• Widening income gap

Votes: 263 30.7%
  • Unemployment/Lack of opportunities for citizens

Votes: 393 45.9%

• Total voters

VEF888

You say liao regional ceo 3m ? What sort of company ?

No competitors wanna make it fair for their opponents very well said. Then why we have anti competition laws or against group of company trying to fix pricing.
Wow, that was a wall of text.

Yes, it's a Global 500 MNC too, with regional sales responsibilities, standard fare. And yes, $1M+ comp for regional C-suite roles (CFO/COO/CTO) is very much the norm. Don’t need fairy tales—just check SGX annual reports or even this handy link: drwealth.com/ceo-salary-singapore , pre covid inflation in 2018!

But you're still missing the point. It’s not about who’s “worthy”, it’s about aligning pay with scope of responsibility. If you're running the show at national level, shouldn't your pay reflect that, if not exceed it?

As for TSL—yes, the much-maligned poster child EDMW loves to hate is proof you can cross over from private sector successfully. Rare, but not mythical.

You're still missing the point. Yes, the rules may be skewed, but it’s still one man, one vote. If the opposition’s truly capable and life’s really that bad, what’s stopping voters from flipping GRCs? Maybe the majority just don’t feel it’s bad enough to care about "fairness" or life is really good for them, no?

if not just vote incumbent out bah,

WNWAMTOT.

MyWill

History
蜀汉 was kena 灭国 by 阿斗。
Surrendered with large standing army.

What is Ong trying to hint? Who is 阿斗 if those were 张飞 and 关羽?

Ethan_

the issue is with the GRC system ma and suka suka boundary changes

if vote share is 60/40 then how come parliament seats still can be 90/10.. it should be more like 70/20 or even 80/20 would be good enough at least..
Think if look at it from math and probability, probably will find it abnormal. For if leave it to nature or chance, not forced, the result should tends toward 60/40 also. But every time consistently its about 90/10. No educated one don't say, but those who are educated still can say that is normal, think is open eye blind liao.

Techno Pride

The PAP and IBs (and even the Government) does not seek to convince you that PAP is good. All they need to do is to convince you to waste time and energy participating in the whole "PAP vs Opposition" game.

Divide and conquer.

valkyrie112

I don't doubt his heart, but clearly he isn't likeable.

In our history, he has had to suffer the most leaks and made a scapegoat so many times that I wonder if those leaks are from his bodyguards.

IMO, he "code-switches" too obviously and conducts himself so differently to different groups of pple that make pple dislike him. I can imagine him telling teachers how they should do their job while treating students nicer.

Medicated Oil

As opp, you are going up against a whole MACHINE.. state media ST CNA, ELD, NTUC, judicial system etc
So many hurdles for you...System is rigged
Its an uphill battle and joining opp is never easy in SG
It is battle for the rest of your life.
And you have to make sure that you dun slip or eat mango.
Or else your political career is gone.
Dun forget that your work career is also at stake.

I shook LMW's hand when I saw him the other day.
Told him to "jia you".

pwongkk

Strangely SIA never considered hiring NCM who has flying experience. Don't fly fare paying passengers flight also can fly cargo planes.

Only to be dumped to aunty Lucy to stay employed.

Ethan_

to be fair though some of the opposition parties really cmi, some of the members like just trying to seek attention.

my friend last election say he want to give opposition a try, but the opposition always that come to his area he feel CMI so rather spoil vote or stay with PAP.
Think cannot really compare the two with the same base line. Their roles are different. But many are conditioned to use the standard they have for an established player like incumbent on that of newbie like opposition. Its unfair. But many are conveniently blind to it, due to the conditioning perhaps.

It really boils down to what do people expect them to do given the limitation of their roles inside. For incumbent its many things, if not all things. Since they are the decision maker. But for opposition, not much. Cause they are limited to voice out kpkb only. The only other role that is more important for them to do, they are handicapped, unable to do. Cause they don't have the number to veto incumbent decision.

So, what is really needed for opposition is the number. So that they can do their one and only role that is important for them. All else are secondary. But many can't see that. So, start to compare them to incumbent, jjww what incumbent can do, how come they cannot. When they are not the same, their roles are different.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.