Votes: 263 30.7%
  • Unemployment/Lack of opportunities for citizens

Votes: 393 45.9%

• Total voters

Encouragesome1

gerrymandering

this term originated from US when they were drawing their districts more than 200 years ago
I feel g just using minority candidate seats as excuse. Just let those minority seat remain contest able only by minority candidates, rest of places all smc then everyone can fair fight .

tanbrave

hougang smc...
we will not know leh
Its like Elon, Trump.Pay 1 dollar each,donate to CDC or whatever. Don't think CEO Chew need celery.Plus Sinkieland middle ground between US and Chyna,100% Sinkieland owned.Glc can afford it.Server based here. Plus TMC can build plant here instead of US.Sinkieland become unsinkable,rich in digital and high tech.Elon might even want to based his spaceship here for takeoffs,since nearer the equator.English the common language here .Both countries share the same value, democracy, freedom, and not third world standards.Any downside you can think of ?

Quala98

Sembawang gRC

then do tiktok video with OYK

but Kope-ship bloggers may not like... cos will be snatching OYK's view and supporters

Lifeinmotion

This is where all our neighbors and communities was dispersed. There is no true or permanent community in SG couple with the fact that HDB are 99 years and they do not expect anyone to stay in the same place.

we will always be forever be fragmented

tanbrave

At leats he's handled with many international peepur for business le. But these type best not to join politics and just keep low profile lah
Next question, will go independent,or SMC or GRC ?Why low, you join politics to fight for a cause,or principle? Otherwise,be a voter,not leader with visionary view of saving mankind or fellow man.Must be driven,not push along, parachute here or there. DOGE will save billions,can give more to CDC vouchers. Can even give free education for citizens.Finland , Sweden, Germany did.Vote for free education for children of citizen.

byfun

what sort of deep or critical thinking do you really need ah ? lousy means lousy bah. i do admire the tenacity of some in the opposition, but many simply don’t have the ability to represent even a small team—let alone an entire constituency.

when i see my regional ceo, pulling in usd$3m plus stock options a year, with just 5,000 employees under him… what’s a sinkie minister’s pay again? hand to heart, if your own kids had the same talent, would you seriously tell them to join the incumbent, or take the private sector route?

excuses, bah. sure, if you're a politician, anything even slightly immoral, maybe forgivable for a regular person, gets magnified and weaponized against you. and the same for incumbent, not spared from that same scrutiny either, esp with social media and the internet.

take csj for example. it’s a fact, he broke the rules, however minor. if he had just come clean and admitted it, many would've forgiven him there and then. but no, he went on hunger strike and pulled all that drama. now his image? rotten to the core.

at the end of the day, it's never the incumbent’s job to help the opposition replace them. so far, all this "unfairness" is still pretty mild, unless someone starts stirring up racial harmony, then it's a different ball game. they go after the individual for a specific breach, not the whole family. unlike in some countries, where going against the system means they’ll crush you completely—no chance of surviving, let alone making a decent living.

if you truly want to serve and have the ability, you'll find a way: just like ltk and cst. they figured out the system, played it smart, got into parliament, and do their part.

You say liao regional ceo 3m ? What sort of company ?

I worked in a big angmo mnc in automation from building airport to factory automation , power plants ....etc . Spore is SEA HQ and some department even AsiaPac HQ in Spore. It is a fortune 500 company.

The regional directors here which report directly to Europe head office Coo, Cfo and CEO doesnt even get close to 1m package. They do get some profit sharing via the sales and share options but definitely all perks added up none get even 1m.

Some oil traders or commodity traders also can earn even more.

Only the company CEO and top core mgmt of the team in a MNC will enjoy millions in package (big tech aside). That the reality on the ground for many mnc in other trades.

I just wanna highlight dont buy in the bs that minister keep spinning the narrative that they are on par with big companies CEO level. How many of them can claim they really successful in the private sector then switch to be politicians ? If so no problem we can match or pay even more for those.

Amy Khor, Grace Fu, Indranee, NCM, CCS ..etc in their own abilities working outside can command millions in salary ? Dont even wanna mention those mayors.

Dont get me wrong i dont mean they cant earn millions by their own abilities. Still possible but the odds are definitely against them.

In spore we also have millions earning prop agent and people doing FnB business ..etc. So i not writing off they cant do it if they choose to venture out but fact is they are not proven.

While majority of them are just civil servants and mainly scholars who worked all their life in civil service yet wanna compare their achievement on par with corporate sector is laughable.

You know your kids are talented and is destined to be CEO ? So you can advise them to not to be this and that ?

If your kid is a president scholar or some top scholar at the same time will you tell him dont work in civil service ? Obviously the choice would be to follow the protocol and work in civil sector. The path to a good career in civil sector to super scale level is almost guaranteed.

