• Widening income gap

Votes: 263 30.7%
  • Unemployment/Lack of opportunities for citizens

Votes: 393 45.9%

• Total voters

Shion

Senior Mentor

Election spotlight: Will PAP’s grip hold in newly created Jurong East-Bukit Batok GRC?​

With battle lines redrawn and significant changes to many constituencies, which will be the ones under the spotlight in GE2025? The Straits Times dives into the issues and concerns on the ground, in the newly created Jurong East-Bukit Batok GRC.

https://www.straitstimes.com/singap...-in-newly-created-jurong-east-bukit-batok-grc

mlmooy

Honestly, I’ve told my kids to study hard and go abroad for a better future. Go see the world, don’t stay rooted like papa. Singapore feels too saturated, moving so fast that it has lost its identity. I miss the ’90s and early 2000s—when the pace was more balanced, and the island wasn’t so crowded. Now, the “Garden City” feels artificial—just man-made waterfalls, curated gardens, and enclosed caves. Attractions, concerts, mrts, hdb, roads. Construction is everywhere.

Sometimes, Singapore feels like Disneyland. Citizens are like theme park employees, working tirelessly to bring in more “visitors” and to ensure they have a seamless experience—keeping them fed, making sure they get around easily and comfortably—while earning just enough to keep up with the ever-rising cost of living in the park. Inflation is real. The highly paid, world-class executives running the theme park tell us to work together, stay united, and keep things running—and we do, for the love of our country.

Of course, visitors contribute to the economy, but at the end of the day, they leave with good memories while we remain, tied to our roots and families, continuing the cycle for the next gen.

Is this the “good future” that CHT is referring to? I know, I know… if we’re unhappy, we can always migrate. But it’s also true that I can choose who to believe—and who to vote for.

Humbly, I don’t need anyone to tell me about how a strong mandate guarantees a good, foreseeable future. No one could or should say that. I shall decide that for myself. And right now, I know exactly what’s hurting my wallet—and my dreams.

Eureka75

Most opposition parties except for WP and PSP either make too much noise or have no money to print pamplets to promote their parties to reach out to as many people as possible. They are also divided and members can come and go as they want.

jl9252

Election spotlight: Will PAP’s grip hold in newly created Jurong East-Bukit Batok GRC?​

With battle lines redrawn and significant changes to many constituencies, which will be the ones under the spotlight in GE2025? The Straits Times dives into the issues and concerns on the ground, in the newly created Jurong East-Bukit Batok GRC.

https://www.straitstimes.com/singap...-in-newly-created-jurong-east-bukit-batok-grc
Skali the town council name from Jurong -Clementi TC becomes Jurong East - Bukit Batok - Clementi TC 🫠

yobyella said:
Ya ya ya. Heard that same line every 5 years. But life getting tougher each passing year unquote

I think you refer to pap.
If opp in control Sg in past 10 years, do you think our life is better or worse under pap ?
What are the possibilities.

What weed you smoking?

Singapore has indeed experienced inflation over the past 60 years, with the inflation rate fluctuating between -1.8% and 22.4%.¹ The average annual inflation rate from 1961 to 2024 was 2.6%, resulting in a cumulative price increase of 382.27%.

To break it down further, here are some key periods of inflation in Singapore:

- *1970s:* High and volatile inflation due to global oil crises, with headline inflation reaching as high as 30% in 1974.²
- *1980s-1990s:* More stable inflation, with average annual rates ranging from 1.5% to 3.5%.
Are you sure if past 20 years under opp, our life in general would be better ?

V_for_Vanilla

Vote of no confidence is just party business, and it is supposed to be a healthy mechanism.

Csj won that vote fair and square but cst cried foul and amazingly sinkies bought the betrayal narrative from the media. Even today u hear some daft ones say they will never vote csj cos he was such a traitor.

About nine years ago chen show mao did a similar thing on low thia khiang. Unlike csj, he failed and was slowly cast out of the party as a result.

It seems to me that less of such things are happening today because as u can see from both csj and csm, u win or lose, both end up badly.
The verdict on Chiam is he was a useful tool for the incumbent. Chen Mao spent his younger years abroad before appearing. He is highly susceptible to foreign influence. The ones who are now pushing for woke agenda, be it incumbent or opposition, should be regarded with suspicion.

alvincy

Certain items must be exempted from GST. Medical, School fees, Rice/oil, SP bills.

