Frequent Tokyo traveler, please share affordable food recommendation

ctan84

So far, my previous reservations were mostly either a small deposit or require a credit card number. Some only got my contact number, hotel and name (ordering course menu/ala carte). Never tio full payment.
This one depends on how "fine dining" is the restaurant one. 2 n 3 stars michelin (across cuisine types) in Japan usually expect full payment but but full refund is available if cancel at least 48 hours in advance.

IAmChiobu12M

I also suprise. My trip for Oct cost me average 300-350 per night for normal 3 star hotel at Tokyo.
I thought edmwer here keep saying tokyo is cheap compare to SG. Knn
Is very expensive! I tried to book cheap hotels also not that cheap just that I book way earlier still manage to get ave 150 per night. Like 6 mths ahead.

Monstruo^

Go to Tabelog, look for anything between 3.5 and 3.7 ratings. Reasonable yet decent options would be 2000-4000 yen per person. I go for a mix of high-end dining and typical family restaurants and food courts in their malls.
Tabelog, 3.5 and above ish very good to Japanese. 3.3, 3.4 also good. 4.0 ish like Michelin liao. :s13:
4.5 and above, must be very good but very expensive.

I see got 3.4 I okay liao. 3.8 ish I will be very happy.

They damn stingy in rating and like to rate 3.0 only. Some Japanese say until damn nice then rate 3.0. :rolleyes:

IAmChiobu12M

Which part of Tokyo will you be staying and visiting? How far are you willing to travel for food? What is your ideal budget for a low cost meal?
I wanna go all the typical places, staying at ikkeburo. Ideal normal would be within $30 per pax.

IAmChiobu12M

Eh I’m going next week. You all got booked for your favorite Omakase? :o :s13:

Actually Japan ish not cheap, but depending on seasons and what you eat, where you stay. My flight ish expensive, going during peak Sakura season mah, same for accommodation also not cheap.

Food - I go for more expensive food so also not cheap lah. I got book Omakase and Kaiseki. If you say $150 per person per meal, usually is Omakase type. It can be lunch or dinner. Dinner Omakase can range from $150 to over $300. Lunch can be $60 to $200+ also have. If eat those Kobe beef also not cheap, in hundreds.

But yes, $150 per person per meal ish expensive. Actually no need eat so expensive for every meal. Can tell us what u all book for the four meals?

Those that said Japan sibei cheap ones, yes also, but they probably go eat Saizeriya, konbini, and those normal chain restorans. And stay at places further away. And book super early. Flight also book super early and non peak season. My friend booked those very far away one like need to walk 30mins to Akihabara. But per night she says ish $50-$80 nia. Then food anyhow eat cheap cheap. And no entertainment, no Disney no USJ. Then flight is $350-$500 nia and budget airline.
I booked my flights n hotel 6 mths in advanced so is cheap. Hotel + flight 2 pax 3k for 10 nights. JAL.

And yes will be having omakase at ginza 1 night.

ctan84

Tabelog, 3.5 and above ish very good to Japanese. 3.3, 3.4 also good. 4.0 ish like Michelin liao. :s13:

They damn stingy in rating and like to rate 3.0 only. Some Japanese say until damn nice then rate 3.0. :rolleyes:
Nah. You will be surprised that a lot of michelin 1 star restaurants in Japan hovers between 3.3 - 3.5.

IAmChiobu12M

Oh okay. I thought you meant you went last October. Tokyo Station and Ueno both are good locations. I usually stay at Shinjuku or Shibuya.
Shinjuku or Shibuya too expensive since I'm also going peak period. And I'm very picky must have separate toilet and walk in shower which limit my choice even more. I don't like japanese style room.

IAmChiobu12M

I be honest, if you are not the kind to spend, then better make it clear to your friend or there is going to be some quarrelling once you are in Tokyo.

It's clear that said friend purpose in Japan is to eat hyper expensive meals every day.
She's the kind 0 saving one and probably won't anyhow spend too much caz she want but can't afford so ya it should be fine. I know her well. She's not picky on food but just no money sense.

Teufelhunden

True, they are damn conservative in rating.

Teufelhunden

Shinjuku or Shibuya too expensive since I'm also going peak period. And I'm very picky must have separate toilet and walk in shower which limit my choice even more. I don't like japanese style room.
Why not stay at Shinagawa or Akasaka? Kyobashi is alright too.

IAmChiobu12M

Have you look through the above, do research on them and see if u really like to try them?
Yes idm trying them. Idm paying for these just that I was looking at tablelog honestly I feel their restaurant more expensive leh.

Monstruo^

Nah. You will be surprised that a lot of michelin 1 star restaurants in Japan hovers between 3.3 - 3.5.
That’s what they say lah. Like simi 4.0 or 4.5 above means Michelin. Haha. But so far I didn’t see Michelin level but ish rated 3.3 - 3.5. Is it because many Japanese damn stingy to give restoran a higher rating even though the food ish very nice?

I think for Japan, I feel that no need to follow so strictly. Usually anyhow walk in to a shop also nice one.

ksapple

Ippudo 900 yen

Tbh so far plan unplanned meals nicest.

Randomly walk into a restaurant in a neighborhood corner. Best meal best part is nt that ex

N4E.SI

I ask her why all the meals so expensive her excuse is Tokyo is never cheap. But so far this 4 meal she book per pax, each meal per pax already average 150sgd liao. I already buay tahan though I believe is good experience so I thought ok sua just try.

Please share what y'all eat and I want something is for normal budget one. I'm not 20k edmwers lol. Not gonna 11 day eat so expensive all 3 meals.

Tokyo has a really wide range of dining options that cater to all budget. You can have a satisfying filling meal for just 500Y and also can have omakase course that cost up to 50K yen

Can also have very filling omakase dinner with 20 courses for just 6k yen, which is around $60+. Much cheaper than SG jap restaurants

I been to Tokyo alone more than 10 times over the past 2 years

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.