Is it any suprise when most of our Ministers are all from civil sectors ?

I have say before that it is difficult to get successful people to cross to be politicians even more so for opposition politicians for exactly the same reasons. Why would they leave their high salary and comfort zone and be in the limelight.

No competitors wanna make it fair for their opponents very well said. Then why we have anti competition laws or against group of company trying to fix pricing.

If today you do the same biz as me but the rules and regulation all skewed towards me and make it unfair competition for you base on rule and law is it fair for u ? In business that why we have a same set of rules and law. Like you want to sell cigarette every shop can apply for license and sell it according to the same regulation and it is setup by the gov which is a neutral party to you and me.

So when it come to politics all these neutral rules and regulation are all out of the windows becos they are competitors and i set the rules ? That y so call ownself check ownself is pure bs.

Why we need Iras. Ask every companies ownself check ownself and pay tax accordingly can ? Every salaried person ownself check ownself and declare own salary and pay tax ?

Carnage

You say liao regional ceo 3m ? What sort of company. I worked in a big angmo mnc in automation from building airport to factory automation , power plants ....etc . Spore is SEA HQ and some department even AsiaPac HQ. It is a fortune 500 company.

The regional directors here which report directly to Europe head office Coo, Cfo and CEO doesnt even get close to 1m package. They do get some profit sharing via the sales and share options but definitely all perks added up none get millions.

Some oil traders or commodity traders also can earn even more.

Only the company CEO and top core mgmt of the team in a MNC will enjoy millions in package (big tech aside). That the reality on the ground for many mnc in other trades.

I just wanna highlight dont buy in the bs that minister keep spinning the narrative that they are on par with big companies CEO level. How many of them can claim they really successful in the private sector then switch to be politicians ? If so no problem we can match or pay even more for those.

Amy Khor, Grace Fu, Indranee, NCM, CCS ..etc in their own abilities working outside can command millions in salary ? Dont even wanna mention those mayors.

Dont get me wrong i dont mean they cant earn millions by their own abilities. Still possible but the odds are definitely against them.

In spore we also have millions earning prop agent and people doing FnB business ..etc. So i not writing off they cant do it if they choose to venture out but fact is they are not proven.

While majority of them are just civil servants and mainly scholars who worked all their life in civil service yet wanna compare their achievement on par with corporate sector is laughable.

You know your kids are talented and is destined to be CEO ? So you can advise them to not to be this and that ?

If your kid is a president scholar or some top scholar at the same time will you tell him dont work in civil service ? Obviously the choice would be to follow the protocol and work in civil sector. The path to a good career in civil sector to super scale level is almost guaranteed.

Is it any suprise when most of our Ministers are all from civil sectors ?

I have say before that it is difficult to get successful people to cross to be politicians even more so for opposition politicians for exactly the same reasons. Why would they leave their high salary and comfort zone and be in the limelight.
None of the generals are capable of earning millions outside of Singapore.

Just look at what happened to Tan Chuan Jin.

Only George Yeo ended up as vice Chairman of Kerry Logistics and even then I wonder how much influence he had in the company.

focus1974

Since he can handle international cases,like Trump and Elon, should not he be appointed Foreign Minister or Trade minister ? Can boost both Chyna and US, fight their tariffs , which is unfair and blatantly racist.Chew really don't need the celery of minister in Sinkieland. He will laugh at the derisory celery,donate to CDC,and work for free He is our Elon Musk. He can really make Sinkieland 😃 great from Asian Tigers to beyond.One roars from Sinkieland's throat will shake the opponents , freeze them in their track ,and be lunch .So I think I strongly support him to be an MP.Senator Cotton,who grilled him in Congress will regret.Plus our budget,much bigger, better than US,with trillions owned, living on borrowed dollars.What do you think ? Will you support Cool Hand Chew for MP in this election. Then foreign minister or Defence portfolio ? He is outstanding,smart, bilingual and one of us.Vote him in wholeheartedly,no regrets,only a shinning example for Sinkies to aspire.

He can stand for PM directly liao leh

Heriophant

I have volunteered with an opposition party before. All I can say is, the PAP have deeper resources to make me wonder whether is it worth it to fight so hard for so long.
As opp, you are going up against a whole MACHINE.. state media ST CNA, ELD, NTUC, judicial system etc
So many hurdles for you...System is rigged
Its an uphill battle and joining opp is never easy in SG

Joseph12

None of the generals are capable of earning millions outside of Singapore.

Just look at what happened to Tan Chuan Jin.

Only George Yeo ended up as vice Chairman of Kerry Logistics and even then I wonder how much influence he had in the company.
George Yeo is rubbish
Bloody rubbish

It's those people who kiss his arse saying what great thinker he is and connect to LKY etc

But cut the crap
He failed in politics
Failed in business too
What Kerry Logistics

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.