Grace Fu: "I always think that if you're prepared to pay S$18 or S$20 for a pasta, why are you not prepared to pay S$5 for wonton mee?"

zero90

Grace Fu is telling us to be frugal and scrimp.
No money , then dun eat pasta. Settle sth cheaper.

But everything in terms of price is going up and up zz

Medicated Oil

She in the 1st world in sg, yet most sinkies are stuck in 3rd world living standard..
Her comment really show what she is thinking about others.
She is surrounded by 1st world peers.
Her casual comment is not wrong from her POV.

As for the residents who cannot afford, the vouchers will help them to pay for it.
It is already the one-size-fits-all solution to them.

carey

u were saying simi duty.. who check? ah gong or ownself???
Definitely ownself check ownself doesn't work

The AGO still find so many such gross overspending year after year :mad:

SGeans really need to wake up

Calis_Yoda

How does $18 - $20 pasts look like?
Nvr eat before.
Probably that's belong to high class income delicacies.
The 2nd picture has the salmon aglio olio (bottom right) taken by a customer who has written a google review. The other 3 are pictures taken by other customers who have submitted google reviews.

Philipkee

cause.. i pay $18-$20 for a pasta maybe only twice a month max.? really lost touch disgraceful
I know two people

He smokes like a chimney. About one to two packs a day at least so I guess close to $500 a month on ciggies? But complain the coffee so exp

Another one complains the cai png price goes up but spends hundred or hundreds per month on “hope” aka Toto

Meteor84

I know two people

He smokes like a chimney. About one to two packs a day at least so I guess close to $500 a month on ciggies? But complain the coffee so exp

Another one complains the cai png price goes up but spends hundred or hundreds per month on “hope” aka Toto
so.. whats your point? :s22:

xdivider

My point is we can say this is expensive but actually spend a lot on somewhere else

So the bottom line is the thing is not really expensive per se as in unaffordable but we think it’s not worth the price
but the thing is not all people who are complaining about 5$ bcm are the type who can afford to eat 18 pasta regularly. she is basically using that as a false premise..........

Philipkee

but the thing is not all people who are complaining about 5$ bcm are the type who can afford to eat 18 pasta regularly. she is basically using that as a false premise..........
U might be correct but then u should interview social workers who actually visit the house of the poor and see what they actually see

But there are really poor people but they are not likely to be jjww on social media

xdivider

U might be correct but then u should interview social workers who actually visit the house of the poor and see what they actually see

But there are really poor people but they are not likely to be jjww on social media
I noe but most people are pointing out she is basically 以偏概全, or making hasty generalization......again, the comparison of pasta and bcm is oso apples to orange. a 2 dollar increase for a 20 dollar pasta is 10% but a 1 dollar increase for a 5 dollar bcm is 20%. for a HIGH SES person whose staple food is pasta its only 10% increase, compared to the salaryman eating bcm........

CaptchaCheebeh

First of all, pasta prices are ripoff scam prices. Cheap overseas food rebranded as "atas" food here in SG. Same with ramen.

Grace Fu is basically saying "if you allow pasta sellers to scam you, why don't you equally let local food sellers raise their prices to scam you as well."

jiagong

I doubt most people are willing to pay such a high price for a meal like pasta. Even so, they are only eaten once a week or a month at most.

If wanton mee or any other hawker food is $5, everyone is affected, especially the low income group who rely on hawker food, not atas restaurants, for meals.

Her statement is only applicable to a very small sector of the population who eats pasta as regularly as an average person eating wanton mee

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.