Frequent Tokyo traveler, please share affordable food recommendation

Monstruo^

Shinjuku or Shibuya too expensive since I'm also going peak period. And I'm very picky must have separate toilet and walk in shower which limit my choice even more. I don't like japanese style room.
I’m staying in Shinjuku hehe. Yah these two 越来越 expensive. 10 years ago also easily $150 per night for Airbnb in Shibuya and Shinjuku.

Which area you all stay ah? And is it Hotel or Airbnb? If two weeks later it should be after the first week liao, prices should have gone down after first week of April.

N4E.SI

@IAmChiobu12M U can use https://tabelog.com/en/ for reference. Most local Japs use this instead of Google reviews

Take note the Japs are actually quite "stingy" with their ratings (i.e. high expectations) so anything above like 3.2 rating is considered very good by international standards aldy

IAmChiobu12M

Hate to break it to you but your friend is a walking red flag.
She's very nice la. Just that a bit blur and no money sense so her bank forever $0 :s13: earn $1 spend $5 kind hahahah

Other than that she's actually very easy going and kind-hearted.

IAmChiobu12M

I’m staying in Shinjuku hehe. Yah these two 越来越 expensive. 10 years ago also easily $150 per night for Airbnb in Shibuya and Shinjuku.

Which area you all stay ah? And is it Hotel or Airbnb? If two weeks later it should be after the first week liao, prices should have gone down after first week of April.
Staying at hotel. I shall open thread and post after I'm back to share more.

RockaRolla

I wanna go all the typical places, staying at ikkeburo. Ideal normal would be within $30 per pax.
Wah lao, ikebukuro no need scared la....tons of small shops everywhere, easily avg $9 per meal nia
If you all hiam the small shops, there got alot of shopping malls.

I just came back from cny tokyo trip. 1 of my meals, brought my parents to Parco Ikebukuro beside the station, the top 2 floors all restaurants, avg $15-$25 nia

Shinjuku or Shibuya too expensive since I'm also going peak period. And I'm very picky must have separate toilet and walk in shower which limit my choice even more. I don't like japanese style room.
Theres alot of smaller hotel operators, they almost always have separate toilet and shower. I noticed its always the bigger chains that have both together like normal hotel rooms

She's very nice la. Just that a bit blur and no money sense so her bank forever $0 :s13: earn $1 spend $5 kind hahahah

Haha, then just drag her to the more budget options lor, just tell her, she already prebook some of the meals...The rest you wanna show her around

IAmChiobu12M

@IAmChiobu12M U can use https://tabelog.com/en/ for reference. Most local Japs use this instead of Google reviews

Take note the Japs are actually quite "stingy" with their ratings (i.e. high expectations) so anything above like 3.2 rating is considered very good by international standards aldy
Maybe that why I sort by those 4 stars above price easily 200sgd above I want faint lol

N4E.SI

Tokyo restaurants are definitely not cheap but quality is there.

You can consider going to the Japanese departmental stores’ basement (eg Takashimaya or Daimaru) and pick up bento sets! Cheap and good! There’s a variety of spread, so you can choose according to yr budget.

The bento sets at Taka & Sogo are actually pretty pricey. Easily 3-4k for 1 decent set.

For the amount you pay, might as well dine at a proper restaurant instead

Japan is a interesting place where their supermarket bentos might cost more than dining in a restaurant where you get served hot meals with free flow drinks :D

IAmChiobu12M

Tokyo has a really wide range of dining options that cater to all budget. You can have a satisfying filling meal for just 500Y and also can have omakase course that cost up to 50K yen

Can also have very filling omakase dinner with 20 courses for just 6k yen, which is around $60+. Much cheaper than SG jap restaurants

I been to Tokyo alone more than 10 times over the past 2 years
Wahhh can recommend $60 omakase? I see tablelog all very expensive...

lalalalalala

Eat ramen lor. Tokyo got tons of ramen. Average price is 1000 yen per bowl

If want to save more there's sazeriya. If still too ex eat 7-11 sandwich and cup noodle

N4E.SI

Wahhh can recommend $60 omakase? I see tablelog all very expensive...

https://www.timeout.com/tokyo/restaurants/best-omakase-sushi-under-5-000-in-tokyo

This list is only a selected handful. Still got a few with unlimited sushi pieces, around 6-7k yen

I can't recommend you specific restaurant cos no idea where you staying. Many of those restaurants are hole in the wall type, so you must stay nearby otherwise damm hard to find.

You slowly explore based on your vicinity

IAmChiobu12M

Oh dear. Looks like is all self-inflicted choices.. all sounds so bougie.
Idm spent a bit to reward myself and enjoy since my last traveling was 6 yrs ago.

But within reasonable range. And is Sakura season take cruise and and watch performance seems quite shiok so ok try once.

Whereas Peter luger only Tokyo have if not is at USA liao. Won't have chance go there anytime soon.

Finish egg already.

She splurge on meals whereas you ask Tokyo food ex or not.

If go travel together sure unhappy one.

🙏
Ok la we went travel 3x before alr. We are very close.

XCalintz

Going there 2 weeks time, all the planning leave it to my friend who went Japan 6x but never explored Tokyo before. She's big spender so not sure if is food there really chop carrot or she just decided to anyhow book.

Gonna be there 11 days, and 4 prebook dinner alone cost me $450sgd PER pax so I wanna make sure rest of the days are cheap and good.

I ask her why all the meals so expensive her excuse is Tokyo is never cheap. But so far this 4 meal she book per pax, each meal per pax already average 150sgd liao. I already buay tahan though I believe is good experience so I thought ok sua just try.

Please share what y'all eat and I want something is for normal budget one. I'm not 20k edmwers lol. Not gonna 11 day eat so expensive all 3 meals.

Tokyo got mani cheap & good food.

Ur friend is correct also but looks like she targeting all the expensive food in tokyo.

IAmChiobu12M

Think go for the street food bah. Think their street food quite affordable. And think often saw on social media their JP Chinese restaurant seems like quite value for money. Maybe should look for some try.
Can I know where are the street food at Tokyo? Idm and in fact I love street food just not sg overrated expensive unhealthy and unhygienic pasar malam.

N4E.SI

Ramen - 1-2k can eat majority of the restaurants aldy. Even those Michelin starred ones also sell ard 1000yen only

Tonkatsu - 500yen can eat full meal aldy

Sushi - 1ooo yen to 50k yen also have, very wide range :D

IAmChiobu12M

from what u sharing, i think this trip will be a disaster for you.
Travelling must have same expectations, budget and habits

all the best my chiobu:love:
Thank you!

IAmChiobu12M

frankly Tokyo food doesn't seem that expensive nowadays, given the low exchange rate plus our own food prices in SG
Everyone says that but when I research I feel Japan Tokyo is not cheap though overall. Hotel small and expensive. Food is wide range. Mrt is complicated. Cab is forget it.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.