jogging and motivation thread

tanminghui1

I used garmin coach. 10km 50mins target in July.

The longest suggested length is 47mins. I been doing for 3 weeks. I was thinking should I not follow it and just do 10km every day for 5 days to make it more effective?

Kuudere

The longest suggested length is 47mins. I been doing for 3 weeks. I was thinking should I not follow it and just do 10km every day for 5 days to make it more effective?
You can run more than what garmin coach gives you, it's just that usually there isn't a need to run that long to improve your 10km. If you want faster gains, then running more is always the way to go.

WussRedXLi

Not sure what you have been doing the past few (3) weeks......but if you are thinking of thinking jumping straight to 5 x 10km next week = 50km weekly, try to run slower at least......if that increase in distance is well over 10% of this week, plus esp if sometimes you try to surge or sometimes you feel good and run faster for a certain stretch or something like that esp if you have not incorporated strength training past few months.

You might not feel pains or stuff like that next week or even the week after next, but it might pop up soon enough.

WussRedXLi

5k @ YCK 2025

Got a 43 yr old damn fast (local standards of coz)

1 Ko, Keane 25 CLUB ZOOM 16:11.67
2 Koo, Emerson 18 MACRITCHIE R 16:12.15
3 Meng Heng, Kang 19 TOTALITY 360 16:14.62
4 Zong, Darrell 25 SINGAPORE UN 16:30.63
5 He, Henry Yong 43 SINGAPORE MA 16:35.03
6 Yeong, Jia Wen, Jonathan 22 HWA CHONG AL 16:59.44
7 Ahmed, Nawaz 22 LACTICBUDS 17:19.53
8 Quek, WeiKiat 26 TEAMFABIAN 17:21.45
9 Nitin, Pranit 18 TEAMFABIAN 17:22.49
10 Agarwal, Pranshu 22 TEAMFABIAN 17:36.94
11 Toh, Yong Hui 24 TEAMFABIAN 17:52.47
12 Hoe, Nathaniel 25 TEAMFABIAN 19:56.60
13 Chue, Zhi Qiang Jasper 20 COUGARS ATHL 20:49.75
14 Heng, Zheng Kai 23 SINGAPORE MA 21:25.52

Singapore Athletics Assoc.-Open Champ - Organization License
SA Age Group Championships 2025 - 13/3/2025 to 30/3/2025
Yio Chu Kang Stadium

Event 723 Men 10000 Meter Run Open
================================================================
Name Age Team Finals
Finals
1 Ko, Keane 25 CLUB ZOOM 33:51.89
2 He, Henry Yong 43 SINGAPORE MA 34:52.37
3 Sng, Raymond 27 CLUB ZOOM 35:49.57
4 Toh, Isaac 22 OLDHAM ATHLETICS 37:22.27
5 Ong, Bryan 22 TEAMFABIAN 37:39.92
6 Saviour, Gilbert Dominic 20 COUGARS ATHL 37:45.67
7 Chin, Matthew 24 TEAMFABIAN 38:48.85
8 Tan, Xavier 22 TEAMFABIAN 39:14.14
9 Chew, JieYang 22 TEAMFABIAN 39:19.62
10 Cheok, Samuel 22 TEAMFABIAN 39:21.56
11 Ahmed, Nawaz 22 LACTICBUDS 39:49.85
-- Chua, Rui Heng 20 CLUB ZOOM DQ TR 4.4
-- Foo, Gerald 27 SIA GROUP SP DNS

tanminghui1

5k @ YCK 2025

Got a 43 yr old damn fast (local standards of coz)

1 Ko, Keane 25 CLUB ZOOM 16:11.67
2 Koo, Emerson 18 MACRITCHIE R 16:12.15
3 Meng Heng, Kang 19 TOTALITY 360 16:14.62
4 Zong, Darrell 25 SINGAPORE UN 16:30.63
5 He, Henry Yong 43 SINGAPORE MA 16:35.03
6 Yeong, Jia Wen, Jonathan 22 HWA CHONG AL 16:59.44
7 Ahmed, Nawaz 22 LACTICBUDS 17:19.53
8 Quek, WeiKiat 26 TEAMFABIAN 17:21.45
9 Nitin, Pranit 18 TEAMFABIAN 17:22.49
10 Agarwal, Pranshu 22 TEAMFABIAN 17:36.94
11 Toh, Yong Hui 24 TEAMFABIAN 17:52.47
12 Hoe, Nathaniel 25 TEAMFABIAN 19:56.60
13 Chue, Zhi Qiang Jasper 20 COUGARS ATHL 20:49.75
14 Heng, Zheng Kai 23 SINGAPORE MA 21:25.52

