[15 Mar 2025] Bartley Rd East accident: 70-year-old motorcyclist dies; 30-year-old female driver arrested

Macrossvin

in olden days.....a teacher / master is like a parent to their student.... when the student is at fault..... it shows that the teacher / master is at fault as they failed in their teaching.... therefore..... maybe TP should review who teaches this lady to drive........

charliebrown

cannot imagine.. got to live e rest of ur live knnowing u actually kill someone and cannot brush aside w a simple oooop....

messidona

in olden days.....a teacher / master is like a parent to their student.... when the student is at fault..... it shows that the teacher / master is at fault as they failed in their teaching.... therefore..... maybe TP should review who teaches this lady to drive........
the driving syllabus for class3a in driving centre is quite lame. they force you to take many stupid simulator lessons and theory evaluation tests but you can clear the practical lessons in 18-20 lessons. if you heng then your road segment during tp test is 5 mins. just go out u turn then come back lol.

other countries focus more on practical driving experience. must clock 100 hours before you can sit for test. The test is also focus on road driving and not in the circuit

driving centres here only care about squeezing you for $$$ and teaching you to pass the test. i pass liao still go for orientation/refresher to learn about 45 degree parking and expressway driving cause they don't teach you that while you are learning.

lalalalalala

the driving syllabus for class3a in driving centre is quite lame. they force you to take many stupid simulator lessons and theory evaluation tests but you can clear the practical lessons in 18-20 lessons. if you heng then your road segment during tp test is 5 mins. just go out u turn then come back lol.

other countries focus more on practical driving experience. must clock 100 hours before you can sit for test. The test is also focus on road driving and not in the circuit

driving centres here only care about squeezing you for $$$ and teaching you to pass the test. i pass liao still go for orientation/refresher to learn about 45 degree parking and expressway driving cause they don't teach you that while you are learning.
usually is cost barrier. when i learn practical already $45 an hour. now it's probably closer to 100 / hr. if need 100 hrs means 10k to take driving lesson

buzzlightyear852

the woman is blind? every car alrdy stopped at traffic she still can chiong so fast?

no matter how safe or alert u are sometimes this is the kind of idiot that takes away innocent lives

fartking

females usually poor judgement and fickle minded. always flip prata and easily paranoid

last time my female boss go and password protect all the files until we kpkb it is stupid cause it causes the file to crash when we try to save it. she scared people from other dept can see our files.
Same my boss now doing same, all folders, files all password protek.

kenne79

How can anyone blame the bike when at a red light he filter and change lane.

can see there no intention to stop. Is either the bike or those moving cars gg tk get bang. She definitely not watching the road infront. Uncle very unlucky. But sadly our soft law will not punished this reckless drivers.

fortunecat

Please ban PHV! All these once-in-a-blue-moon drivers are really fugging road hazards :ROFLMAO: :ROFLMAO: :ROFLMAO:

No amount of COE would stop them since they are crowd-funded -- in a sense :ROFLMAO: :ROFLMAO: :ROFLMAO:
Why are PHV once in a blue moon driver? They should drive more than normal people?

osirisx

cannot imagine.. got to live e rest of ur live knnowing u actually kill someone and cannot brush aside w a simple oooop....
Sure or not?
From the photos posted, she looks very nonchalant, just another day, another minor inconvenience.

osirisx

How can anyone blame the bike when at a red light he filter and change lane.

can see there no intention to stop. Is either the bike or those moving cars gg tk get bang. She definitely not watching the road infront. Uncle very unlucky. But sadly our soft law will not punished this reckless drivers.
Alot of these drivers glued to their phone

DragonFire

https://www.straitstimes.com/singap...-auxiliary-cop-who-is-now-in-vegetative-state

The case above so many aggravating factors, and the drunk cheongster only got less than 4 yrs!

He drank for 7hrs & still drive, not only drive but still speed until 134kmh, nearly kill the auxiliary police officer on duty and caused damages to multiple public properties...... and only got 3yrs+ jail & a 10 year ban only (not even lifetime ban!)

So for this case, I will not be surprised if the penalty will be exceedingly shockingly low since the lady drive did not consume alcohol & might not be speeding.
Sometimes the expectation is for the victim to pursue civil settlement/compensation. In these cases you don’t actually want the fellow to be locked away forever. You want them to be able to come out so that they can service their debts.

Btw those who say declare bankruptcy and sua should be unhappy to learn that injury compensation debt in Singapore, like debt to the government, CANNOT be struck off by bankruptcy.

xdivider

That's why this charge had to escape.
The most can mitigate it is got take evasive actions, but there's not enough response time.

For this case, seems like no evasive actions taken.
jam break count or not......ironically i rather she dun jam break cos high chance she will get t-bone by the traffic.......

Bloodbro32

I think if she tio charge by dangerous driving and insurance got chance will not payout

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.