• Widening income gap

Votes: 263 30.7%
  • Unemployment/Lack of opportunities for citizens

Votes: 393 45.9%

• Total voters

kyang69

They will sneak him in, like how they sneak OYK in. Donno why they are so bent on sending those losers in.
Got talent and charisma then just go SMC to face off against opposiition candidate, don't hide behind GRC.

Joseph12

They will sneak him in, like how they sneak OYK in. Donno why they are so bent on sending those losers in.
Got talent and charisma then just go SMC to face off against opposiition candidate, don't hide behind GRC.
Obviously some people think these people are so brilliant and indispensable
The true reason , we won't know

Eureka75

Most of the video saw about Lim Tean only has himself speaking or his team mates speak a few words only. Shows he likes the limelight and full of himself

byfun

So its good if ncm contest in a smc instead of a sure win grc. Becos this was a specially crafted out smc for him and if cannot even win it on his on own merit with strong support from his party machinery he doesnt deserve to be an mp.

Not the worst for ncm. Still can be ntuc chief. The risk for ncm is relatively low. Only a freak result will see him lose, depending on which candidate will challenge him in this smc.

VEF888

Majority only mean above 50%. So as long i keep a good 55 to 60% of voters in the jobs that is good enough to get over the line.

Because many sinkies have exactly the same attitude, but once they got retrenched and replaced then u will see them kpkb.

Human nature, when all is well and good why rock the boat ? If I am well paid have a good job even though i know 40% jobless or doing grab or low level job it doesnt affect me therefore the "good" system should remain until i finally kena.
what else should a vote be based on if not personal well-being and that of our kids?
people vote for the system that works for them. simple logic, no?

you think the bottom 40% will vote to keep a system just because majority are doing better?
and at the end of the day, the minority follows the majority that’s so call democracy.

so what happens if 51% are jobless or stuck in low-end work and vote for change? new gov rolls in, slaps a 50% tax on the rich -> rich go “why stay? i’d rather pay that in switzerland with a view” -> they leave -> country loses talent, drive, and tax revenue -> then what? so you see it's a fine balancing act getting that 51% and also prospering as a country.

BBClone

I don’t see it that way. If they are really desperate for him to return they will coat tail him in a GRC again.

This is white party telling him, ”You even messed up the lobo NTUC posting and disgraced Salty Dragon, if you want back in politics you better prove your worth in a single man SMC election, stand on your own two feet first, stop dragging everyone down. This is your last chance.”

Even newbies in politics get into parliament far easier than he does.

byfun

what else should a vote be based on if not personal well-being and that of our kids?
people vote for the system that works for them. simple logic, no?

you think the bottom 40% will vote to keep a system just because majority are doing better?
and at the end of the day, the minority follows the majority that’s so call democracy.

so what happens if 51% are jobless or stuck in low-end work and vote for change? new gov rolls in, slaps a 50% tax on the rich -> rich go “why stay? i’d rather pay that in switzerland with a view” -> they leave -> country loses talent, drive, and tax revenue -> then what? so you see it's a fine balancing act getting that 51% and also prospering as a country.

Actually its not a fine balancing act. Its not difficult when you are the gov and controlling the number of foreigner workers into SG.

As long as the gov control the permits for the foreigner they indirectly control the numbers of employed Sinkies. Its not rocket science.

Dont forget the gov also set the minimum wages for foreigner workers, quotas and their levies. This also indirectly affect Sinkies salary per sectors vs FT.

So you see gov has all the mechanism in place that they wont allow majority of Sinkies to be displaced if not like you mentioned they will be out.

Like i say no gov is stupid to keep majority unhappy. They just need to keep slight majority happy is good enough. And betting on slight majority selfish human nature is a sure win combination..

Personally i wont vote for a system that favour me even if i am in the 60% to the disadvantage of 40% becos i know anytime i may become the 40%. I need some hedging.

BUT .. if i am the top 1% or even 10% i will not care to disadvantage the 90% because i know that if careful financial planning is in place, my children future is also secured in the system. That y ultra rich created trust fund and family office. Even our minister do that.

Medicated Oil

I don’t see it that way. If they are really desperate for him to return they will coat tail him in a GRC again.

This is white party telling him, ”You even messed up the lobo NTUC posting and disgraced Salty Dragon, if you want back in politics you better prove your worth in a single man SMC election, stand on your own two feet first, stop dragging everyone down. This is your last chance.”

Even newbies in politics get into parliament far easier than he does.
I believed that it is already mentioned in one of the comments.
The area that he is inserted should be bao jiak.
As for TC, his god dad should be giving him the assist.
So, it is like some easy seat cater for him.
Which is why you notice that he is displaying some confidence.

That is unless the 3 major opp decide to give him some heat.

VEF888

Actually its not a fine balancing act. Its not difficult when you are the gov and controlling the number of foreigner workers into SG.