Singapore Athletics Assoc.-Open Champ - Organization License
SA Age Group Championships 2025 - 13/3/2025 to 30/3/2025
Yio Chu Kang Stadium

Event 723 Men 10000 Meter Run Open
Name Age Team Finals
Finals
1 Ko, Keane 25 CLUB ZOOM 33:51.89
2 He, Henry Yong 43 SINGAPORE MA 34:52.37
3 Sng, Raymond 27 CLUB ZOOM 35:49.57
4 Toh, Isaac 22 OLDHAM ATHLETICS 37:22.27
5 Ong, Bryan 22 TEAMFABIAN 37:39.92
6 Saviour, Gilbert Dominic 20 COUGARS ATHL 37:45.67
7 Chin, Matthew 24 TEAMFABIAN 38:48.85
8 Tan, Xavier 22 TEAMFABIAN 39:14.14
9 Chew, JieYang 22 TEAMFABIAN 39:19.62
10 Cheok, Samuel 22 TEAMFABIAN 39:21.56
11 Ahmed, Nawaz 22 LACTICBUDS 39:49.85
-- Chua, Rui Heng 20 CLUB ZOOM DQ TR 4.4
-- Foo, Gerald 27 SIA GROUP SP DNS

That 43 represent singapore one

WussRedXLi

Test run again. Actually feels a bit cooling (not cold but definitely not hot) with the moderate rain at 23 deg and with some wind somemore, didnt dare to continue keep at 3k can liao....also scared abrasion/blister issues coming up (not gonna be good for the race if sustain any injury)

First time running in true moderate rain (not just mao mao drizzle), i think really need to run on asphalt and Pumagrip.

Just washed the bike and chain yesterday. Not gonna cycle in the rain again. 🤣 Maybe later near to noon it will stop see how if can go out later...... seems like dying down on the radar now.

DxliH8K.jpg

chopra

Anyone gotten shin splints before? What’s e remedy besides stopping running?

WussRedXLi

Short term solution first to alleviate the inflammation and pain if it is really bad, a few days of NSAIDs like arcoxia or naproxen sodium, ibuprofen, no more than 5 days.....very safe if you have no GI issues. Stop once it gets significantly down in pain/tenderness. No need to start if it is a mild case coz it is just a sorta temporary reset button.

Then the simple and long term solution is to strengthen + slowly ramp up distance. Just after a few wks strengthening it works wonders liao, coz of beginner gains. You can start your activity again but no more than 10% increase in weekly mileage. If you are able to identify which activity change, workout or pace change that caused the shin splint, take it out, revert to the old way.

Continue strengthening the anterior tibialis and calves (basically lower leg muscle group) even after you have started running. Go youtube to see the specific exercises in action. Best to achieve the level in which there is additional resistance.
edit - some degree of higher impact loading plyometrics i see would also help increase tendon/ligament health and performance.

Personally i find that for the typical fella just exercising regularly for health, best to keep it at 3% 5% weekly increase. Still will hit your intended distance in no time, say you wanna aim to do 6k 6 times a week. Start at what you had been doing last time with no issue, eg 2.4k. Do the math, 3-5% times 2.5k x 6 and at the previously known paces, then so on and so forth. Don't intro some wierd paces suddenly also, ease into it if you are after speedwork. The key thing to note here is patience. Many do not have the patience.

BTW. i do not believe those theraguns, ice packs/compression/simi sports wraps you see many people out there putting on, massages/tui na, simi TCM methods are gonna help in such injuries.
It is the reset of the inflammation (if it is a serious case, so that it does not like go into runaway mode and just keep being stuck there) and subsequent rest and/or active recovery at a slow pace and gradual strengthening and gently loading and reverting back to what you have been doing that is the key. Then con't to train but very gradual ramp up.

WussRedXLi

I like the way she is doing those push ups.....what i have been doing for training for the past year as well. Explosive up, slow eccentric down, decline of 50cm height + resistance bands. Or you can add clapping as well.
A touch of plyo for middle aged folks is always good for your latter years (for fast twitch)

xiNAKht.jpg

Ender

mai lah......the soggy socks feeling sucks
Wet socks is part of my running. Used to it. In fact these few days my socks are not as wet compare to a hot and humid days. Can see how much much sweat loss I have compare to getting wet from the rain.

Ender

Keep on running, just regressed volume and intensity such that pain level is low. The specificity at low volume is exactly what you need to strengthen.

And put resistance for your ankle dorsi flex to strengthen calf muscle at the tibialis.

Anyway shin splint is an over use injury. It means somewhere along the line your incremental is too much for your current level with volume or intensity.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.