Frequent Tokyo traveler, please share affordable food recommendation

eversomighty

my personal view ar.. since its for holiday so i still add in atas stuffs like omakase, etc but limited for day time only. I will go for restaurants cos lunch menu is a lot cheaper than their dinner pricing! Dinner is where the restaurants make the killings. Dinner will go for the ramen, chain store even the supermarket markdown bento also ok! If supper needed then go yoshinoya or matsuya which they operate 24/7

zoossh

Need advice. Caz sg damn hot and I'm someone not scared cold. Previously I went genting during monsoon Dec period about 16 deg with strong wind I also wore t-shirt shorts lol and at most 1 thin jacket lol. (I'm ok but that time younger maybe now weak idk and idw catch a cold)

So all my outfits are either dress or t-shirt and shorts. I don't even have 1 long pants lol. At work wear dresses, wkends wear leisure. That why no long shirts or pants.

Would I freeze to death? The time I'm going I see temp is 18 to 23? Maybe at night might drop to 10? Idk. Do I need to go GU, donki or Uniqlo buy at least 1 or 2 sets?

You should check the diurnal range. Once after sunset temp will drop to the lower range, also for the dawn.

You need to prepare something very thick and warm for the coldest temperature unless u sure you won’t be outdoor after sunset

As for how thick I dunno as it differs between different people. But indoor Japan are usually very warm.

Whatever layering u had should not be too warm for the indoor, and the outermost layer is for outdoor. If possible plan it such that u only need to take off one layer when indoor.

Some of the more expensive restaurants I go offer cloak for you

cosmothecat

Need advice. Caz sg damn hot and I'm someone not scared cold. Previously I went genting during monsoon Dec period about 16 deg with strong wind I also wore t-shirt shorts lol and at most 1 thin jacket lol. (I'm ok but that time younger maybe now weak idk and idw catch a cold)

So all my outfits are either dress or t-shirt and shorts. I don't even have 1 long pants lol. At work wear dresses, wkends wear leisure. That why no long shirts or pants.

Would I freeze to death? The time I'm going I see temp is 18 to 23? Maybe at night might drop to 10? Idk. Do I need to go GU, donki or Uniqlo buy at least 1 or 2 sets?
Bring some long pants, at night can be quite chilly during spring in Japan, especially with wind chill

Day time sunny not so bad

carey

Beside eating fastfood got any nice local food. I'm not cheapskate just don't ask me every meal per pax 100 can liao.

Average 20-30 per pax per meal is ok.
Most local diners are quite cheap

Ramen under $10 also have

Sushi can be quite cheap - had a nice buffet for less than $50 each

carey

Any good hotel recommendation? Budget around sgd 300 per night
I stayed at Hotel Gracery at Shinjuku recently - got the famous Godzilla statue on top

Pretty convenient location - near to a lot of eateries and Donki

carey

frankly Tokyo food doesn't seem that expensive nowadays, given the low exchange rate plus our own food prices in SG
After the exchange rate, a lot of them are "cheaper" than our lousy japanese fare here

Subprimer

Updates: see latest #297 post. Need advice on outfit.

Post in thread 'Frequent Tokyo traveler, please share affordable food recommendation' https://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/...le-food-recommendation.7113247/post-155754890

Going there 2 weeks time, all the planning leave it to my friend who went Japan 6x but never explored Tokyo before. She's big spender so not sure if is food there really chop carrot or she just decided to anyhow book.

Gonna be there 11 days, and 4 prebook dinner alone cost me $450sgd PER pax so I wanna make sure rest of the days are cheap and good.

I ask her why all the meals so expensive her excuse is Tokyo is never cheap. But so far this 4 meal she book per pax, each meal per pax already average 150sgd liao. I already buay tahan though I believe is good experience so I thought ok sua just try.

Please share what y'all eat and I want something is for normal budget one. I'm not 20k edmwers lol. Not gonna 11 day eat so expensive all 3 meals.
why didn't you invite any of the BBFA to go? Money issue will be resolved by itself

Roid Rage

Updates: see latest #297 post. Need advice on outfit.

Post in thread 'Frequent Tokyo traveler, please share affordable food recommendation' https://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/...le-food-recommendation.7113247/post-155754890

Going there 2 weeks time, all the planning leave it to my friend who went Japan 6x but never explored Tokyo before. She's big spender so not sure if is food there really chop carrot or she just decided to anyhow book.

Gonna be there 11 days, and 4 prebook dinner alone cost me $450sgd PER pax so I wanna make sure rest of the days are cheap and good.

I ask her why all the meals so expensive her excuse is Tokyo is never cheap. But so far this 4 meal she book per pax, each meal per pax already average 150sgd liao. I already buay tahan though I believe is good experience so I thought ok sua just try.

Please share what y'all eat and I want something is for normal budget one. I'm not 20k edmwers lol. Not gonna 11 day eat so expensive all 3 meals.
i go back toyko at least twice a year but i have no food recommendation for u. i have a question instead.

almost all sgreans said ichiran is the best ramen, if you try pls let me know what u think.

if u ask me, i feel it's same same or slightly below ippudo

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.