reddit and the Ubiquiti forums suggest some issues with MTK chipsets for certain clients. My own experience was with sticky iOS clients preferring Qualcomm (had U6 lites in rooms, U6 Pro in the living but my iOS devices always stick with the living AP even after reducing broadcast strength), so my recommendation is just not to mix chipsets; stick with all MediaTek or all Qualcomm.
This is really useful info and i am very appreciative for this info. In terms of ISP, setup using UDM SE as the controller do you have any idea? or is there any good youtube or guide which can guide and explain users like myself with basic knowledge to setup in a HDB environment?

ykeen

Hi Experts,

If you are getting 5Gbps or 6Gbps fibre plans, maybe can consider UCG-Fibre ? Since it is cheaper than UDM-SE and perform better at 5Gbps IPS performance than the 3.5Gbps IPS performance of UDM-SE

This is really useful info and i am very appreciative for this info. In terms of ISP, setup using UDM SE as the controller do you have any idea? or is there any good youtube or guide which can guide and explain users like myself with basic knowledge to setup in a HDB environment?
Setting up UDMSE or any UCG should be pretty straightforward to refer to manual (just refer to it on Ubiquiti site) or there should be tons of youtube video referencing it as well. (I randomly googled and found this)

can also play around with the design center https://design.ui.com upload your floorplan, designate concrete walls, and add the devices into the plan to connect them up to simulate how the WiFi signals may likely propagate.

ShrmnK

Agreed UCG Fiber would be better but depends on how soon you want the setup for local stock availability. Also presumably you'll see an influx of UDM-Pro/SE units on Carousell once the new 10G capable gateways are available locally for those itching to swap to the latest and greatest

firesong

Hi Experts,

The U6 Pro is considered a newer generation over the U6-LR, and the range difference isn't that far off. Not gonna feel the difference much in a HDB flat.

sacredrays

can the express 7 host the unifi network while running on ap mode? or only on gateway mode?

sacredrays

Conclusion​

In summary, the UniFi Express 7 can host the UniFi network, running the controller software, only when in gateway mode. In AP mode, it operates as a managed access point, extending coverage but not hosting the network. This distinction is crucial for network planning, ensuring users select the appropriate mode based on their needs for management versus extension.

Basically, like asus router, or those other all in one routers, once configured, the other profile cannot be used.

you're trying to run behind another ISP given router?

Hosting the Network: Limited to Gateway Mode​

Given the above, it seems likely that the Express 7 can host the UniFi network, meaning run the controller software, only when in gateway mode. This mode enables it to provide the necessary network services for management, such as DHCP, routing, and firewall functions, which are essential for the controller to operate effectively. In contrast, AP mode positions it as a subordinate device, managed by another controller, and thus unable to host the network.
This conclusion is reinforced by the device's design, marketed as a "Cloud Gateway" first, with AP functionality as an additional, secondary role for network expansion. For example, the NasCompares review from February 25, 2025, emphasizes its primary role as a network gateway, recommending it for scenarios where gateway services are needed (UniFi Express 7 Review - Small, Yet Powerful?).

Comparative Analysis with Other UniFi Devices​

To provide context, other UniFi devices like the Dream Machine or Cloud Key are explicitly designed to run the controller, often in gateway configurations. The Express 7's ability to run the controller aligns with these, but its mode-dependent functionality (gateway for hosting, AP for extension) is a notable feature. This flexibility is unexpected for a compact device, offering users the option to scale from a standalone network to part of a larger system, but it requires understanding the mode implications for hosting capabilities.

Table: Operational Modes and Hosting Capabilities​

ModeRoleCan Host UniFi Network?Key Features
Gateway ModeRouter, Network HubYesRuns controller, manages other devices, provides routing
AP ModeWireless Access Point, ExtensionNoManaged by another controller, extends WiFi coverage
This table summarizes the modes, their roles, and whether they support hosting the UniFi network, clarifying the dependency on gateway mode for management functions.

User Implications and Recommendations​

For users, this means that if you want the Express 7 to host your UniFi network, configure it in gateway mode, ensuring it acts as the central management point. If you need additional WiFi coverage and already have a controller (e.g., another UniFi device), you can set it to AP mode, but it will not host the network. This dual functionality is particularly useful for small to medium networks looking to scale, offering cost-effective solutions without needing separate controller hardware initially.
ya.. thinking of the various options. seems like its like the previous express..

want to make it work like an ap + controller set up

maybe can try disable dhcp or something, but searching online seems like don't have anyone with a convincing result yet. :ROFLMAO:

xiaofan

ya.. thinking of the various options. seems like its like the previous express..

want to make it work like an ap + controller set up

maybe can try disable dhcp or something, but searching online seems like don't have anyone with a convincing result yet. :ROFLMAO:

Behind Singtel ONR?

One option is to bridge the ONR and then you can use the UX7 to its full ability.

There are detailed instructions to bridge all the Singtel issued GPON and XGS-PON ONR in this forum.

The easier way is of course to avoid Singtel/WC if you want to go with Ubiquiti ecosystem.

sacredrays

huh how come need to. ?

share your idea, no matter if its dumb or not, its odd that you want it as a AP and. controller.

if thats the case, just express + flex. mini ?

Behind Singtel ONR?

One option is to bridge the ONR and then you can use the UX7 to its full ability.

There are detailed instructions to bridge all the Singtel issued GPON and XGS-PON ONR in this forum.

The easier way is of course to avoid Singtel/WC if you want to go with Ubiquiti ecosystem.

ya if lets say go for singtel onr lor.. then use express as ap + controller for clean set up and no double nat

and yes, just considering the options see if viable or not. if bridge the onr might as well get the dream router liao eh.. :ROFLMAO: :ROFLMAO:

AlvinDj

Very new to Unifi's space..

Looking to setup my M1 6gbps with the latest Cloud Gateway Fiber + U7 Pro Max or just a Dream Router 7

Love the form factor of UCG Fiber..

Would these be a simple setup along with M1's 6gbps?

ykeen

Behind Singtel ONR?

ya if lets say go for singtel onr lor.. then use express as ap + controller for clean set up and no double nat

and yes, just considering the options see if viable or not. if bridge the onr might as well get the dream router liao eh.. :ROFLMAO: :ROFLMAO:

If you do DIY bridging on Singtel then actually can just insert the SFP+ directly into the UDR7 or UCG-Fbire SFP+ WAN port then no problem liao

ykeen

Very new to Unifi's space..

Looking to setup my M1 6gbps with the latest Cloud Gateway Fiber + U7 Pro Max or just a Dream Router 7

Love the form factor of UCG Fiber..

Would these be a simple setup along with M1's 6gbps?

Shd be fine with ONT based ISP (M1), UCG-Fibre or UDR7, however it seems at the moment in UI US store even UCG-Fibre is sold out.. UDR7 is readily available. Not sure how local availability will be, worst case is get from US..

shd be straight forward to setup, look at either manuals on Ubiquiti site, or some videos from youtubers

sacredrays

You can just use UDR 7 And express 7 as ap

The onr will not impact for UniFi products from my experience

its least problematic like Asus , just plug and play
that would be pointless. might as well get udr + u7pro. but nvm see local pricing for the new wifi7 products ba. :ROFLMAO:
If you do DIY bridging on Singtel then actually can just insert the SFP+ directly into the UDR7 or UCG-Fbire SFP+ WAN port then no problem liao
ya this one also viable but a bit more effort needed, and seems like cannot have the digital phone line..?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.