• Widening income gap

Votes: 263 30.7%
  • Unemployment/Lack of opportunities for citizens

Votes: 393 45.9%

• Total voters

Joseph12

Mr Lee Kuan Yew has said the day whites failing to form government MUST come and I agree with him

the law of nature says some things happen slowly slowly suddenly

slowly took place in 2011

slowly slowly took place in 2020

slowly slowly suddenly can happen as soon as 2030

voting whites out is happening despite all the gerrymandering and many new citizens and much BS by whites

the slowly slowly took more than 4 GEs and nobody has given up yet and because nobody has given up yet so the slowly slowly suddenly is going to come, in Mr Lee Kuan Yew's words, it MUST come and I agree with him

Maybe not in 4 GEs but by 2030 most likely
This is funny
When LKY said this, there's a meaning behind it
But people kept misquoting it

What he meant was those PAP members doing a power play and kicking out his precious son.

Which is doable based on their whatever PAP Charter based on votes
Unless they have compromat on those members
But so far these great great people seem gutless to do it

havetheveryfun

Think cannot really compare the two with the same base line. Their roles are different. But many are conditioned to use the standard they have for an established player like incumbent on that of newbie like opposition. Its unfair. But many are conveniently blind to it, due to the conditioning perhaps.

It really boils down to what do people expect them to do given the limitation of their roles inside. For incumbent its many things, if not all things. Since they are the decision maker. But for opposition, not much. Cause they are limited to voice out kpkb only. The only other role that is more important for them to do, they are handicapped, unable to do. Cause they don't have the number to veto incumbent decision.

So, what is really needed for opposition is the number. So that they can do their one and only role that is important for them. All else are secondary. But many can't see that. So, start to compare them to incumbent, jjww what incumbent can do, how come they cannot. When they are not the same, their roles are different.
its not about the baseline but more about how they carry and present themselves

u can see like how so many ppl dislike Lim Tean in this thread. then the charles yeo speech make ppl feel like he is a joker even if he is right

last election mostly those areas got 40%+ votes all either from WP or PSP and also CSJ. ppl willing to vote opp for alternative voices but they not going to just vote any ah cat or ah dog in.

ThisIsSparta

lol

i only see 2 losers competing with each other to see who has the opportunity to lose in the polls

maybe edmw echo chamber can help to give these 2 more false hopes

VEF888

See instead of simple logic u back to the same narrative of its fair, one man one vote, not good vote them out.

Just a simple example. I put all majority opposition voters into an area and let them win big 70 to 90%. While all other areas that i carved out i win with a low margin of 51 to 53%.

Total votes 60% to 40%. But i won 90% of total seats. How does that translate to even close to 1 man 1 vote or vote them out theory by you ?

That y there is a term call gerrymandering and many educated sporeans has already starting to realise and see this.

Ok la i know where you are from not trying to convince you. End of the day 1 man 1 vote is good enough for u the rest of how and why doesnt matter. This is your definition of democracy as far as i understand.

still doesn't change the fact that if enough people across sinkie land are unhappy, the grcs will flip—simple as that. no? that's the simplest logic you can't seem to grasp.

or maybe there just aren’t as many educated folks like you?

just vote them out bah.

crunsik

BFRM4DA.gif
What trigger her

kingmaker888

its not about the baseline but more about how they carry and present themselves

u can see like how so many ppl dislike Lim Tean in this thread. then the charles yeo speech make ppl feel like he is a joker even if he is right

last election mostly those areas got 40%+ votes all either from WP or PSP and also CSJ. ppl willing to vote opp for alternative voices but they not going to just vote any ah cat or ah dog in.
not all will think how u think la, some vote oppo just to reduce the vote share of the pap.

like what lhl said someone else will vote pap lol

havetheveryfun

not all will think how u think la, some vote oppo just to reduce the vote share of the pap.

like what lhl said someone else will vote pap lol
there is always a base on 20-30% hardcore opp supporters.

but it is the 30+ % swing voters that matters, those who dont follow politics or news that much.so any kind of impression matters to them.

Eureka75

Oppositions who are not even liked by the biggest PAP haters i.e edmwers, I seriously have no idea why they exist for :o
TBH, Lim Tean is unpopular in such a pro opposition forum shows people disagree with his confrontational tactics

@insomnia@

If only all the opposition form 1 party then we stand a higher chance, look at US as an example..

Eureka75

lol

i only see 2 losers competing with each other to see who has the opportunity to lose in the polls

maybe edmw echo chamber can help to give these 2 more false hopes
See who is the bigger loser and who lose deposit loh

byfun

still doesn't change the fact that if enough people across sinkie land are unhappy, the grcs will flip—simple as that. no? that's the simplest logic you can't seem to grasp.

or maybe there just aren’t as many educated folks like you?

just vote them out bah.

Your simple logic ONLY work perfectly when there is no gerrymandering.

Like i say you only like to focus on the game and result but not the rules and regulation but will use it to justify that IF you are good enough you will still win regardless the rules and regulation are against you.

So you fully believe that the current system is almost fair and gerrymander doesnt exist at all ?

We have to accept the fact that some area there will be slightly pro opposition or pro pap area. In those area, gerrymandering can be used to good effect to tilt the balance.

If you truly believe in one man one vote and vote them out. Why not SG as a big grc.

If PAP can win 80% of popular votes they form the government accordingly to votes they won. While the 20% of seats in parliament will be allocated to opposition. This will surely ensure every votes count and the actual representation in parliament represent ground sentiment.

VEF888

Your simple logic ONLY work perfectly when there is no gerrymandering.

Like i say you only like to focus on the game and result but not the rules and regulation but will use it to justify that IF you are good enough you will still win regardless the rules and regulation are against you.

So you fully believe that the current system is almost fair and gerrymander doesnt exist at all ?

We have to accept the fact that some area there will be slightly pro opposition or pro pap area. In those area, gerrymandering can be used to good effect to tilt the balance.
partial gerrymandering only works if enough people stay happy—unless you’re aiming for north korea levels of control. sure, the rules are skewed, but if the majority’s fine with it, what else is there to say?

they can redraw boundaries all day, but if fts keep taking the jobs and sinkies stay jobless, does it really matter where the lines fall?

and let’s be real, new citizens aren’t immune either. give it time, they’ll face the same problems.

W1n7f1r3

The ground there is alr solidified by pap riao wif so many improvements
Totally no case to bet wif unknown ah meow n ah gou

hotamp

Last GE saw his team at whampoe market i think abt 2 nights before election day....all sit at the table sian sian looking, no one give a hoot, ah lim no where in sight to do last min sarpork....jialak lah this ah lim.

byfun

partial gerrymandering only works if enough people stay happy—unless you’re aiming for north korea levels of control. sure, the rules are skewed, but if the majority’s fine with it, what else is there to say?

they can redraw boundaries all day, but if fts keep taking the jobs and sinkies stay jobless, does it really matter where the lines fall?

and let’s be real, new citizens aren’t immune either. give it time, they’ll face the same problems.

Majority only mean above 50%. So as long i keep a good 55 to 60% of voters in the jobs that is good enough to get over the line.

Because many sinkies have exactly the same attitude, but once they got retrenched and replaced then u will see them kpkb.

Human nature, when all is well and good why rock the boat ? If I am well paid have a good job even though i know 40% jobless or doing grab or low level job it doesnt affect me therefore the "good" system should remain until i finally kena.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.