As long as the gov control the permits for the foreigner they indirectly control the numbers of employed Sinkies. Its not rocket science.

Dont forget the gov also set the minimum wages for foreigner workers, quotas and their levies. This also indirectly affect Sinkies salary.

So you see gov has all the mechanism in place that they wont allow majority of Sinkies to be displaced if not like you mentioned they will be out.

Like i say no gov is stupid to keep majority unhappy. They just need to keep slight majority happy is good enough. And betting on slight majority selfish human nature is a sure win combination..

lol, yeah super easy—just create enough jobs for everyone, including fts and fws.

FDI and MNCs all just fall from the sky, right?

of course voting should be selfish. only you know how much effort you’ve been putting in, or not. how would i know if my neighbour’s success came from luck, hard work, or something shady?

Eureka75

disgusting of edmw and oppo ibs to deprive sinkies of more choices of candidate to vote for their mps. sinkies are free to vote and should be given more candidates to choose from in multi corner fights...
Anyone can contest in any ward in Singapore as long as can afford to lose the deposit and don't KPKB when lose the election deposit

byfun

lol, yeah super easy—just create enough jobs for everyone, including fts and fws.

FDI and MNCs all just fall from the sky, right?

of course voting should be selfish. only you know how much effort you’ve been putting in, or not. how would i know if my neighbour’s success came from luck, hard work, or something shady?

I didnt say jobs fall from sky. My reply was to your fine balancing to help majority sinkies in the job which to me is not a rocket science.

If today economy is not good 10% of people lose their jobs be it FT and Sinkies and the threshold of Sinkies holding jobs drop below the majority.

The simple mechanism is to disallow the renewal of FT and stop new FT inflow when their permit is due and the employment of retrenched sinkies will go up. So dfficult ?

FDI and MNC are not rocket science. They invest here becos simply of returns. Singapore is in a good geographical location which Msia can offer almost similar condition. Which boil down to only what tax break, cheap land, gov subsidies and able labours for them to gain maximum profit.

We are lucky that we have weak neighbours where the majority of their population like to relax plus our pioneer generation Ministers setup a strong foundation for today success. Anything less we wont be here. Meaning we have good leaders but without our good location it wont work and vice versa.

Mostly importantly our Sinkie core are willingly and able to work to the demands of those mnc and fdi. This alone is not becos of Ministers. It the collective effort of a country. To give credit where it is due, many Sinkie like to think becos of gov then we have jobs. It because of yourself and your forefathers ability to work that build up the reputation and goodwill.

Nowadays with spore high land cost, high labour costs many mnc has relocated to other parts of Asean which is fast catching up so much that we also try to take part in Johor economy zone to exploit the cheap land and labours that Johor can provide to MNC.

Even ST engineering even outsourced many of their dept operation overseas in Asia to cut cost . Imagine even a local gov linked companies doing that too ?

We are the demise of our own success. When we focus on property and about short term monetary gain instead of building up our own talents and sme.

Tech semicon. Chartered semicon, the so call life science in Biopolis, NOL, Astar are all mega projects that cost a lot taxpayer money and doesnt perform due to scholars which are non industry people running the show.

Tech. Chartered semicon all gone. In fact Msia Penang semicon already doing better than SG from a friend i know in semicon.

NOL once sold to the french company within 1 yr they turned it profitable. Its applauding how spore as one of top world busiest port and yet our national carrier can fail. Total incapable people running it and nothing else.

Biopolis and Fusion polis instead of the life science hub now mainly occupied by stat board so not to make it look empty. Astar is also there and is forever making losses year after year.

You already stated you are selfish and you only care about your job. I think what i mention above doesnt matter to you anyway.

BBClone

I believed that it is already mentioned in one of the comments.
The area that he is inserted should be bao jiak.
As for TC, his god dad should be giving him the assist.
So, it is like some easy seat cater for him.
Which is why you notice that he is displaying some confidence.

That is unless the 3 major opp decide to give him some heat.

It is evident that in the worst case scenario, TCM does not drag down 4 other MPs costing them 5 parliamentary seats.

If he cannot even nail down a simply easy SMC like Jalan Kayu, he does not deserve to be in parliament. Think about it this way.

Eureka75

his reform party team mate so unprofessional. go and scratch head during the video interview. the eyes stare here staare there like chee ko pek

The guy wearing reform party shirt looks stoned and blur and don't understand what Lim Tean is talking about.

Eureka75

This clown is out of touch. Even the younger crowd knows that he is a nutjob and a stirrer. Older crowd is loyal to PAP.
He is too deluded and over optimistic of his chance of winning at Potong Pasir when he never do any groundwork there

proton_cannon

what kind of pay is he sucking from NTUC? PAP got declare his compensation as NTUC chief or not? Is it minister level?

Justanewbie

All political parties are no saints and have their own agenda. Anybody who advocates for any coalition party or government is naive.

This bunch of oppies really joke, even if they are the only candidates running I won't vote for them.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.