• The HardwareZone forums will be temporarily unavailable on January 21, from 5:00am to 6:00am (+8GMT) while we perform scheduled maintenance.

[CONSOLIDATED] Myanmar/Bangkok earthquake

TopGun

Just checked with my relatives at Chiang Mai area which is damm close to epicenter and far nearer than Bangkok. They said no impact as only tremors felt. Looks like Bangkok will continue to be in my travel blacklist.

Bangkok is already a mess and if kena earthquake damage will be really damm jialat sia

Bangkok got hit by tremors. You have a better chance of experiencing a proper earthquake when you visits Taiwan or Japan.

TickTechToe

Nowadays mostly built by China construction companies...
1/2 Singapore, 1/2 China.
Tengah, Sengkang, Punggol new projects mostly china...
These 3 areas are near airbase.. so cannot build too high.. those super high bto in south, southwest, southeast.. hopefully they are solid enough to withstand any shocks..

carlongerdidu93

MFA advises S'poreans to defer all travel to Myanmar after 7.7-magnitude earthquake
More than 140 people have died.
https://mothership.sg/2025/03/myanmar-earthquake-singapore-defer-travel/
The Ministry of Foreign Affairs (MFA) in Singapore has urged Singaporeans to defer all travel to Myanmar after a 7.7-magnitude earthquake hit the region on Mar. 28.
Those who are in or travelling in Myanmar or Thailand are strongly encouraged to e-register with MFA and to purchase comprehensive travel insurance.

The ministry said:
"In view of possible aftershocks, Singaporeans in Myanmar and Thailand are advised to remain vigilant, take all necessary precautions for their personal safety and heed the instructions of the local authorities."

powerrr

The only building to collapse in Thailand was built by a China company?!

icebleue

I see a lot of China coy building bto leh. Like what 九鼎 ptd ltd etc. Confirm not SG coy. HDB sub contact out the building portion.
九鼎 chiu teng is sinkie la..
but i think they got a case at clementi where the concrete slabs dropped off?

106gunner

Thailand when come to construction, they would place food and toys buried underground hence the construction will went smoothly

Surprisingly it doesn’t help this round

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.