New Ubiquiti setup! Still a work in progress.

AlvinDj

May I ask, if the U7 Pro or U7 Pro Max or U7 Pro Wall, can be placed inside a closed carpentry which is situated almost in the middle of the house and yet still perform as per normal interms of coverage and performance?

Or must it be exposed..

ykeen

that would be pointless. might as well get udr + u7pro. but nvm see local pricing for the new wifi7 products ba. :ROFLMAO:

ya this one also viable but a bit more effort needed, and seems like cannot have the digital phone line..?

ya if SFP+ into Unifi then dun think possible to have digital phone line.. unless they give u SIP credentials then u setup own soft/hard phone

ykeen

May I ask, if the U7 Pro or U7 Pro Max or U7 Pro Wall, can be placed inside a closed carpentry which is situated almost in the middle of the house and yet still perform as per normal interms of coverage and performance?

Or must it be exposed..
Likely ok if it’s just wood panels and no glass that affects wifi signals.

but of course if it’s exposed and with line of sight would perform better.

ShrmnK

that would be pointless. might as well get udr + u7pro. but nvm see local pricing for the new wifi7 products ba. :ROFLMAO:

ya this one also viable but a bit more effort needed, and seems like cannot have the digital phone line..?
Yup unless you get SIP from provider, which generally most provider don't entertain request for residential subscribers.

that being said VQ is possibly making it a reality for residential, or at least those on SFP+ module ONU to still be able to use their voice landline subscription.

AlvinDj

Likely ok if it’s just wood panels and no glass that affects wifi signals.

but of course if it’s exposed and with line of sight would perform better.
I think I might just go for a U7 Pro Wall coupled with a Table Stand on an open shelf for it to be out in the open instead..

Any users of U7 Pro Wall can chime in alittle? :)

ShrmnK

I think I might just go for a U7 Pro Wall coupled with a Table Stand on an open shelf for it to be out in the open instead..

Any users of U7 Pro Wall can chime in alittle? :)
The radiation patterns suggest the ceiling mount APs give you more uniform signal. You mentioned your cupboard is middle of the house so that (mounting on top of your cupboard) may play better in your favour than the IW

https://help.ui.com/hc/en-us/articles/115005212927-AP-Antenna-Radiation-Patterns

sacredrays

whats the difference between the u7pro and u7promax other than the radio scan feature and slightly better wifi speed? seems like a 100 sgd difference not sure if worth paying more for or not.

BradenHeat

And so... U7 Lite & U7 In Wall has been announced..

Without 6ghz
In wall makes sense, but 7 lite, seems like they are trying to clear the old stocks from u6 lite with reshelling the internals.

u7pro / max, UD7 and Express 7

finally the Fiber

theses are the only ones worth importing

firesong

In wall makes sense, but 7 lite, seems like they are trying to clear the old stocks from u6 lite with reshelling the internals.

u7pro / max, UD7 and Express 7

finally the Fiber

theses are the only ones worth importing
LMK when you're importing the fiber k? =)

sacredrays

eh? dream router 7 the only poe slot is 15w power budget? like that cannot plug the 7pro ap liao eh.. wth..?? :ROFLMAO: :ROFLMAO:

sacredrays

use injector lor
not saying i duno got such thing as poe injector, just saying the one and only poe port on the udr7 only give poe instead of at least poe+ which makes no sense other than to limit the use-case of having it.. :ROFLMAO: :ROFLMAO:

sacredrays

hmm.. saw from ubiquiti mwc25 on their subreddit got many upcoming models, like udr 5g, ap 7 pro xg and more

ShrmnK

not saying i duno got such thing as poe injector, just saying the one and only poe port on the udr7 only give poe instead of at least poe+ which makes no sense other than to limit the use-case of having it.. :ROFLMAO: :ROFLMAO:

Agree with you, but also there's a toggle in the U7 pro settings to basically reduce max power usage; useful if you only have that one AP to fit in the 15W power budget. I toggled it on with my old US-8-60W PoE switch while waiting for the PoE+ injector to ship for about a month no issues. My broadcast strength is medium/low/medium for 2.4/5/6 ghz

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.