To recover the loss from the above, 1% tax of item cost more than $10000.

kitaeshi

Every year new update from our millionaire minster, they will always surprise us with their scholar atas speech, this year tells us if we can pay higher price for pasta why not other peasant food..

kitaeshi

Why do we need to vote these part timer who are so busy and can't attend parliament meeting? If they can't attend might else give to those who are willing to serve people instead.

charleslee1989

Men are more open to vote opposition than women because they pay mostofthe taxes and spend a significant percentageif their income to support their families yet dont get much vouchers or tax rebates
Not because they see thru' the PAP and their wayang given by their training in NS???

New environment
- Real Accountability, Real Responsibility and Real Transparency.

You know what that mean.
Just play back what Canto TSL shared in the meeting the other day.
That's right!

Lol

TCB really suan The White Gang - If do wrong, step down and cumback another day

lol!

No use to be talented. Must have chiobus in the team to win grc. Sinkies see where got. Chiobu they vote wisely more
Aiya....Maybe this coming GE got some chiobu leh?

Misleading title don't even need to win lol
Thread is misleading.
No contest in the SG post.
Therefore, no win no loss

Dr Tan said it's a joint decision as Poa decided not to run SG post.
This means that LMW LLST have to take up the Sect-Gen post because he is the most suitable candidate to be liao lol....

I have no doubts on talents and experience, but younger men and women are sorely needed. the fight is a long drawn one
Got lah...You just see the PSP's candidates in the coming GE lor... ;)

hazel like will quit psp after next election
If she quit, she wouldn't even want to contest for the CEC liao.....

this lady is a bit soft, like not willing to do mud fight, its tough.
The stuff she writes is very sharp though....

Not surprised.

but what TCB and Tiagong King will be surprised is how much their votes will shrink

See what happens in the coming GE lor...

chongquan82

Singapore no hope liao

Vote for opposition ish useless

Vote for pap to speed up the collapse

😊😊😊

Emperor_Hippo

Not because they see thru' the PAP and their wayang given by their training in NS???
TCB prob believes the time is right and ripe for a 3rd party to pop up in a westminster system.

thus the initial "star power" by trying to use LHY in the walkabout.

not sure if anyone noticed, but TCB was capitalizing on the Oxley Road saga to pitch PSP "against brothers" to sell some form of "credbility" to PSP.

and of cos "TCB, ex-presidential candidate" and capitalizing that he's the one against Tony Tan which see his votes split by 1 crazy old coot and a political opportunist seeking to prove his ex-boss GCT wrong. sympathy votes on the last GE for PSP.

LMW and Hazel Poa are just TCB's pawns in the chess game if u ask me.

那只老狐狸.
Aiya....Maybe this coming GE got some chiobu leh?
SXL and TPL.
This means that LMW LLST have to take up the Sect-Gen post because he is the most suitable candidate to be liao lol....
not llst.

more like TCB wanted LMW to re-step up as SecGen.

TCB doesn't want to be secgen on 2 issues - his past with PAP, he doesn't want to be seen as a political opportunist and capitalist.

staying as chairman gives him the swagger to do things, but not to the point where he's running the show.

LMW is the perfect front.

Hazel Poa is too weak as secgen. dun forget, she was secgen in NSP
The stuff she writes is very sharp though....
i know 20 other women who can write and even better.

big deal? :s11:
See what happens in the coming GE lor...
mark my words.

shikoo

but that is only if WP go Punggol contest.
dont see a repeat of Sengkang 2.0 if is other parties
Even if WP go Punggol contest, highly unlikely will see repeat of Sengkang 2.0, last time pap cock up with Sengkang voters stuck in queues for hrs and pissed them off and vote for WP, and also make Jamus Lim shined too much in online rally. Now no more online rally liao

EJB

Opposition not ready for a complete take over of the gov now. But the time will come one day.

For now, denying pappies 2/3 majority is good enough.
Yep... need to ease them in. You let them 100% walkover, we are as good as dead.

alvincy

There is a real possibility of a total opposition wipeout in the coming GE.

Does Singaporean still want to MP to grill Ministers for answers which they don't usually provide?

Does Singaporean still want to see an empty Parliament sitting when Parliament only sits for 30-40 days per year and yet the PAP MP seems to be so busy unable to attend the sittings.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.