[CONSOLIDATED] Myanmar/Bangkok earthquake

EDMW-Hates-Me

Just checked with my relatives at Chiang Mai area which is damm close to epicenter and far nearer than Bangkok. They said no impact as only tremors felt. Looks like Bangkok will continue to be in my travel blacklist.

Bangkok is already a mess and if kena earthquake damage will be really damm jialat sia
You go online see see look look, Mandalay bridges, temples, schools, houses... Many collapsed. Their casualty count prolly much higher than Bangkok despite being much less densely populated.

fortunecat

This was answered in parliament. Singapore buildings designed to withstand 143km/h wind gust.

Said we are located far from earthquake fault zone and all buildings managed to survive magnitude 9 in aceh so no need to worry. That was what thailand thought too?

nevertheless bca has standard for design of building for earthquake resistant starting from 2013. based on eurocode 8. But what about buildings before 2013.

https://www.mnd.gov.sg/newsroom/spe...ational-development-on-buildings-in-singapore

https://www1.bca.gov.sg/docs/default-source/docs-corp-regulatory/building-control/bc3-2013.pdf
Already followed code liao just pray for the best lor, what else can we do? Can't be tear down every building built before 2013 right :o

hotamp

actually lots of the " global " news agency is controlled/funded by the west....they have the resources and journalists on the ground....they want the world to see what they want you to see, read ST see how many articles are reposted from these agencies?

messidona

countries with capabilities will not try to help myanmar due to their civil war. who knows u go there help, u won't able to come back.

and also many people in myanmar are dying to come out of the country especially MEN.. this is what i personally hear from my myanmar colleagues who they are trying to get their family out.. either to Bangkok or Malaysia.

tbh, i rather the country rot to its core, since the Junta so gungho, let them rebuild lor.. why shed crocodile tears?
myanmar men go bolehland to work as waiters. the women come here to work as maid

joshwong11

You go online see see look look, Mandalay bridges, temples, schools, houses... Many collapsed. Their casualty count prolly much higher than Bangkok despite being much less densely populated.
bull$hit. u dont hear tragedy news from myanmar simply because myanmar is built more resilient than thailand during earthquake due to china. myanmar under the grace n patronage of China got advanced china weapons n rainbow drones for emergency rescue mission, china built state of the art bridges, building, roads and railways thru belt&road that resist earthquake and world beating huawei 5g base stations n satellites that can power large scam centres, military bases n communication. even sg cant match myanmar in terms of infrastructure due to china involvement

EDMW-Hates-Me

bull$hit. u dont hear tragedy news from myanmar simply because myanmar is built more resilient than thailand during earthquake due to china. myanmar under the grace n patronage of China got advanced china weapons n rainbow drones for emergency rescue mission, china built state of the art bridges, building, roads and railways thru belt&road that resist earthquake and world beating huawei 5g base stations n satellites that can power large scam centres, military bases n communication. even sg cant match myanmar in terms of infrastructure due to china involvement
You can see many tiongs themselves posting about the damage in Myanmar.

tellyphone007

BKK infrastructure were not built to withstand the Earthquake, unlike Japan. So if say this shake already causes the cracks... Then if one more heavy shake, you know...

_eMuu_

House comes an earthquake so far away can collapsed a building in another country?

AuraKUPO

Just checked with my relatives at Chiang Mai area which is damm close to epicenter and far nearer than Bangkok. They said no impact as only tremors felt. Looks like Bangkok will continue to be in my travel blacklist.

Bangkok is already a mess and if kena earthquake damage will be really damm jialat sia
Chiang Mai is ok bro. We don't have that many tall buildings. But many are old, will have cracks and minor damages.

yperic

MFA advises S'poreans to defer all travel to Myanmar after 7.7-magnitude earthquake​

More than 140 people have died.

The Ministry of Foreign Affairs (MFA) in Singapore has urged Singaporeans to defer all travel to Myanmar after a 7.7-magnitude earthquake hit the region on Mar. 28.

Those who are in or travelling in Myanmar or Thailand are strongly encouraged to e-register with MFA and to purchase comprehensive travel insurance.

The ministry said:

"In view of possible aftershocks, Singaporeans in Myanmar and Thailand are advised to remain vigilant, take all necessary precautions for their personal safety and heed the instructions of the local authorities."

MFA closely monitoring situation​

The earthquake was followed by several aftershocks, which also affected some parts of Thailand.

According to Reuters, more than 140 people have died due to the earthquake.

There are no reports of Singaporeans being injured due to the earthquake so far.

MFA said it is closely monitoring the situation and has reached out to e-registered Singaporeans in Myanmar and Thailand to render any necessary consular assistance.

According to a press release, MFA said that the Singapore government is "deeply saddened" by the loss of lives and damage caused by the earthquake, which impacted Myanmar and Thailand.

It added that the government is ready to extend assistance:

"The Singapore Civil Defence Force is prepared to deploy the Operation Lionheart contingent to assist with urban search and rescue operations as well as disaster relief efforts in Myanmar, in coordination with the ASEAN Coordinating Centre for Humanitarian Assistance on Disaster Management."

Singaporeans in Myanmar and Thailand who require consular assistance may contact the Singapore embassies in Yangon and Bangkok, or the 24-hour MFA Duty Office.

Singapore Embassy in Yangon​

• 238 Dhamazedi Road
  • Tel: +95-1-9-559-001 / +95-09-250-863-840 (emergencies)
  • Email: singemb_ygn@mfa.sg

Singapore Embassy in Bangkok​

• 129 South Sathorn Road
  • Tel: +66 23486700 / +66 818443580 (emergencies)
  • Email: singemb_bkk@mfa.sg

MFA Duty Office​

Top image from Unicef Myanmar on X.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.